We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent NEW HOTEL we will return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have stayed at many Country Inn And Suites but none as nice as this. Beautiful new hotel that opened in December 2010. Friendly and very helpful front desk staff. Everything very clean, nice breakfast in the morning. Close to the highway but did not hear any noise from it. There is a lot of highway construction going on so not the easiest to find with off ramp closed but worth going through. We didn't use the pool but it is indoors and looked very inviting and clean. The same for the fitness area and computer work area on 1st floor.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired-fun-travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 407 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in a queen suite, which was very clean and quiet. Very nicely appointed. The beds were comfortable. Nice stay.

Room Tip: The double queen suite is nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghguthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I needed to stay in Texarkana for business reasons as I sold my house and was moving from the area. This hotel exceeds my expectations in this price class. The customer service is superior and consistently excellent. Although the only complaints I see are "out of the way," in fact as the construction has progressed, the ability to navigate within town and on as well as off the freeway is excellent. One can navigate easily to decent restaurants and movies quickly, as well as for basic shopping tasks quickly without any significant traffic.

Many times, hotels in this price and service class will use lesser quality sheets, towels, and cleaning products. Not so here. The rooms are well appointed, the internet blazing fast, the HD television superior, and the automatic climate control both an eco-friendly technology as well as amazingly responsive to my needs.

I brought my own laptop, but the computers available downstairs are state of the art, the breakfast excellent, and parking is very convenient. There is no question as I look for an extended stay, this will be home as it feels like home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Everything was booked along I-40 so one of the hotel people recommended this place as it was new and had rooms available. However, it was a bit difficult to find with all the construction going on in Texarkana. Rooms were nice and large, large granite bathroom counter - great for sharing with daughter - everything looked new - really liked the thick comforter on the beds but the air conditioning was a bit loud. Friendly staff and quiet area - note that there is a lack of restaurants nearby - we arrived late and couldn't find anywhere to eat so went to Walmart down the road and got a frozen meal (since rooms have microwaves) but shopping there was scary! Blaring bass from cars, police patroling the parking lot, looked like a 'hang out' - get your food ahead of arriving here if you plan to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had read the previous reviews for Country Inn & Suites on the day of our trip. We weren't sure how far we could go to make it to Austin. We decided to stop about 11:30 pm. The check-in was short and friendly. The room was beautiful and the air conditioning was wonderful. There were extra pillows in the closet and a soft blanket so we didn't have to call down for anything. The next morning we indulged in their breakfast bar. Waffles you could make yourself, eggs, sausage, and gravy were all piping hot. The coffee was strong and hot. The only downside was navigating the construction around the hotel as the main road, University Avenue's exit was not open. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blythedeorive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This facility is impeccably clean, my room was very spacious, with all new furniture, pleasant art on the walls (love the orchid theme!) and a nice flat screen tv.
bonuses were the indoor pool and hot tub and the continental breakfast that included scrambled eggs and sausage. nice room with aerobic exercise machines with a TV.
you cal tell the management places a priority on excellent customer service, and i found all of the staff very friendly and helpful. I was able to use their new computer and printer in the office area just off the lobby which was a plus. Hi speed wifi internet worked without any connectivity issues. I cannot find anything that they need to improve upon in this hotel!
Texarkana is tore up from all the construction as of april 2011, so i had considered continuing on to another town, but I am very happy I found this hotel. The 24 hour walmart is right nearby, so it was very convenient to get some provisions for the road while staying the night here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We chose this hotel as a stop over based on the reviews, and we were not disappointed! We were able to find an awesome rate online, and called the hotel directly and the manager matched it for us.
The children loved the indoor pool, although a little small, still served its' purpose. The room was a great size for a family of five. It was very clean and we can't say enough about Makeebra (I apologize if I'm misspelling her name) and the 4th floor housekeeping staff! They took care of all of our needs! At breakfast, Gaby made sure everyone who entered the dining room was greeted and were well taken care of. She was so sweet and just made our morning!
The only staff member we encountered that we were disappointed by was Nicole at the front desk. I think a little more customer service training is in order there. Anything she was asked seemed to be a bother. That's a shame, because otherwise, it was a perfect stay!
We travel through Texarkana several times a year and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelToTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Texarkana hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#6 of 19 in Texarkana
633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Texarkana
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
#9 of 19 in Texarkana
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texarkana
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Texarkana
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Texarkana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana

Address: 1918 University Ave, Texarkana, TX 75501-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Texarkana
Price Range: $75 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All New Country Inn & Suites Texarkana Hotel. The newly opened Country Inn & Suites hotel in Texarkana, Texas is proud to offer top-quality accommodations and excellent service at affordable prices. This hotel features welcoming, home-like accents including hardwood floors, a lobby fireplace and an on-site lending library. Additional amenities include a heated indoor pool, spa, Fitness Center and Business Center. Our hotel is located just six miles from Texarkana Municipal Airport and just five miles from popular attractions like the historic Perot Theatre, Discovery Place and Tex-Ark Antique Auto Museum. Book one of our Texarkana hotel's new guest rooms and you will experience warm, welcoming decor and amenities that make you feel at home. Guest rooms are equipped with free high-speed Internet, HD TV with HD cable channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker and a complimentary weekday newspaper. Suites are also available. Stay at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Texarkana, TX hotels. Our comfortable and friendly hotel is located just off I-30 and near Cooper Tire, International Paper, John Turk Power plant in Fulton, AR, Christus St. Michael Hospital, Domtar, Red River Army Depot and Texas A&M University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Texarkana
Country Inn & Suites Texarkana Hotel Texarkana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing