We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laura at the front desk was very polite, helpful and...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Texarkana
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Mission
1 review
“Laura at the front desk was very polite, helpful and...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Laura at the front desk was very polite, helpful and professional. She is an asset to your organization.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Ramon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    21
    33
    77
See reviews for
48
33
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first time that we experienced such a poor outcome with regards to a good night sleep. We were excited to have a room on the first floor. My husband and I travel to this location 1-2 times a year. We thought having a first floor room would be nice. It was loud especially at night. Then the morning maids were anything but "quite as mice."They were VERY LOUD. And we are assuming that the maids start there room cleaning early on the First floor.
We couldn't wait to get out and get back home to get some sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel didn't look too bad on the outside: like an old Holiday In that had been sub-divided into two smaller hotels. Inside, it was quite different: though it appeared to have been remodeled in the last few years, it was already falling apart, as witnessed by the peeling wallpaper. I walk with a cane, so luckily, there was an elevator to the Second floor: a slow clunky, cantankerous elevator.
Check-in went OK, but the clerk behind the desk seemed to having a hard time balancing checking people in, answering the phones and dealing with guest problems all at the same time.
The whole place looked as if it had been remodeled on the cheap: superficial improvements for as little money as possible. The carpet in the hallways was worn and soiled in places. I twisted by bad ankle on a hole in the hallway floor that was covered up by the carpet. What? Cost too much to fix the hole, so it was simply covered up?
The doors and door jambs to the rooms looked like they had been painted by a drunk who was in a hurry to get to his next fix: sloppy workmanship, peeling paint.
The room was clean, but there was no TV remote. I tried to call down to the desk, but the line was either busy or no one answered, so I took the slow, clunky elevator down to the lobby. There were no extra remotes (cost too much money?) so I went back to my room and attempted to channel surf manually, which was a major pain in the @$$ considering half the channels were nothing but noise and static. There was a clock radio in the room, but NONE of the stations came in clearly, if at all: it was just static.
The bathroom was well apportioned with the usual soaps, shampoos and coffees and plenty of hot water, but only one set of towels. Good thing I was by myself: I'd hate to call the desk for more towels and find out they didn't have those either.
Furniture in the room must have been mostly for decoration: one chair was hard as a rock, the other sagged so bad, I thought it was going to swallow me.
The bed was HORRIBLE! What was supposed to be a King bed was two smaller beds pushed together, disguised with an oversize mattress pad and sheets. The bed horribly sagged in the middle and was low to the floor. When I woke up in the morning, I was all but "trapped" in the center of the bad and had a hard time getting up. It didn't help that the bed messed up my back, which took about a week to recover from. Of course, it was hard to sleep when the fire alarm went off FOUR TIMES. First time, I went outside where all the constructions workers were joking about the nightly fire alarm. NIGHTLY? Gosh, I suppose it costs too much money to find the problem and fix it.
Breakfast was OK, but not spectacular: 4 kinds of cereal (some of it UN-sweetened, thank goodness), biscuits and gravy, sweet rolls, and scrambled eggs which someone had left the gravy spoon in (does an extra spoon cost that much?)
All in all, a MAJOR disappointment. I was left with the impression that everything was done as cheaply as possible to save a few dollars. That may be OK for the construction crews who frequent the hotel, but for the average tourist or businessman, it’s a bad joke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This particular hojo was not at all inviting. Nothing about our room seemed clean. Staff was just like whatever piddly dee. The whole hotel smelled like smoke. We smoke but we dont like bathing in the smell of it and dont even like the smell. We always get smoke free rooms. Definetly the hotel the teens rent rooms at I would guess. So if stopping in texarkana, I would rather spend a little more for comfirt and cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coryography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texarkana
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#2 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Texarkana
Magnuson Hotel Texarkana
#15 of 19 in Texarkana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Texarkana Arkansas Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Texarkana
0.2 mi away
Luxury Inn and Suites
Luxury Inn and Suites
#11 of 17 in Texarkana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Texarkana

Property: Howard Johnson Texarkana
Address: 5401 N State Line Ave, Bldg B, Texarkana, TX 75503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Texarkana 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing