We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Texarkana
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Found used condoms in the bathroom and the room was dirty. No water pressure at this hotel. Super 8 across the road was nicer

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Erig843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Texarkana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

At check in, they could not find my reservation. The girl at the counter acted as she did not care at all. She stated she could not honor the rate & that I had to accept the walk in rate (higher rate than the next door ramada rate). I had to do a new online reservation (on my laptop) at the parking & take it to the counter for her to see my new reservation. It took 14 minutes to complete the check in process. She did not apologize for any inconvenience. Once we get to the supposedly "non-smoking room" it had an overwhelming smoke odor. Went back to request another room. After providing another room, no reaction from lady at reception, even though she seeing we were inconvenience and bothered. We just left the hotel to explore the city in an effor to forget about bad experience. Once we got to the hotel and took a shower, the same was clogged. It was almost midnight, when we reported to the same lady at the counter. She did not offer another room, nor we asked for another given that we had unpacked our luggage. She just made a note for maintenance, but no apology or appeared to be concerned with this. I requested a discount, but she told that we had to request it to the manager in the morning. In the morning, the manager was nowhere and even though we spoke to two additonal staff ladies at the counter, no apologies and no discount was given.

To the Patel management:

A word of advice. In these difficult economic times, it is a good business practice to retain customers by offering them a good experience and if something goes wrong to do an effort to ammend the situation. None was done on this case. No apologies were given nor the staff showed any concern. Good customer service goes a very long way!!!

Even though I plan to return to Texarkana, I will stay at another hotel.

G. Muniz
Miami, FL

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem6034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The first smelled horrible and we were given another room. When we pulled the sheets back ,there was human hair,stains and dirt on them!!!!! Several opened safety pins on the floor and broken toilet paper holder on the floor. We were given another room and if we weren't traveling with a group we would have left. NASTY !!!!!! Didn't sleep well.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Abhaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have stayed here on several different occasions visiting with our children at different times of the year over the past 3 years. We have never had any problems with bed bugs, spiders or anything like that. The staff has always been very nice, the rooms have been cleaned and the breakfast has been okay. It's not the Hilton but then you are not paying for room service either. The couple on our last stay that took care of cleaning our room was so kind and sweet. The girls at the front desk were very nice. There are more expensive, fancy hotels in Texarkana but there I can almost guarantee you that something will not be up to your expectation. I will continue to stay here and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a clean and quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have a request just make it in your reservation they will do whatever they can to make it hap...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Bed bugs bad!!!!!! And the manager acted like it was no big deal!!!!! It's not worth the money you save! It appears nice and clean then in a couple hours after sitting down you will be scratching!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codysdad031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Driving from our home to our daughters in Houston this makes a good half way stop. The room was clean and comfortable. Would stop again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerMtn_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here on the way down and on the way back, both times the rooms were clean, well stocked and customer service was excellent. We did not use the pool or any other services provided. The breakfast bar was fine with toast, cereal, juice, coffee, french toast, bagels, muffins and fruit along with needed condiments. Everything was fresh. The beds were comfortable and linens smelled fresh. The rooms have darkening liners behind the shears which was really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHELLY55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texarkana
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Texarkana
Magnuson Hotel Texarkana
#15 of 19 in Texarkana
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Texarkana Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#6 of 19 in Texarkana
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Texarkana
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Texarkana
Econo Lodge Texarkana
#10 of 19 in Texarkana
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Texarkana
Knights Inn Texarkana
#13 of 19 in Texarkana
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Texarkana

Address: 5401 N State Line Ave, Bldg B, Texarkana, TX 75503
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Texarkana 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing