We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible trip made even better with outstanding guides”

Far Flung Outdoor Center
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Terlingua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1974, Far Flung Outdoor Center has been helping folks discover the wonders of Big Bend National Park with quality raft trips, Jeep tours, and ATV adventures.We specialize in high quality, interpretive tours of the Big Bend, with an emphasis on great fun mingled with just the right amount of learning.We offer a wide variety of guided rafting trips on the Rio Grande River, from short, half-day family floats to 3- and 4-night overnight trips. You can also experience special themed trips such as gourmet food adventures, trips with noted Texas folk musicians, and New Year's Eve star gazing parties.Want to explore Big Bend by land? Our guided Jeep and ATV tours are a perfect way to enjoy Big Bend's scenic beauty while learning about its natural and cultural wonders.Should you need lodging for your vacation, our Big Bend Casitas offer roomy comfort, nice amenities, and a location just minutes from Big Bend National Park.We're passionate about Big Bend and enjoy showing off her many beautiful places. We can help you make the most of a future trip to Big Bend!!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

John and Neil were awesome. They worked really hard to make sure we had a good time. It wasn’t the ritz, but for a primitive camping trip, they absolutely spoil you.

If you like scenic river and mountain views, solitude, and camping out under the stars, the three day river trip was amazing. Hopefully we will be back again for a longer trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jeep tour"
in 38 reviews
"the river"
in 91 reviews
"rio grande"
in 81 reviews
"santa elena canyon"
in 51 reviews
"big bend"
in 113 reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 7 reviews
"back porch"
in 6 reviews
"float trip"
in 14 reviews
"great trip"
in 16 reviews
"spring break"
in 8 reviews
"great place to stay"
in 4 reviews
"national park"
in 16 reviews
"felt safe"
in 6 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 11 reviews
"these folks"
in 5 reviews
"water shoes"
in 4 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 6 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 345 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2018

Just recently I did the half day river float on the Rio Grande via kayak. The folks at Far Flung exceeded my expectations. They were administratively organized regarding pre-registration and pertinent information. On the day of the event, the instructions were clear and the guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. They made the excursion a safe, meaningful and overall fun experience. Super guys! No problems with the equipment. The scenery along the river was stunning. Highly recommended!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Randster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Wonderful trip down the river - kayaking down the Rio Grande. Beautiful conditions. Looked after us very well.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 442sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

My wife and I took a Far Flung all-day canoe trip on the Rio Grande in March, 2018. What a great trip! Santa Elena Canyon is a wonderful place for a day of canoeing, but what really made the trip was the guides, John and Liam. They were super knowledgeable, very well organized, friendly, and great communicators. (Not to mention they put up a great lunch in the middle of the day). They told us about the things we saw on the trip, of course, but also suggested other things to do while we were in the Big Bend. I'd go again with Far Flung in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank pnh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Far Flung Outdoor Center is located in Terlingua, TX. It is a short drive to Big Bend National Park. We hiked the Santa Elena Canyon trail the first day. The next two days we drove to the Chisos Moutains basin to hike in the mountains. The scenery was beautiful. I never tire of looking at the view from the Window. We loved our casita. It was well air conditioned and comfortable. It was clean and well stocked with what we needed, even wine glasses. We cooked outside on the gas grill most of the nights but there are numerous restaurants in close proximity. It was a relaxing and pleasant place to stay. We are planning on taking some of our family there for spring break, esp. our two grandsons. We did not do the float trip this time but plan to take them this next time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Flung Outdoor Center also viewed

 
Big Bend National Park, TX
 

Been to Far Flung Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing