We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
1/2 day kayak on the Rio Grande

we spent half of our day this week with the guides from FFoC, and had amazing views, amazing... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
685bryanah
,
Houston, Texas
via mobile
Covid safe fun on the Rio Grande!

Our tour guide Billie was excellent as a guide and followed all safety precautions related to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Digicisco
,
Austin, Texas
Read all 413 reviews
  
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
365
31
4
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
365
31
4
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jeep tour river trip rio grande santa elena canyon fire pit back porch day trip great place to stay big bend national park great trip exceeded our expectations sandwiches big bend area felt safe coffee shop these folks awesome experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 413 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2018

Just recently I did the half day river float on the Rio Grande via kayak. The folks at Far Flung exceeded my expectations. They were administratively organized regarding pre-registration and pertinent information. On the day of the event, the instructions were clear and the guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. They made the excursion a safe, meaningful and overall fun experience. Super guys! No problems with the equipment. The scenery along the river was stunning. Highly recommended!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Randster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Wonderful trip down the river - kayaking down the Rio Grande. Beautiful conditions. Looked after us very well.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 442sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

My wife and I took a Far Flung all-day canoe trip on the Rio Grande in March, 2018. What a great trip! Santa Elena Canyon is a wonderful place for a day of canoeing, but what really made the trip was the guides, John and Liam. They were super knowledgeable, very well organized, friendly, and great communicators. (Not to mention they put up a great lunch in the middle of the day). They told us about the things we saw on the trip, of course, but also suggested other things to do while we were in the Big Bend. I'd go again with Far Flung in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank pnh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Far Flung Outdoor Center is located in Terlingua, TX. It is a short drive to Big Bend National Park. We hiked the Santa Elena Canyon trail the first day. The next two days we drove to the Chisos Moutains basin to hike in the mountains. The scenery was beautiful. I never tire of looking at the view from the Window. We loved our casita. It was well air conditioned and comfortable. It was clean and well stocked with what we needed, even wine glasses. We cooked outside on the gas grill most of the nights but there are numerous restaurants in close proximity. It was a relaxing and pleasant place to stay. We are planning on taking some of our family there for spring break, esp. our two grandsons. We did not do the float trip this time but plan to take them this next time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018

Far Flung persuaded our group to canoe up and down the Santa Elena Canyon on a three day trip. Although initially disappointed to not be doing a big, high-mileage, downstream trip, once we got into the canyon, all that cleared and everyone realized we were on the right trip. Our camping spot upriver from Fern Canyon was beautiful. The day trip to the Rock Slide memorable, and the hike up Fern Canyon through the "birthing canal" hilarious. We sincerely appreciate the professional candor and goodwill of Greg and his team.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kevinmk2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews