We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flung’Tastic’”

Far Flung Outdoor Center
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Terlingua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1974, Far Flung Outdoor Center has been helping folks discover the wonders of Big Bend National Park with quality raft trips, Jeep tours, and ATV adventures.We specialize in high quality, interpretive tours of the Big Bend, with an emphasis on great fun mingled with just the right amount of learning.We offer a wide variety of guided rafting trips on the Rio Grande River, from short, half-day family floats to 3- and 4-night overnight trips. You can also experience special themed trips such as gourmet food adventures, trips with noted Texas folk musicians, and New Year's Eve star gazing parties.Want to explore Big Bend by land? Our guided Jeep and ATV tours are a perfect way to enjoy Big Bend's scenic beauty while learning about its natural and cultural wonders.Should you need lodging for your vacation, our Big Bend Casitas offer roomy comfort, nice amenities, and a location just minutes from Big Bend National Park.We're passionate about Big Bend and enjoy showing off her many beautiful places. We can help you make the most of a future trip to Big Bend!!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Far Flung keeps being one of the best outdoor experts in the Big Bend region. The cabins are nice and offer strong wireless connectivity. Stay here and let their staff take care of your outdoor experience.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Veito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jeep tour"
in 38 reviews
"the river"
in 88 reviews
"rio grande"
in 77 reviews
"santa elena canyon"
in 50 reviews
"big bend"
in 109 reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 7 reviews
"back porch"
in 6 reviews
"hummus"
in 6 reviews
"float trip"
in 14 reviews
"great trip"
in 16 reviews
"spring break"
in 8 reviews
"great place to stay"
in 4 reviews
"felt safe"
in 6 reviews
"national park"
in 15 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 10 reviews
"these folks"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 6 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 338 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018

This jeep tour was amazing. Our guide "Randy" was "The Best". Very knowledgeable and easy going. He was there FOR US. First time in awhile that my 15 year old daughter and her friend actually put their phones down and absorbed the surrounding beauty. He made a couple of stops where I scratched my head wondering what we were stopping for. Only Randy and his vast knowledge of the area could point out what we could not see or understand. Truly awesome.This tour had some lasting memories. I really thought that my son who was home from college on spring break would rather stay home and hang out with his friends. He did make the trip and was probably the most impressed. We still talk about our experiences and memories made.The whole staff at Far Flung was gracious and accommodating. Highly recommend not only the area but you must take in a Far Flung adventure tour. We will be back. Thank you all for a great family vacation.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank darrellpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We had a great time on our canoe trip down the Santa Elena canyon! The guides were helpful and informative. The trip was beautiful! We appreciated that the trip was very organized and well run. It was a perfectly relaxing day for us and our 9 year old. The lunch spread was perfect, including some amazing salsa! We will be sure to use Far Flung's services again in the future!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank geoaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our full day in Santa Elena Canyon at Big Bend National Park. Knowledgeable crew. Great time had by all. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank DarinDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2018

I can't say enough good things about Far Flung Outdoor Center. We took a guided overnight camping/canoe trip for 2 days/1 night with them over spring break 2018. Ours was the "overnight float trip". The guides were knowledgeable, hilariously funny, helpful, great cooks, and did everything they could to make our trip fun and enjoyable. They helped us over the hard spots in the river so nobody tipped over, they were very helpful in accommodating special food requirements, and took care of all the hard work so we could relax and have fun. They thought of everything, from an outdoor 'potty' to guitar songs by the campfire, even offering us cold sodas on the ride back at the end when we were hot and thirsty! My only mini-complaint was on the website they said they serve wine at meals, but on our trip they didn't. No biggie, just remember to bring your own with you if you want an alcoholic beverage. There were tiny kids all the way up to teenagers on this trip, so just know that it is a family-friendly kind of event. The canoeing was not hard, and they helped us every step. I would have liked to go even farther and have it be more challenging, but for the group we had it was great.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank OliversTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Flung Outdoor Center also viewed

 
Big Bend National Park, TX
 

Been to Far Flung Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing