We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Highly recommend Randy De La Fuente & the Flung crew.

We had the best experience on our all day Jeep tour & highly recommend to anyone. Our guide, Randy... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
merleannc2021
Perfect Getaway!

Loved our little weekend getaway!! The casitas were great and provided a comfortable stay. It's... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2021
vanessanM4812HL
Read all 459 reviews
  
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
408
33
4
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
408
33
4
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jeep tour river trip rio grande santa elena canyon fire pit back porch day trip big bend national park big bend area sandwiches felt safe coffee shop water level plant life boquillas canyon dark canyon small rapids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 459 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We had a great time on our canoe trip down the Santa Elena canyon! The guides were helpful and informative. The trip was beautiful! We appreciated that the trip was very organized and well run. It was a perfectly relaxing day for us and our 9 year old. The lunch spread was perfect, including some amazing salsa! We will be sure to use Far Flung's services again in the future!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank geoaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our full day in Santa Elena Canyon at Big Bend National Park. Knowledgeable crew. Great time had by all. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank DarinDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018

I can't say enough good things about Far Flung Outdoor Center. We took a guided overnight camping/canoe trip for 2 days/1 night with them over spring break 2018. Ours was the "overnight float trip". The guides were knowledgeable, hilariously funny, helpful, great cooks, and did everything they could to make our trip fun and enjoyable. They helped us over the hard spots in the river so nobody tipped over, they were very helpful in accommodating special food requirements, and took care of all the hard work so we could relax and have fun. They thought of everything, from an outdoor 'potty' to guitar songs by the campfire, even offering us cold sodas on the ride back at the end when we were hot and thirsty! My only mini-complaint was on the website they said they serve wine at meals, but on our trip they didn't. No biggie, just remember to bring your own with you if you want an alcoholic beverage. There were tiny kids all the way up to teenagers on this trip, so just know that it is a family-friendly kind of event. The canoeing was not hard, and they helped us every step. I would have liked to go even farther and have it be more challenging, but for the group we had it was great.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank OliversTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

I cannot say enough about Far Flung. My friends and I, who get outdoors quite regularly, did an unguided canoe trip down the Rio Grande and Santa Elena Canyon. The staff was amazingly expert, providing us great advice on our journey down river. The details were taken care of with great care. Their advice and guidance on camping sites and how to handle trickier rapids were spot on. the equipment was in great shape, and the cost was very reasonable. If you have not been to BBNP, go. It is unlike anyplace I have been. And the town of Terlingua is simply unique. We look forward to returning.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Vaughan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

My wife and I were set for a day of off-road adventure in nearby Big Bend National Park. We planned to visit Mariscal Mine, an abandoned Quicksilver mine - the roads to which require a high clearance 4WD vehicle.

With our vehicle prepped, we got a huge amount of help from Greg and Valynda Henington, the proprietors of Far Flung, who told us of additional sights to see along our path that we would never have known about. They shared additional materials with us that made our fascinating trip one we'll never forget. We were also given strong advice to finish out the day going up Old Ore Road to Ernst Tinaja - such a valuable bit of advice...just beautiful. The jeep performed like a champ and all of the arrangements for rental could not have been easier.

As a real bonus, we rented one of the casitas, which FAR exceeded our expectations. When it's obvious that places have been designed without outdoor enthusiasts in mind and designed so beautifully, it adds to a trip. Without hesitation, we will be back to stay with Far Flung again in the future.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews