We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and service”
Review of Starlight Theatre

Starlight Theatre
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Terlingua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food and service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great selections of food and wait staff were prompt and friendly. Menu substancial, you shouldn't leave hungry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    262
    72
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Don't miss the Starlight Theater if you are in the area. We dined there twice for dinner on our visit and had a great time. Friendly locals and visitors mix and mingle in a comfortable, fun atmosphere. We really enjoyed the live music both nights. Food and service was very good. And of course, have your picture taken with Clay Henry the goat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmkmtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A wonderful Ghost-Town dining experience!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This eclectic, Texas ghost-town chic establishment is a must-visit and must-dine in the Big Bend area of Texas. Located in a former mining town (now billed as a "ghost town") this restaurant serves up excellent local dishes and a marvellous mix of Tex-Mex and related fare. Not to be missed is the huge "Diego burger" that is just scrumptious. I finished most of mine! The town of Terlingua is famous for its chili cookoff, so the chili will be on my menu next time we visit. Live music abounds, and the coterie of characters -both local and regional- who gather each evening on the porch of the adjacent store and bar- are well worth the price of admission. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Go for the scene”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

well, in Terlingua your choices are very limited. So you'll end up at the Starlight, no matter what. It's a bar-type place (thanks god for no TV sets on the wall). Service is friendly and the Lone Star is cold. The food is regular Tex-Mex type, but again expectations are very low. Overall it's a fun place to be.We were stunned being told that there'll be a wait. Not what we expected, but you better wait, as we said the choices in Terlingua for Dinner-out are very limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austinprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“In the middle of a Ghost town- A fine dining experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I could not believe it. Terlingua, Texas is the most unseeming place for a dining experience like this one. The unaadorned exterior bleies what is waiting for you. I had the most succulent pork tenderloins in Chipolte sauce with frsh veggies and rice. My wife had a leafy green salad with homemade honey mustard dressing. Our Super server Sandy T. was fast, efficient, and very attentive. The food superb and not overpriced. The owner has a diamond in the weeds out here. DO NOT MISS THIS if you travel to the Big Bend and Terlingua

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlight Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Starlight Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing