We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Ten Bits Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Bits Ranch
Reviewed March 16, 2007

It's not often that we stay at a place that far exceeds expectations. But 10 Bits Ranch was just that. Nestled between mountains and rock formations that strongly resemble the "Garden of the Gods" and located only a short drive from Big Bend National Park, 10 Bits Ranch provided us a truly remote mountain/desert experience with a very clean, comfortable, and attractive room. This bed and continental breakfast place looks like an old west ghost town from the road with 5 or 6 creatively designed buildings clustered together. The decor in our room was "rustic/plush southwest", and the hosts were truly great and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Steve is an ex-park ranger and part-time archeologist and had super suggestions about where to go and what to see in Big Bend.

The views from 10 Bits were fabulous. All you could see was desert and mountains in all directions with absolutely no other signs of human presence. There weren't even any contrails.. Yet it was only a 15 minute drive to the nearest towns (Study Butte and Terlingua) and about a 20 to 25 minute drive to the entrance to Big Bend National Park.

The choices of places with beds to sleep in (as opposed to camping) anywhere near Big Bend National Park are pretty slim -- some not so spiffy looking places in Study Butte and Terlingua, an overpriced resort in Lajitas, and the lodge in the park itself, which is booked years in advance. If you are looking for a place that's nice, reasonably priced, and has a chance of being available at short notice, 10 Bits Ranch is the place! We'll go back for sure!

Stayed: March 2007
Thank WeathermanAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Ten Bits Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2007

If you want to have it all - pack up and go to Big Bend National Park in South-West Texas. This is a completely different world where all your troubles seem to be gone away... To really enjoy the beautiful nature and unforgetable sunsets, try and book your stay at Ten Bits Ranch (see their web) - a superb luxury in the middle of the wilderness. This place is so great that we keep on coming back. Just got back from our sixth trip and already are planning our next one. Even if we could add or change anything at the Ten Bits - we would not. It is perfect as it is. Think of something 100%convenient, 100% relaxing, 100% stunningly beautiful - and you get the picture. The owners are wonderful people who can tell you all about the Park, the stars, the fossils... but only if you are interested. Otherwise just forget about everything and have a time of your life! Enjoy!!!

Thank frolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

Its our fifth morning here at the Ten Bits Ranch as we reluctantly pack up to return to Houston. What an absolutely unbelievable place, especially for the family. Nestled on a few hundred acres out of view of roads, buildings and anything but beautiful rock formations, the clear starry nights alone are worth it. But the new rooms, the wild west decor, the super friendly owners - Steve, Jenny and the worlds most playfull Great Dane Sophie -- make for an incredible stay. Continental breakfast and conversation is ready every morning in the big common house, and "insider's" suggestions of day trips are plentiful. Best of all, Steve is an advid archeologist and paleontologist -- and offers absolutely fasciniating guided tours of ancient Indian sites a short walk away. The kids will love his easy manner of teaching, but will go nuts when he walks them to one of several hills loaded with dinosaur bones, no kidding. He's even found and named a new genus and species of Cretaceous turtle -- something that attests to his passion and ability. I'm a geoscientist, and learned a bunch from him! Ten Bits Ranch is awesome, and you won't be dissappointed by the fun, relaxation, Jenny's big smile, the great natural unblemished landscapes, and just plain jaw dropping "wow!" moments you'll have.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dinka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2005

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Ten Bits Ranch on our first trip to the Big Bend area. Jennifer & Steve at Ten Bits Ranch are very welcoming people and have built a lovely B&B around some unique land formations. They are both eager to make sure you see the area and have a good time on your visit. The rooms are really private, clean, and have nice decor. It was very interesting to hear about their use of solar power and water conservation at the Ranch. They are located approx. 2 miles off a paved road, but our small car did just fine on the dirt road. They are about 25 minutes into town where there is some good food. The scenery is so beautiful in this area that we both commented how quick driving times go by.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LYFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Demi3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferdy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terlingua
10.4 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#6 of 8 in Terlingua
214 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Lajitas
712 reviews
10.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Bits Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Bits Ranch

Address: 6000 North County Rd, P.O. Box 293, Terlingua, TX 79852
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Terlingua
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Bits Ranch is situated within the spectacular landscape of Texas' Big Bend country, only 20 minutes north of Big Bend National Park and Terlingua. Our secluded, desert setting feature gorgeous views and an enchanting atmosphere for travelers who value individual attention and a unique vacation experience. Guest rooms are themed around our Old West town of "Chimney Rock". All rooms feature a fireplace, private deck, private bath and authentic decor. Fascinating archeological and geological tours are available at the Ranch and in Big Bend National Park. All rooms are non-smoking. Nightly entertainment around a campfire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ten Bits Ranch Hotel Terlingua
10 Bits Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing