We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and excelent food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longhorn Ranch Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Highland Village Tx.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place and excelent food”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Just spent 4 nights at the Longhorn and loved it. Nice and quiet with awesome food. Managers are very friendly and helpful in making your stay comfortable and memorable. This is a great place for dirt bike riders to stay as there is easy access to miles of old dirt roads.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aircrftmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Booked a two night stay in March. I was quoted $85.00/night for a room with two queen beds. When we got there, the owner/manager said she had forgotten to put the reservation down and then her son booked another reservation. After my reservation. So she offers me one night with the option to stay in her son's crappy RV that smelled like dog urine. We declined the RV but had to stay the first night because everything else was booked. Then she turns around and tells me that the one night would be $95.00, before taxes and fees. No potable water. Beware of taking a shower. The water burned my eyes. :( The bed's were crappy but I had expected that. Look I'm a reasonable person. I wasn't expecting 5 star but this was just ridiculous. Manager/owner was rude, food at the restaurant was crappy, and NO POTABLE WATER..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This motel is a little over 10 miles from the rest of Terlingua Ghost Town. It is sort of in the middle of nowhere, but out in West Texas where all distances are huge, it's not such a big deal to drive into town or to Big Bend Natl Park. We went to visit the park, spent a few nights camping, and then wanted a clean motel room, and that's what we got. Nothing fancy, nothing memorable, but perfectly adequate and clean. $85/night. The pros: INCREDIBLE Mexican food restaurant on site (Tivo's), owner has two friendly dogs that loved to play catch with us. Cons: Terlingua water is TERRIBLE (not the fault of this motel). Not the place for a romantic get away, but good place to crash when you're just looking for a shower and clean sheets.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerfromSeattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson,Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Find another motel. The woman working there (the owner, I assume) was rude almost every time we came in contact with her. The water was not safe to drink - there was a sign that indicated that by the bathroom sink. We had to use bottled water to brush our teeth and didn't even want to shower there due to the strong sulfur smell of the motel water. The food in the restaurant was good, but only one person was cooking and serving, so the wait was extremely long. There is a small pool, but it was so dirty and full of algae that it was dark green and smelled bad. Because all the rooms face the courtyard and the parking is at one end, it was very noisy when people walked back and forth to their rooms and also very bright - we had to put a blanket over the window to make the room dark enough to sleep at night. Also, we were unaware when we reserved this room that it is 12 miles north of Terlingua and about 20 miles north of the Big Bend park entrance (so 50 miles away from the visitors center and the Chisos), making our daily drive into the park a very long one. We will not be returning to this motel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtwister8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

cannot drink or brush teeth with the water, sure did not want to shower in it , or swim in it, only 1 small bottle of water provided per person, located way out of town with no amenities, the restaurant food was so terrible had to drive 20 miles to eat, the room smelled really bad , carpet needed cleaning , was very noisy as all rooms faced the pool courtyard area , long walk from car to room, proprietor extremely rude

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

The Longhorn Ranch Motel is a quaint roadside hotel that is for the most part in the middle of nowhere. There is nothing luxurious about the place, but the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly.
We called from Alpine to ask for directions. The lady who answered the phone said, "It's on 118. Drive about 65 miles and it's on the right." Since we've never been to the area, my husband asked if there were any landmarks. The person on the other end of the line said, "No. Just drive 65 miles and we're on the right." (That's what I mean about middle of nowhere.)
The beds were adequately comfortable. They are not plush, but we didn't wake up sore either. The room had a small refrigerator, a microwave, and an alarm clock. There is a TV; it has only three channels. However, if there is a channel a guest wants to watch, the front desk can control which 3 channels are piped to the rooms. We did not come to west Texas to watch TV, so this was not an issue for us. The motel does have wifi. It worked just fine. The water is not potable, so they provide bottled water in each room.
There is a restaurant on site. I don't get the impression it is open year round. I think they open it when there are groups staying at the motel. We had dinner there one night. The food was great.
Everything moved a little slow at the Longhorn Ranch Motel. It seemed like a family owned the place and did most of the work themselves. The same person who checked us in waited on us for dinner. We delighted in the idea of this place and enjoyed dropping San Antonio time for slower paced Terlingua time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ppalmer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Brother/sister & spouses & brother-in-law travel to a new destination for a week each Fall. We've rented a house in Sedona, a cabin in Utah mountains and a hotel in Bandera, TX. This year it was Big Bend and I found the Longhorn Ranch Motel online. I was a little worried that it would be too 'tacky' and that my reputation for finding good places would plummet. Not so! We were there a week before the Chili Cookoff so we had the motel almost to ourselves. Several evenings we sat outside our rooms under the portal for our 'cocktail hour' and it was very pleasant. The rooms were clean and roomy and we had a refrigerator in each of our three rooms which was convenient for our week-long stay. The check-in was pleasant, the management and staff were very friendly and anxious to accommodate any request we had. The only drawback (which was also a 'plus') was that it is located in the middle of nowhere...15 miles from 'civilization'. The Longhorn is not luxurious, but nothing else in the area is either...and that is part of the charm! If you're spending time in Big Bend...or Terlingua...then you probably aren't looking for luxury! And if you are, you can stay in Lajitas.

  • Liked — Away from other signs of civilization
  • Disliked — Long drive to other facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GrannyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terlingua
21.7 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Lajitas
710 reviews
12.9 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
94 reviews
81.2 mi away
Davis Mountains Inn
Davis Mountains Inn
#5 of 7 in Fort Davis
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#6 of 8 in Terlingua
211 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Longhorn Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhorn Ranch Motel

Property: Longhorn Ranch Motel
Address: Terlingua, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Longhorn Ranch Hotel Terlingua
Longhorn Hotel Terlingua
Longhorn Motel Terlingua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing