We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and hospitable owners”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longhorn Ranch Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had missed our destination and the sun was going down in this isolated Big Bend area. We stopped to ask directions and decided to stay. The motel was actually closed and the family had just come back from vacation themselves. They were so hospitable and gracious. They opened a room that was already prepared with fresh linens and was clean. The air conditioner went to work making it comfortable a we took showers and settled in. The restaurant was closed but the owner made homemade tacos and calabacitas for us. One couldn't ask for anything more...but, I am. I am going to write and ask her for the calabacitas recipe.
Joyce Pasche
Tucson, AZ

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Longhorn Ranch Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first time to stay at the Longhorn Ranch Motel, it was for two of our friends retirement party and I had read all of the reviews and was very skeptical at what we were getting into. The stay was really great!! It was a quaint motel in far west Texas. Rooms were clean, and a/c worked great, beds were comfortable and clean. pool was beautiful and cool in the 100 plus degree temps. The owners were friendly and took care of the property. Food was excellent in the restaurant. Real Mexican food made from scratch, yummy!! This is not the Hilton if that is what you like, but it is the best place WE have stayed in the Big Bend area and we have stayed in several of the other facilities throughout the years. Not near town but you can experience the wide open spaces, gorgeous sunsets, hiking, four wheeling, and starry nights. It was a great backdrop for the end of our friends employment careers. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJSTEEL026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Put simply...I wouldn't stay here again. Their Credit Card machine was inoperative (so she said) so I had to fork out $95 cash. A bit over priced by about $50. No drinkable water besides the two little bottles furnished for brushing your teeth. Barking dogs surround the place and it appears that there are quite a few permanent residents. I would eat at the restaurant again. Fabulous nachos but you need at least two or more people to eat them! Bring your own alcohol as they have no liquor license.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Billy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

See that picture of the blue pool? It's about 3 feet of muddy water surrounded by bare dirt. And speaking of water there's a sign next to the bathroom sink telling you not to drink the tap water that it's not potable. I thought at first it was a nice touch that they provided a couple of bottles of water--nope, it's to brush your teeth with and make coffee. You'll have to ask for a coffee pot and some coffee first plus creamer, sugar and all that. This place is a dump. We were tired and were afraid of not finding a place so we took it and paid $85. A Motel 6 is 50 times better than this place It was listed as being in Terlingua but is 13 miles to the North toward Alpine. Save yourself, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joolijaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was our 6th stay at the Longhorn Ranch Motel and as usual everything was perfect. The rooms are simple and very clean, your sheets are changed every 2 days and the beds are very comfortable. Make sure you have breakfast and diner in the restaurant (Tivo's) at the motel the Tivo omelet is to die for and any of the Mexican dishes on the diner menu are fantastic. Please note that this is NOT Tex-Mex it is the real deal Mexican food made from scratch right when you order it no pre prepping here at Tivo's so be patient. The couple that run the motel and restaurant are very friendly, nice and will bend over backwards to make your stay a good one.

If you are an off road motorcycle/ATV rider make the Longhorn your base and trailer over to Terlingua ranch and ride the newly opened Christmas mountain area, miles and miles of dirt roads to ride starting at Terlingua ranch and ending up 18 miles later in Study Butte.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aircrftmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Pay attention to the name of this place. It's a family _motel_ in the desert. It's affordable but old. It's run by a family who does everything, from checking in guests, changing the sheets and cleaning the rooms to cooking the meals in the restaurant. I've never seen a more hardworking staff. The food in the restaurant is good, and the chile rellenos are handmade while you wait. We had drinking water in our room, but we were conservative with other water because of drought conditions and the desert location. The motel was full when we stayed over spring break but very quiet. There's room for kids to play in the courtyard. If you're okay with staying at an older very affordable motel, this may be your kind of place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Have stayed here twice, once with a group of friends a few years ago and most recently just me and my husband. We'll NOT be going back again however. The rooms are as you'd expect, old and outdated, but adequate enough for just sleeping/showering and affordable for the Big Bend area. We took our own water for drinking of course and dealt okay with the dripping bathroom faucet, the loud air conditioning unit, the multiple dogs running around trying to enter your room each time you opened your door, and the one English-speaking TV channel of TNT. We're used to traveling by car in Mexico and this place is much the same as we've seen there. (Far, far, far from being considered a resort and really isn't even what I'd call an older tourist court type Texas motel --- so beware. If you want nice, go elsewhere.) Last time we stayed at the Longhorn Ranch Motel, the restaurant was closed "due to the owner being out of town due to sudden family issues." I called ahead this time to make sure it would be open and that the pool would be open. I was assured both would be. The day we arrived, we spent time at the park then drove back to the motel super hungry for some of the great Mexican food this restaurant has been tauted for. We walked in to sit down and were told the restaurant was closed due to a "sewer backup." So, all the way back to town we went for dinner. The next day, after being in the park all day, we looked forward to some quiet relaxation in and around the pool at the motel and maybe watching the sunset. (We did pick up dinner in town, however, since you can't trust the motel restaurant to be open!) Well, no pool or quiet relaxation for us. The motel owner's were having a personal "pachanga" at the pool. It was full of their splashing grandkids, and the whole fam-damily was barbequing and partying until well after dark. Not a way to run a business. We packed up that night and left the next morning. (At least they didn't charge us for leaving earlier than we'd made reservations for!) Guess you truly do get what you pay for. We headed away from Big Bend for Alpine and the Davis Mountains and were very glad we did. What a disappointment the Longhorn Ranch Motel was simply due to the owner/managers using the place more as their own personal party place rather than catering to their paying, vacationing customers. If we go back to Big Bend, we'll definitely pay more to stay at a real motel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank candy_satx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terlingua
12.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#6 of 8 in Terlingua
214 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Lajitas
712 reviews
12.9 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhorn Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhorn Ranch Motel

Address: Terlingua, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Longhorn Ranch Hotel Terlingua
Longhorn Hotel Terlingua
Longhorn Motel Terlingua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing