We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while in the Big Bend/Terlingua area”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longhorn Ranch Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Highland Village Tx.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while in the Big Bend/Terlingua area”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was our 6th stay at the Longhorn Ranch Motel and as usual everything was perfect. The rooms are simple and very clean, your sheets are changed every 2 days and the beds are very comfortable. Make sure you have breakfast and diner in the restaurant (Tivo's) at the motel the Tivo omelet is to die for and any of the Mexican dishes on the diner menu are fantastic. Please note that this is NOT Tex-Mex it is the real deal Mexican food made from scratch right when you order it no pre prepping here at Tivo's so be patient. The couple that run the motel and restaurant are very friendly, nice and will bend over backwards to make your stay a good one.

If you are an off road motorcycle/ATV rider make the Longhorn your base and trailer over to Terlingua ranch and ride the newly opened Christmas mountain area, miles and miles of dirt roads to ride starting at Terlingua ranch and ending up 18 miles later in Study Butte.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aircrftmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Pay attention to the name of this place. It's a family _motel_ in the desert. It's affordable but old. It's run by a family who does everything, from checking in guests, changing the sheets and cleaning the rooms to cooking the meals in the restaurant. I've never seen a more hardworking staff. The food in the restaurant is good, and the chile rellenos are handmade while you wait. We had drinking water in our room, but we were conservative with other water because of drought conditions and the desert location. The motel was full when we stayed over spring break but very quiet. There's room for kids to play in the courtyard. If you're okay with staying at an older very affordable motel, this may be your kind of place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Have stayed here twice, once with a group of friends a few years ago and most recently just me and my husband. We'll NOT be going back again however. The rooms are as you'd expect, old and outdated, but adequate enough for just sleeping/showering and affordable for the Big Bend area. We took our own water for drinking of course and dealt okay with the dripping bathroom faucet, the loud air conditioning unit, the multiple dogs running around trying to enter your room each time you opened your door, and the one English-speaking TV channel of TNT. We're used to traveling by car in Mexico and this place is much the same as we've seen there. (Far, far, far from being considered a resort and really isn't even what I'd call an older tourist court type Texas motel --- so beware. If you want nice, go elsewhere.) Last time we stayed at the Longhorn Ranch Motel, the restaurant was closed "due to the owner being out of town due to sudden family issues." I called ahead this time to make sure it would be open and that the pool would be open. I was assured both would be. The day we arrived, we spent time at the park then drove back to the motel super hungry for some of the great Mexican food this restaurant has been tauted for. We walked in to sit down and were told the restaurant was closed due to a "sewer backup." So, all the way back to town we went for dinner. The next day, after being in the park all day, we looked forward to some quiet relaxation in and around the pool at the motel and maybe watching the sunset. (We did pick up dinner in town, however, since you can't trust the motel restaurant to be open!) Well, no pool or quiet relaxation for us. The motel owner's were having a personal "pachanga" at the pool. It was full of their splashing grandkids, and the whole fam-damily was barbequing and partying until well after dark. Not a way to run a business. We packed up that night and left the next morning. (At least they didn't charge us for leaving earlier than we'd made reservations for!) Guess you truly do get what you pay for. We headed away from Big Bend for Alpine and the Davis Mountains and were very glad we did. What a disappointment the Longhorn Ranch Motel was simply due to the owner/managers using the place more as their own personal party place rather than catering to their paying, vacationing customers. If we go back to Big Bend, we'll definitely pay more to stay at a real motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank candy_satx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
778 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This hotel does not have drinking water. They provide bottles of water, but you need a gallon per person per day here. Bring you own, and lots of it!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Google map and directions show the motel off Farm to Market 170. It is infact, located about 14 miles from the park entrance on state highway 118. Basic accomodations, internet and 3 tv stations. Bring supplies as there are no real stores in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houston15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We (family of three w/11 year old) were in over Xmas. The room was spotless and the food was great homemade Mexican food. The place could use little better signage out on the road, but don't let that stop you. The line-dried sheets are like home for me. The restaurant has a byob policy that was perfect for us, and they had chicken strips and hamburgers on the menu for my 11 year old while my husband and I enjoyed great home-made taco salads and chips and sauces. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, so if you need coffee...buy yourself a souvenir mug and get some of those Starbucksand you'll hve no problem. Try India's Bakery nd Kathy's Kosmic Kafe for lunch/breakfast and enjoy Tiva's at the motel there for dinner. Take a walk toward Bee Mtn. behind the motel at sunset.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisajones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village Tx.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Just spent 4 nights at the Longhorn again and all I can say was it was a great time... again. The owners are some of the nicest people that you will ever meet. They will bend over backwards to tell you were to go sight see and other things to do in the Terlingua/ Big Bend area. Make sure that you try some of their Mexican food in the restaurant at the motel it is the best around. The rooms were nice and clean as usual.

Robert

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aircrftmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terlingua
12.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#6 of 8 in Terlingua
210 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajitas
696 reviews
12.9 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhorn Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhorn Ranch Motel

Property: Longhorn Ranch Motel
Address: Terlingua, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Longhorn Ranch Hotel Terlingua
Longhorn Hotel Terlingua
Longhorn Motel Terlingua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing