We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to see hidden Big Bend”
Review of Rio Aviation Inc.

Rio Aviation Inc.
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Terlingua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering flightseeing adventures over Big Bend National Park, Big Bend Ranch State Park, the Reserva Santa Elena, and the Dahlquist Research site.
Houston
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great way to see hidden Big Bend”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Marcos is very knowledgable of the area history and geology. He is a great pilot, and gave us some magnificent views of both the national park, and the Big Bend Ranch State Park to the West. We saw site that are impossible to reach by vehicle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomLaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Bend Scenic Flight”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wonderful early morning flight/tour over the western section of BBNP, BBRSP and the hidden gem called The Devil's Playground. The flight was much more than a sightseeing geology tour. Owner/pilot, Marcos Paredes gave us a people of Big Bend past and present tour. He had great tales and tidbits on the folks who had and those currently living down there...a tough but beautifully inspiring land.

Only downside is that our time in the air ended. We wish we could have stayed up in the sky all day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Volcanos, mesas, calderas - oh my!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a gorgeous morning trip flying over the whole Big Bend area. One million acres of geology, river beds, arroyos and canyons laid out like a beautiful puzzle. Makes you realize borders are a silly convention.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank history101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hondo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Marcos was very knowledgable and a great pilot! The scenery was spectacular and the ride was a breeze! We enjoyed our anniversary trip to the Big Bend area and topped it off with a wonderful flight with Rio Aviation! Would recommend this for everyone! Until next time, Happy flying Marcos!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freudenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In Heaven !”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Marcos took me straight to heaven with his little plane :-)
It was a great flight with a great pilot. We flew over the Big Bend NP and State Park. He explained everything in detail - area, history of mining, about the former ocean, St.Elena Canyon, etc.
The flight goes 1,5 hrs and the view is hilarious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HMR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Aviation Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Rio Aviation Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing