We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to a hot day of day hiking.”
Review of Chili Pepper

Chili Pepper
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Terlingua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a hot day of day hiking.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We wanted to get our fix of Mexican food after having been in the park for four days so we wandered over to Terlingua.

The service was great and the food. The Tamal was fabulous!

The beer selection great, and cold!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    72
    39
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best chili con queso ever!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The food was good, but the chili con queso was great! Chili Pepper is a little whole in the wall place, but it has a homey feel to it, the staff is friendly, and the service is good. Prices are definitely reasonable and the portions are more than ample.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The food was pretty good. The refried beans were great. The server was young and friendly, she needs to make eye contact.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“There are better options for breakfast.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast our first morning in Terlingua. We arrived about 7:45 and the cafe was still closed. There was a person inside so we inquired about the opening time and we were told it was 8:00 but we could come in for coffee while we waited. Apparently we were waiting for the cook who arrived about 8:10. After a three coffee cup wait, we ordered eggs, bacon, hash browns and toast. When the order arrived, the eggs were coated in cooking oil which was a new experience. Due to the late opening time and disappointing meal we chose to eat elsewhere our next three mornings in Terlingua.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The dinner waitress knows her menu...take her suggestions!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

or mine. The enchiladas are incredible. They make their own enchilada sauce. I live in Texas, and eat alot of Mexican food...the enchiladas at Chili Pepper are the best I've ever had...problem is, it's 600 miles from Dallas!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chili Pepper also viewed

 

Been to Chili Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing