We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
227
27
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
27
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs back porch fire pit place to stay national park big bend canoe trip other places ice machine front porch road noise kitchenette with microwave liquor store place is great two queen beds rio grande road scholar
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 260 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored Big Bend. The casitas are comfy, roomy, soft bedding, clean with a little kitchenette and outdoor grill and tables. We were there with another family and our kids loved hanging outside and by the fire pit making s'mores at night. We also used FFOC for our overnight canoeing trip on the Rio Grande and cannot say enough positive things about the experience. Great crew... prepared awesome meals for us, very knowledgeable about the park and canyon, lots of fun, played guitar for us around the campfire, took us on a great rock climbing hike. All in all our favorite part of our trip.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

We stayed in Casita # 3. Perfect all-around...from the initial instructions to the welcoming staff and clean accommodations. Wonderful location to enjoy both Terlingua and Big Bend National Park. An additional bonus was the covered patio, chairs & table for relaxation.
Just wonderful!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

This place is great! Located just outside Big Bend National Park, after a day of hiking and sightseeing these little cabins are perfect! Each unit has a back porch just perfect for gathering with a glass of wine. There is a huge fire ring, out door pavilion with grills. Set up for horse shoes and cornhole. The casita seems brand new it has comfortable beds, clean baths and an eat in kitchen. There is a snack shop on the property...great coffee! I highly recommend this facility if you are in the area.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Cathyd329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Stayed here 3 nights so we could hike Big Bend. The casita was great - well furnished, comfortable beds, dining area and kitchenette was a real asset. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and enjoying a snack/beverage after returning from a day of hiking. Great location with close proximity to the park as well as the dining options in the area. Would definitely stay here again! Loved being able to walk to the coffee bar out front in the morning for my daily latte!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018

Terlingua has an eclectic assortment of lodging options but we are happy we chose the casitas at Far Flung. They are spacious (about 400 square feet), and clean. There is a porch with rocking chairs. (Actually, there are two entrances but be careful – we almost left a pair of shoes on the “back” porch because we left via the “front” door to pack our car!) Community outdoor grills and picnic tables are available and we used them to make dinner our last night there. The kitchen has a large dorm style fridge and microwave, along with dishes, glassware, silverware, etc. There is also a very large fire pit that is lit from dark to I believe 11pm each night. The first night, we ventured outside to the fire pit but it was chilly and we didn’t stay long. The next few nights were cloudy so there was not much star gazing and we opted not to go to the fire. Nonetheless, it was a nice addition. There is a small coffee shop for breakfast items and a gift shop with t-shirts, a limited supply of sundries and other items that might be helpful for excursions (water shoes, waterproof pouch for phones, etc.) Only complaint: When we arrived, we learned that there was a boil water in effect. Since we received informational e-mails ahead of our visit, it would have been helpful to know this in advance; although we were provided with potable water, we would have purchased additional water and beverages ahead of our visit.

Room tip: You cannot reserve a specific cottage; they are assigned as available
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lee_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews