We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bend Holiday Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Terlingua B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We all do our research now, right? We knew the Ghost Town stay was going to be different and we knew that the tin roof hotel wasn't going to be the Waldorf and it wasn't...it was better - in so many ways. To say life here is laid back would be an understatement, but this place, with it's ruins and rust, is a life affirming experience. Our group had 3 rooms and each was beautifully decorated and appointed, clean linens and towels, great beds the all essential AC and everything you need basically. The Trading Company is packed with everything from books and guides, gifts and a great selection of beer!!! Life on 'The Porch' is what it's all about and playing with Moses (who actually had been cleaning our rooms all week) was the highlight of my entire coast to coast trip. The Starlight Theater has a great menu and the food is lip smackingly good and reasonably priced. But let's get back to The Porch, buy a beer and sit, listen, sing, play or just watch the sun sink below the Chisos Mountains. If you're heading to Big Bend I urge you to stay in Terlingua at the Holiday Hotel. You'll thank me.

Room Tip: All the rooms where great but go for one with it's own shower.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluesman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Big Bend Holiday Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

As another contributor stated, this is not really a hotel. Or at least, not a CONVENTIONAL hotel. But if you wanted conventional you wouldn't be in Terlingua. We stayed in the Uh Clem room, which is a pleasant room with a striking stone bathroom. Interesting that there was no wardrobe, but there was a big chair. Ditto no phone or TV but it has wi-fi connectivity!
The ghost town is a collection of homes and tourist-related businesses built on the ruins of an old cinnabar mine. The hub (and effectively the hotel reception) is the store (Terlingua Trading Company) behind which are the hotel rooms. Devastating view of the Chisos mountains from the doors of the rooms and the stars in the night sky are like nothing you've seen. The Starlight Theatre is a surprisingly busy restaurant (where has everyone come from?) and is next to the store. The room was cleaned and well-stocked with supplies (water, juice, good coffee - much appreciated) every day.
Terlingua proper is 5 miles down the road from the ghost town and is where the 2 main tour companies are based. We booked a few tours, all of which are good and enable you to see the Big Bend National Park in all its glory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widdowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I were in the area for a 2nd time for some amazing Big Bend hiking and wanted to spend more time getting to know Terlingua as well. We definitely picked the right place. We stayed in Uh Clem which was a charming, rustic room with a grotto bath attached. As other reviews mentioned, it was very clean and very comfortable. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat! But the best part was being so near the big porch outside of the Starlight. We kept thinking we should investigate some other spots in town, but after a long day of hiking we just never managed to want to do more than sit on the porch, cold beer in hand, and watch the sun set while listening to the excellent live music inside. We're looking forward to our next trip and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This house has two bedrooms, kitchen (microwave, small fridge, sink, a few dishes),, dining area and a futon next to the dining area, desk, fireplace, outdoor grill, outdoor seating area, window unit air conditioners. It does not have a television. The toilet is located next to the house but it is private. It was very hot in there in the month of May. The shower is located a few steps up from the house. It is also private but very hot in May. The bedding was excellent with nice bed linens and comfortable mattress. This house will not work for anyone with mobility issues as there are a lot of uneven surfaces. Because I "like" them on Facebook, I was able to get a special deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agertojl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in Yates room, and loved it. However you should be aware that this establishment is NOT a hotel - what you get is a room, there are no other facilities you would normally associate with the word hotel, not even a reception. So what you get is a funkily designed room and bathroom, which you can park right outside. Everything is spotlessly clean (no mean feat in such a dusty place), and the there are lots of pleasing touches in the room. Could do with some hanging space though (clothes).
Terlingua itself is fairly indescribable, but the much vaunted Starlight Theater (aka restaurant with live Americana music) is 100 yards away, next to the general store. It gets surprisingly busy round here, but everyone who stays should wait until the visitors bugger off, then lay in the dust outside, however bloody cold it is, and look at the stars. As someone else said - magical.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This gem of a place was 2 weeks into our 4 week road trip from San Francisco to Miami and it didn't disappoint. We had wanted to see some of Big Bend National park and this was the ideal stop over. I only wish we had been able to stay more nights.
Had originally booked The Cinnabar but when we got there, the owner had very kindly put us in the larger Candelillia House. It was beautiful in a rustic way. If you like peace and quiet, far reaching views and sheer chilling out, this is the place to be.
It is exactly as described on their website and the reason we booked it was the tongue in cheek description and yes you do have to go outside along the stepping stone path to the facilities and shower, but so quaint and really no effort. Lovely toiletries and fluffy robes were provided.
After watching the sunset over the mountains in the distance, we walked along to the Starlight Theatre, thinking it would be quiet on a Monday night. Wrong! I reckon all the locals and some from further afield were in there. It was packed. We didn't know it was two for one burger night. Well, we couldn't pass up an offer like that. They were delicious and the entertainment was a local guitar player. What an evening.

Later, we sat on our porch drinking coffee and soaking up the night air, the quiet and listening to crickets. It was magical. We left next morning having watched sunrise and taken loads of photos and went for drive into the park to reach Rio Grande. Saw turkey vulture, cayote, loads of road runners and humming birds on our visit. Truly an amazing experience and made my Best Birthday ever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue4Winds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed December 29- Jan 2nd and we did not want to leave. The place is cute, has lots of character, and is at a great location. The beds were soft, and although the shower is outside, it was nice. It was fun to sit on the porch, drink wine, and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Walking distance to Starlight Theater. Big Bend National Park easy 20 minute drive.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terlingua
0.6 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#6 of 8 in Terlingua
214 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Lajitas
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
#2 of 8 in Terlingua
74 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Big Bend Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bend Holiday Hotel

Address: Ivey Road, Terlingua, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terlingua
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Hotel is no franchise resort. It's perfect for raucous revelry or a romantic rendezvous, or both...You'll find many things in the Ghost Town in the exact condition they've been in for centuries, and that's great for exploring, but at the end of the day you'll want air conditioning.Named for the reddish mercury ore that fueled the industry that was the Chisos Mine, this room belies the Ghost Town location and offers a rustic yet elegant experience.The fancy indoor bathroom that we're so proud of is -- ahem... -- a short walk down the scenic porch, marked Room # 1B. It's a Terlingua tradition that has caught on big in Europe. erlingua chic, the Candililla House is great for either couples or families. Perched on a hillside, it offers an everchanging view of sunsets, starlight, and thunderstorms. There is a patio outside the walls and another within.The El Patron Suite is suitable for business meetings, but they're frowned on around the Ghost Town. Instead, have a few amigos/amigas join you for a festive evening. Walk over to the famous Terlingua Cemetery to greet the ghosts, or just watch the sunset with everyone on the porch over at the Trading Post. Bring your guitar (but not the accordion.)The Candelilla House gets its name from the local cactus that was gathered by the locals and used in the manufacture of women's makeup products. The owners' family operated both a trading post and a processing facillity that kept this Mexican tradition alive.Just down the road a piece from the end of the earth is the Rio Grande Rock House. This is not some neo-cowboy fantasy replica. It's real by-God Texas history. Built in the early 19th century as a trading post for trappers and settlers from both sides of the border, it's still in the same family.We're proud to be out on the fringe of Texas. Come on down.Free Parking - Wireless Adjacent* - Indoor Plumbing**If you stand out on the porch and hold your laptop up real high, you may get a signal.*The indoor plumbing is not necessarily "in your room." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing