We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Upstairs at the Mansion
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
El Dorado Hotel(Terlingua)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
49
7
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
7
5
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 65 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Well I have read great reviews on "Upstairs at the Mansion" and were really excited to go this January but we just got bump out of our room to whatever is downstairs because someone else wants our room for the whole week. Since we have already made train, car rentals and other reservations to go to Terlingua I am not sure what we are going to do. I am really dissapointed even more for my husband since he planned this trip for us. I sure hope this does not put a bad taste on the whole trip.........will post again after the actual trip.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Maritta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCatus, Owner at Upstairs at the Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Dear Not-a-Guest,

I was very shocked to see your review here on Tripadvisor. I had been communicating your reservation details with your husband, via email, and he said everything sounded wonderful, and perfect. I had no idea that there was a disgruntled person involved with this planned visit until I saw your review. Many guests prefer the downstairs room as it not only has a private entry, a sink, double bed & twin bed, like the upstairs room, but additionally it has 14 foot ceilings and is on the same floor as the shared bathroom. (No navigating the stairs during your stay either, in this room). Also, I have had guests mention, they like the way this room is decorated better than the upstairs room, as well.

Sincerely,

Kaci Fullwood,
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My wife and two friends from the UK stayed at the Mansion last week and it was incredible. Viewing the photos online prior to our trip, I was excited but a bit unsure how the mansion would be. After being greeted by a lovely hostess, Kaci, who gave us a rundown of the area and the mansion and a brief tour of the place, she left us to explore the area for the next few days. She had hoped to have an additional room sorted before our arrival since there were four of us, but she offered to stay elsewhere to accommodate us. What a champ! Big bend is a true Texas gem that many native Texans have never explored. And staying in such an amazing place like the mansion in the Terlignua Ghost Town, only 10 miles from the park made for an amazing trip. The rooms were very cozy and peaceful. We spent lots of time at the mansion, hangingout, cooking meals, enjoying the cool pool, and loving the resident cat, Redically.
Thank you for offering us up your hidden gem to stay in Kaci. We will surely be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobgrommit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed a few nights on a break from school. The upstairs room was quiet, elegantly understated, and very importantly, cool (it was 105 F outside!). The only reservations we had about the place came when we drove up to the front and were greeted by a huge mess on the front porch - no telling what lurked in those piles! Needless to say, we spent our outside time in the back and in the lovely side gardens. From the Mansion's Facebook page, we now know that the mess has been cleaned up and we're ready to make our reservations for our next semester break.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gonetotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Finding Kaci and Upstairs at the Mansion was like stumbling upon a hidden gem. My wife and I were on a special trip for her 40th birthday and the relaxation and charm of Terlingua made us never want to leave.

The Mansion is located at the top of a hill overlooking the rest of Terlingua Ghost Town, with a view all around, particularly to the Chisos Mountains in Big Bend National Park towards the west. What makes The Mansion and the Ghost Town alike so interesting is the fixed-up old adobe and rock buildings which for so long were abandoned and in disrepair. The result creates a wonderful sense of comfort within the crumble, and seems to attract residents and visitors who appreciate solitude as much as community, domestic comforts as much as the ruggedness of desert life.

From The Mansion you can (and should) walk anywhere you want to within the Ghost Town, which features laid back restaurants, a good regional art gallery, a historical walking tour (of the old cemetery, church, mining operations, etc.), and an endless supply of characters to shoot the breeze with in the shade of the Trading Post porch. Or, you can just relax at The Mansion, taking in the mesmerizing view, reading a book, sunning yourself, or taking a nap. At night, locals and visitors alike come together at the restaurant and bar at the Starlight Theater, the bar at The Boathouse, or other nearby places just down the road in the rest of Terlingua, Study Butte, and Lajitas.

The pace of life in Terlingua is all about slowing down, relaxing, taking it easy and enjoying life's simple pleasures, and The Mansion is perfect for just that. The large bedroom is at the top of a private set of stairs, with the bath and shower at the foot of the stairs. The tastefully decorated room feels like a completely private getaway within a getaway, with large windows on three sides and the desert quiet all around. The room features a large comfortable bed, a small side bed, a large sink and mirror, ceiling fan, large closets, large windows to let in the cool night breeze, a "swamp cooler" (akin to A/C) if you wish to use it, and beautiful antique accent pieces. We were there in 100 degree weather, and the room stayed naturally cool at almost all times.

Kaci is as unforgettable as her place, and left us feeling like we had just spend two days at home with an old friend, in a place we'd never been before and can't wait to go back to!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoadLessTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Walk out your door on a clear night, look up and see the Milky Way. Open the windows and feel the desert night breeze blow across your bed. This one-room hotel in Terlingua Ghost Town just off the Rio Grande in west Texas is the most exquisitely unique lodging I've ever experienced in the US.

It's not just the setting - siting on the porch at sunset looking across the Chihuahua desert to the Chisos Mountains in the distance - it's the people. The folks at Desert Sports, La Kiva, and the Starlight Theater (a colorful restaurant just a few steps from the mansion) were all kind and friendly. Best of all is the mansion's proprietor, Kaci Fullwood, one of the friendliest, most hospitable and interesting people you'll ever meet. You'll leave calling her your friend.

And as if Miss Kaci, the mansion, and the town weren't enough, you've got the whole incredible Chihuahua Desert at your doorstep, with hiking at Big Bend National Park, mountain biking the Contrabando, and kayaking the Rio Grande.

Upstairs at the Mansion is the perfect spot to return to after a day of desert adventure. It's not fancy, but I found it unforgettable and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okamisugoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstairsatthemansion, Owner at Upstairs at the Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2009

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind review, Sir!

Indeed it was a delight and pleasure to host your visit to our amazing corner of the Chihuahuan Desert. Visiting with you and learning about your life was very interesting as well!

Looking forward to the whole gang, next time!

Thank you!

Kaci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews