We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS PLACE TO STAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wildhorse Station

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildhorse Station
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FABULOUS PLACE TO STAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have been staying here for about 20 years. It is not a fancy place but it is like home. Louise Hammer the owner is like a mother to us. I recently booked all the cabins for my birthday. 18 of us stayed here. Louise has a party pavilion that is great! Views for miles of the mountains, BBQ pit, it has it all. The place is clean and simple. No frills but you can cook, relax, watch cable TV, hike, and it is very quiet. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 48awd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Big Bend National Park is a relatively sparsely visited park and as a result, there are only a few places to stay on the west side of the park. Wildhorse Station in Terlingua was great and only about 8 miles outside of the park.

Wildhorse Station is a collection of full sized house trailers spread widely over the property so each place has a lot of privacy and some wonderful views. We were in trailer #7 which had a large porch attached on both the front and the back which was a great place to sit and watch the sunset over the hills, and watch the wildlife running all over the property. In contrast to an earlier review on TripAdvisor, we could not detect any hint of cigarette smoke in trailer #7.

The trailers aren't fancy, and probably need to be updated (especially the tile), but we stayed in #7 which had lots of space, was clean and well stocked. For a rental cabin type place, we were surprised that the towels were changed daily and the beds every 3 days. (Most cabin rentals, you are on your own......) The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked, and it was very quiet which was great for sleeping. The trailer we rented was a two bedroom with one bath which was adequate for us and friends. One bedroom was quite large with a queen bed and the other room, though smaller, was adequate with a double bed.

The tiny grocery store in Terlingua had an amazing array of foods, matching or exceeding what we get at our local grocery store in Tucson. The kitchen had a full sized refrigerator and stove and was well stocked with cooking supplies so we were set for eating in.

The water was surprisingly good for desert well water and there was good water pressure.

The proprietess, Louise, was very friendly and accommodating.

I would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Big Bend National Park, or the equally beautiful Big Bend Ranch State Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brssjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Needed a place to chill for a couple of days on way to the other side of Big Bend & gave Louise @ Wild Horse a call. Lucked into getting #1 for 2 excellent nights & days. Great cabin, great view, wonderful surroundings. It can be a little rough around the edges, but the wildlife, birds and mountains are worth it! Will go back if we can get in :)

Room Tip: You are kind of on the edge of the wilderness. Be prepared, but this sure is a cool choice. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 886Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Valley, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having read all of the review, we knew what to expect.
Its not the Ritz, nor should you expect anything close to it in such a remote part of the US.

I was lucky to get a "cabin" with only two weeks notice, if just so happens that someone had canceled the day I called. We stayed in #7 which is the furthest from the road.
The cabin was, as described, a 70's vintage mobile home, two bedrooms with living and kitchen. The kitchen was well stocked as far as utensils are concerned, there was a tv with a direct tv box that I assume worked... we never contemplated turning it on.
The bed was not the most comfortable, but I've slept in worse... the over all cleanliness was great!
The view in the evening and the morning was wonderful.... I don't believe I have even been anywhere as relaxing as that front porch watching the sun come up and illuminate the valley slowly while the blue quail, misc birds, and mule deer all rustled up breakfast.
Water pressure was good, and plenty of hot water to go around, I was a bit worried about the taste of well water in the desert... but was pleasantly surprised , the water tasted great. The kitchen was more than adequate with a full sized refrigerator. Honestly all we prepared was coffee in the morning and light lunches, dinner we ate in Terlingua....

Total relaxation, with plenty to do during the day to wear yourself or kids out. We will be BACK!

Room Tip: we stayed in #7, but will be looking to book #1 in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We are not "high maintenance" type people, and our original plan was to tent camp in Big Bend National Park over spring break in a primitive site, but we changed our minds & I was able to get us a last minute reservation at the Wild Horse Station (someone else had just canceled). I knew, from the photos, that we would most likely be in an old trailer, and I was ok with that. We were grateful to not have to haul all of our camping gear. Wild Horse Station is conveniently located near Terlingua & the west entrance of the park, they don't charge exorbitant rates during spring break, and the alternative for us, was sleeping on the ground in a tent. With that being said...we found the interior of the trailer unacceptable. It was dirty, smelled like cigarette smoke, the windows were filthy, the toilet's water was shut off, the TV's reception ended as soon as we moved it one inch on the counter top, I had to re-wash the dishes before using them, and there were mouse droppings in the sleeper-sofa. But....the linens on the beds were clean, and the beds were comfortable. It was very quiet and private (all the cabins are spaced far apart), and while our place didn't have much of a view, I can understand the appeal of cabin #1 if you can score that one!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Heights
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

October 2013
When my husband and I saw the sign for Wild Horse Station that was almost illegible and then entered Cabin #1 we were ready to forfeit our money and leave. I am not a fussy person but he screens were falling off so you couldn’t open a window, the curtains were dirty and hanging every direction and difficult to open and close, the place was dirty especially the cupboards and dishes. This is coming from someone who usually tents. The beds were OK, linens clean, furniture old and tired. But the view was worth the $100 a night for a week. We ate every evening meal on the deck and sat with a cup of coffee and watched the sun come up every morning. It was so quiet and peaceful. Perfect weather. I can’t speak for the other places they rent out, but Cabin #1 is the ultimate place to stay . The cabin sits on a high knoll and overlooks the mountains, where sunrises and sunsets speak to your soul. It is so beautiful. Wild Horse Station is also a short drive to Terlingua that is a fascinating Ghost Town with a few local dwellers. It is a photographers paradise. We were there during the Govt. shutdown which was over on Thursday. That gave us time to see both the State Park and National Park, plus a day in Terlingua. I give the cabin a Very Good, just because of the majestic view and peaceful setting.
I would stay here again if I could have the same cabin, regardless of the condition. Some elbow grease and reconditioning could make the cabin much more inviting. We did not ask for additional service, but when we left we did point out some things that needed immediate repairs. It is one of those places you will always remember.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Cabin #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank backroadsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We go to Big Bend several times a year. Usually we stay here, but this past spring break she was booked, so we had to stay at a place down the road. I did not realize how spoiled we had gotten staying here. The stars are amazing. I will not go unless she has a cabin for us to stay in. Louise is a sweetheart, Wanda is wonderful, and we will never ever again stay anywhere else! Visitors include scaled quail, cactus wren, coyote and tarantula.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaniel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terlingua
6.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#5 of 8 in Terlingua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildhorse Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildhorse Station

Property: Wildhorse Station
Address: State Highway 118, Terlingua, TX 79830
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Number of rooms: 256
Also Known As:
Wildhorse Station Hotel Terlingua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing