We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back, we absolutely enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildhorse Station

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildhorse Station
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back, we absolutely enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 8 days traveling through West Texas making our way down to Big Bend. We spent 5 nights here. Louise & her daughter Wanda were so nice. We stayed in #5 which was perfect for us. They are nothing fancy but clean & inviting. The views are incredible all around. It was great having a full kitchen & grill. The porch was used every night to sit & look out at the billions of stars you can see there. Big Bend is only a short drive, as well as Terlingua ghost town. I highly recommend Wildhorse Station to anyone traveling to this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in #5 but I don't think you can go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Summary:
We spent a belated honeymoon here in September 2012 and decided to go back at the same time every year for honeymoon repeats! Friendly, family-built, -owned, and –run, this place is perfect for a relaxing, private getaway in nature. The location is fabulous – less than half an hour to the national park, about 10 minutes to the little shops and a convenience store of Terlingua, and 15 to the social center of the area, the Terlingua Ghostown. The buildings haven’t been updated since built (in the ‘80’s), and Cabin 1, where we stayed, needs a bit of maintenance, but the bed was comfy, the rooms clean, the towels fluffy, and the pillows downright luxurious. This is perfect for anyone who’s more interested in quiet, privacy, and the spectacular nature of the region than in room service.

Background/history:
Louise and Bobby Ray started buying property in the 1970’s and moved to the place in the mid 1980’s. It is now 230 acres, and Louise is thrilled to have guests hike around the property and enjoy it. They built everything there – the main building that functions as an office and also the family’s main living quarters; a second house for the housekeeper; and Cabin 1 (the only “cabin” that is actually a cabin and not a mobile home). Bobby Ray passed in 2004, and Louise and her daughter Wanda have been keeping up the property ever since. They and Wanda’s teen-aged son live on the property. Although everything was clean and neat, and Louise extremely responsive to any requests, it seems that anything more than basic maintenance has gone by the wayside since Bobby Ray’s death, but we saw nothing that changed our overall love for the place. (For example, the shower surround in Cabin 1 needs to be replaced, and you can tell that water is running down behind it, but that didn’t effect our stay.)

Cabins, Amenities, etc.:
We stayed in Cabin 1, the only true cabin, with the other 4 (Cabin 3, the only 3-bedroom, was struck by lightning and burned down in early 2012) all single-wide mobile homes. We peeked into one, and it looked very similar to ours, just smaller rooms. Cabin 1 is definitely on the best site (Louise suggested it to us when I told her we were on honeymoon). The view is SPECTACULAR, with views to both east and west. It feels very isolated, though Cabin 2 is actually close, just cut off from view by a big mound of rocks. No one stayed in #2 during our stay, so we had total privacy; not sure how it would be if someone was there. The cabins are stocked with all you need – full kitchens (modern fridge, coffee maker, microwave, stove), dishes, cookware, etc. The only things you need bring are “specialty” items (for us, a sharp knife, garlic press, champagne glasses) and food/drinks. There is even statellite TV! We had absolutely NO cell phone service or Internet in the cabin, but got wifi in the office and dependable cell service 5+ minutes away in Terlingua (and, surprisingly, most places in the national park). Each cabin has a wide porch with chairs and a small table – AMAZING at all times of the day, really!

Cabins 1 and 2 are on a high area, with outstanding views. Cabin 3, above both of them (but all separated from view of the others), burned, and Louise has built a large pavilion on the site, which any guests can use. Cabins 4-6 are on a lower level and, although a good distance from each other, are within view of each other.

Room Tip: Look at the photos and talk to Louise so that you know you're getting the type of "cabin&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GretchenDeFlorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Oh I have stayed at this place several times, since 1998, up until 2001 or 02, I believe was the last time my party stayed here. It is a GREAT relief to find this place, especially if you been staying in really bad motels all along State Hwy-90 in south Texas, which runs along the border. We used to go out to west Texas, with several dozen herpetologist, to study the wildlife populations. Unfortunately, west texas is very desolate, not many nice or clean places to stay at, especially when you are roughing it. But I was so glad, that we stayed at the Wildhorse, by far the Best place to stay at in all of Brewster, Presidio, Jeff Davis, Pecos, Terrell or Val Verde counites. This place is an Oasis in the Desert, if you've been to a desert, you'll know exactly what I mean. I mean those counties are nice, but their Accommodation are really bad.

Room Tip: bring lots of cash, or a good credit card, lots of Food, Non-perishable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEXACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was nervous about this place before I arrived because there were not many reviews on it or photos. It wound up being one of my favorite places that I have ever stayed in on a trip.

If you are already adventurous enough to head to West Texas then this place is perfect for you. We stayed in a trailer with a wonderful patio. Each night we sat and watched the sunset over the beautiful orange rocks and desert surrounding us. It was heavenly.

You could say that the accommodations are "vintage" but they were clean. We had a kitchen with a full-size fridge and freezer and it had all the pots and pans there that we needed to use to cook. We ate in most nights since we had a full kitchen. There was also dish television which was a great way to unwind once the sun had set after a long day of hiking, canoeing, etc.

Love this place and will stay there on my next adventure in West Texas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tejanaporvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at two bedroom lodge #7 at Wildhorse Ranch on July 27-29, 2012 on our trip to Big Bend. Place is well maintained, clean, cozy and spacious. You have everything you need for your stay including fully equipped kitchen (I would recommend to bring a good knife). Renting rate was lowest you could get around: $80.00 a night. Have to mention it's perfect location: right in between National and State parks, and just 5 min from Big Bend "capital" - Terlingua.
Special thanks to wonderful people running the place for their hospitality and help.

Room Tip: Cabin #1 has most scenery location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

First, if you are looking for a Hilton in this beautiful area called the Big Bend, you WILL be disappointed. If you can be happy with a clean, functional space with a view to die for, this is a fantastic place! Louise and her family will do their best to see that your stay is enjoyable.

There were several things that impressed me about Wildhorse Station. In 108 degree weather, the cabin stayed nice and cool, a testament to the A/C units in every room. We also enjoyed satellite TV with many channels for those sports fans in your family who can't be without it. Not many accomodations in the Big Bend have the wealth of stations that Wildhorse Station has available.

Furthermore, the bed was comfy, and there was plenty of hot water for all of us to shower consecutively. One bedroom had a queen bed and the other a double. The kitchen was well-equipped with a full-size refrig/freezer, stove, coffee maker, microwave, etc. A table and four chairs was available in the kitchen.

We stayed in Cabin #1, which has a great deck with table and chairs to enjoy coffee in the morning when the weather is cool and to gaze at the super bright stars at night. The cabin faces west to catch the beautiful Big Bend sunset. The cabin is very private and quite elevated to take advantage of the views of the Christmas Mountains.

Study Butte is a small town only five miles down the road where you can find cafes, gas stations and small stores. Wildhorse Station is very close to Terlingua ghost town and Big Bend National Park, well, "close" in Big Bend terms!

We plan on returning to Wildhorse Station in November, because we had a smashing time and feel it's a great place to stay for a base to explore the Big Bend!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in Cabin #1, but other units have different configurations and number of bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chennig48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egg harbor twp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

The Wild Horse Station was wonderful. For 3 nights we had a trailer, nestled into the mountainside with a fully stocked kitchen and living room. The bed was one of the best I have slept on in a motel and the porch at night with the stary sky was great to have. The lady who runs the place is also very nice. All this was 70$ per night, a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terlingua
6.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#5 of 8 in Terlingua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildhorse Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildhorse Station

Property: Wildhorse Station
Address: State Highway 118, Terlingua, TX 79830
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Number of rooms: 256
Also Known As:
Wildhorse Station Hotel Terlingua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing