We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded & quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terlingua Ranch Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Secluded & quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Terlingua Ranch Lodge for one night during a recent trip to Big Bend over spring break. Unfortunately, it is quite a drive from the entrance to the park (16 miles off the main road, 118, just for starters), so the location is not convenient, but the rooms were clean & comfortable, and the staff is friendly & attentive. We ate at The Bad Rabbit Cafe twice, and the food was very good. I would recommend Terlingua Ranch Lodge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wahoo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

What a nice quiet place to stay and a great place for stargazing. We stayed three nights, one of them being New Year's Eve. We expected some degree of loud celebration, but we didn't notice any. We ate at the cafe and strongly recommend the potato salad. Our only complaints were minor. Office hours are limited, but we really didn't need anything so that was ok. The 16-mile road from the highway seemed to get longer every time we drove it, but it was nice to be in a remote area and we spotted wildlife on every trip. No TV and no cell service (didn't want them anyway), but wi-fi and laundry facilities are available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gene and Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. The lodgings were clean and contained a fridge in the room. When we arrived their was a thunder storm in a distant valley but the stars were out and they were amazing. The pool and laundry and cafe were nice and it was a lovely place to stay. My only quibble was when we had arranged an early breakfast with the cafe due to having a raft trip booked, sadly the cafe didn't appear to be open even though it says it is is generally open from 6.30 am. Each cabin shares a deck with the one next door which i understand is so each has a view over the ranch and the mountains. This is fine but a simple small trellis would make me feel more comfortable if both cabin residents decide to sit out at the same time just to give a feeling a privacy without spoiling the other cabins view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have been visiting Big Bend since 2002. My dream is to eventually live there and get away from the big city. In the meantime, I try to stay at Terlingua Ranch as often as possible. The view of the sky at night is unencumbered and unbelievable with occasional meteor showers and the Milky Way spread from horizon to horizon. The wildlife is also unbelievable with deer, javelina, skunks, coyotes, ring tails, fox, and more. The lodge staff is wonderful and the food at the ranch is good. It's the perfect place to stay if your heart isn't set on staying in the Basin and a whole lot easier to book as well as being a whole lot less expensive. AND, they have a swimming pool for cooling off after a busy day of hiking. Great place to stay when you want to get away from it all. tls

Room Tip: Rooms are four to a building with a shared porch for each two rooms. There are two beds per room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S��͏D"
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Before planning on coming here i did my research and found out that this place was an hour away from the big bend entrance and 45 minutes from the town of terlingua. I think this place is better than going to a local motel closer to the park because of the camp like experience, pet friendly, and they HAVE A POOL!!! This place has everything you will need for a camping like experience. THe staff is very friendly and will give you all the advice you need on where to go. THey also have maps and brochures about what to do in the area. The cabins have everything you need and the AC works great, I brought an extra pillow for the bed but the mattress was comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and come with a few towels and wash cloths. I like big fluffy towels so i brought my own. No tv but that is ok since your time there is spent mostly outdoors. The Wifi works well by the cafe but is very weak in the cabins. I was able to get a signal a few times to check my email while in my room. This didn't bother me because i only spent time in the room to sleep and shower. At night you can sit out on the deck and look at the stars.

THe pool is very nice and was a great way to cool off after a morning of hiking at big bend. If you want you can call up to the cafe from the pool and order a burger and fries, then walk up in 10 minutes and bring your food back down to the pool (cafe is located next to the pool). The cafe has a basic menu which includes salads, wraps, sandwiches and some mexican dishes. THey also have ice-cream, beer, and plenty of desserts.

In the evenings we would go to the town of terlingua to take pictures in the ghost town and check out the local restaurants. Dont leave this town without checking out La Kiva. It was a super cool restaurant bar which has entertainment on some evenings. I looks like you are in a cave with unique surroundings.The food was great here as well. The Terlingua ranch lodge also has a horse stable, a deer freezer, RV parking area, pool, cafe, camp ground, and airstrip. Everything is close enough to walk to from your cabin.
The only downside to this place is the far drive. Dont stay hear if you are expecting a hotel, this is more like a campground with spacious cabins.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank md9333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The cabins with no kitchen are okay. The Lodge is 16 miles down a road from the highway and this does not really add value to the experience. The location makes for a long trip to the town and the Park. The restaurant was deplorable and is not safe. The cook/manager clothes were dirty and the food was horrible. Advise not to eat there. There was a tied-up Pitt Bull at the front door. They chlorinate the pool with Clorox.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BPE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam G, Front Office Manager at Terlingua Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
So sorry to hear about your stay ,,,yes we did have some management issues restaurant lease. That has since been resolved ,and have new management , clean establishment ,great food .
As far as the pool goes many commercial establishments use liquid chlorine for their pool, in order to affordably maintain safety with heavy use . There are certain ones that are approved by health dept. which we adhere to .
We hope you'll try us again even if you choose not to swim , I'm sure you'll enjoy the café this trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita falls
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed for two nights. The first night I hated it and the second night I started to like it (a lot). BTW I think this "Terlingua Ranch Lodge" and "Terlingua Ranch Resort" are the same in case you are wondering.
Why I did not like at the beginning
1. The place is about 1 hour from Big bend entrance. So yes it's a little too remote. And it's not that close to the ghost town of Terlingua either.
2. To get there you have to drive about 16 miles off the main highway (HWY 115 if i remember correctly), including 3 miles of unpaved roads. We arrived after dark, and the office left the key and a map for me. It's really dark there, so finding the cabin was a little hard. There was no cellphone signal, and GPS would not help either.
3. The cabin is very basic. And you can see dead bugs inside and out. Of course that also says that you are very close to nature. And the wall is thin so you can hear everything from your neighbor's cabin.
4. No cellphone signal. No phone in the cabin. I did not get wifi signal in the cabin. But you can have pretty good signals in their restaurant.

Why I started to like it:
1. It's quiet, especially if the cabin you are next to is vacant.
2. People are VERY nice. I enjoyed talking to the owners, and people in the restaurant.
3. Once you get used to life without TV, cellphone signals andwifi, it's not bad at all.
4. The price is good.
5. Anyway I did not come to big bend for a luxury resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terlingua hotels
15.8 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#5 of 8 in Terlingua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
16.1 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terlingua Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terlingua Ranch Lodge

Property: Terlingua Ranch Lodge
Address: 16000 Terlingua Ranch Road, Terlingua, TX 79830-7822
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Terlingua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terlingua Ranch Lodge is a property owners association with lodgin available to the public. A quiet respite approximately 450 acres, located 35 miles from Big Bend National Park gate, ghost town area and area outfitters.We offer 32 hotel rooms, a restaurant, pool,and horse corrals.Awesome birding and stargazing.There is a dirt airstrip for small planes.Permits for day use are available in the office to access Christmas Mountains, by hiking,bicycling,horseback or 4 wheel drive on the trail road only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terlingua Ranch Hotel Terlingua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing