We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
Nearby Hotels
El Dorado Hotel(Terlingua)
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
27
38
9
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
38
9
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrabbitmile roadrustic cabinwide open spacesbig bendrv areamain roadoff the beaten pathmilky waypleasant stayno frillsfire ringspring breakdirt roadwould stay againremote areacoffee pot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 83 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Had a two night stay here looking for air con and a pool after camping in Big Bend for two days. Lovely well run little lodge with great pool. Staff are incredibly friendly. Was treated to several fox sightings, numerous Javelina, deer. Went swimming at 9:30 PM and had bats dive bombing around us getting a sip of water. Rooms are basic, AC is cold perfect for a getaway a bit off the beaten track. The drive into Terlingua Ghost town is a must, the Starlight Theater is a great place to eat. We did not eat at the restaurant, we brought our own food and cooked outside. Would stay there again. No wireless in rooms, but available near the office on the picnic table.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marnietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed 2 nights and had a great stay. Well run place and the location is isolated for a real experience of the great outdoors. Nice pool. A great place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dover6Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed in the campground, tenting, and loved it! Great views, quiet, sparkling clean pool, safe surroundings in huge ranch near Big Bend NP. The NP camps were full for spring flower blooms, but here was much better. Cheaper, really nice staff and guests, more authentic western experience, not crowded at all, even with whole boy scout troop and chaperones camping in same campground. Plenty of room and quiet. Warm clean showers and restrooms, little restaurant on site with great locals and staff, home cooking. Guests friendly but not too pushy, let me be alone when I wanted. My four wheel drive pickup was challenged by heavy rains, floods, and washouts on back roads (had to turn back at times). But main road in from west is bumpy but mostly paved and easy driving even for cars. Biggest ranch road from north (fastest route from NP north gate) is deep sand in some spots, keep vehicle moving to prevent getting stuck in any sand drifts. Wild back roads for four wheeling fun and dirt bikes.Area residents and staff are fantastic, every vehicle passing would stop to check if I was OK, if I stopped anywhere along the roads for photos or similar. Rest and relaxation is great here, as well as scenery everywhere. Kind of a long drive from Big Bend NP(northeast ranch entry was fastest) but well worth it, IF you have the time and not too tight a schedule to keep each day in the park itself. I recommend this ranch highly for nature lovers and honeymooners wanting quiet and beauty. Desert fans will find the WIDE open spaces great for rock hunting, photos, wildlife, and hiking. Nearby town has lots of river raft trips and guides, plus retro 1960s feel with artists and folk crafts. No big nightlife, except stars and campfires. Have a great time if you go. Thanks ranch staff, very helpful and friendly, hard to leave! Look forward to my next trip there.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank twolanehwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

ASIDE from the fact that it is a bit too far away, this place is AMAZING. IF you are looking for a nice vacation from everything, phones, tv etc. Going into it you must understand that the room is nice, but barren. There aren't even clocks (I could have definitely used a clock!)
The employees are nice and completely leave you alone. We had two rooms and an RV site. The RV site was too far away from the rooms so we moved the RV next to the rooms and no one said a thing. The area is in the middle of the mountains and everywhere you look you see mountains. Since it is so far away from the town the stars are AWESOME. If you have a telescope, you should bring it. When we went into big bend and saw the hotels in there we were very grateful for our space at Terlingua Ranch. The hotels in big bend were on top of each other. SO if you don't mind the extra drive, this place is worth the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank taegensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We visit often and just love the area. Nice local people, wonderful views, nice motel setting at the lodge with good food and a pool. As a get away from everything, hike, walk, or just drive around vacation looking at mountains it cant be better. Lots of our vacation pictures are on tpicks.com

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank gtrayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews