We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining at its best.”

Cheeves Bros Steak House
Ranked #15 of 162 Restaurants in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cheeves Bros. Steak House is a classic, upscale restaurant in downtown Temple, Texas. We pride ourselves on our USDA prime steaks and succulent seafood, warm hospitality and a refined atmosphere. Our award winning wine cellar with over 400 carefully selected wines and reserve bottles has received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for nine years. We serve lunch and dinner and offer HAPPY HOUR everyday in the bar. Enjoy1/2 priced drinks in the bar (excludes bottled wine). We proudly serve Starbucks coffee and are dessert menu is to die for.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining at its best.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Crab cakes are awesome, lobster bisque rich and delicious, wedge salad cold and crisp, steak cooked to perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoeman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    42
    22
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Being ostentatious in Temple”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent! Everything! Food, drinks, service, atmosphere. It's a surprise find in the refurbished downtown Temple, Texas, and used to be, I'm told an old Montgomery Wards catalog store. However the locations retail days are very much behind the vintage building.

Dark and atmospheric, complete with a grand piano and an impressive wine cellar, this place is a must for a night out in central Texas. Steaks, seafood, salads, and an impressive bar. This wasn't my first trip, and won't be my last I'm sure. I've never had a bad meal, a bad drink, or a bad time at this establishment. Valet is also available in front of the restaurant.

This restaurant also comes with a Central Texas warning: Everyplace else for 50 miles in any direction is probably less expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, expensive but experience excellent steaks and other food.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is very good restaurant for business meetings and parties with friends and colleagues, visitors who want to have quite atmosphere and personalized service.
It is expensive, but you could allow this to yourself! Steaks are very good with large variety. Add as extra lobster tail, they cook them perfect.
French onion soup is thick, it is delicious, better than in many places in Paris, France. Appetizers - I will recommend shrimp brochette, scallops or crawfish bake.
Dinner has more options than lunch. Chicken and fish are also available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnatoliyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Scallops I've had a in very long time”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My recent trip to Cheeves included the scallops for an appetizer… they were the best I’ve had in a very long time. Cooked perfectly and in a sauce that was amazing. Followed with the large Ribeye that was also very well prepared with just the right amount of seasoning. Great wine list and very responsive wait staff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The best place in Temple”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We haven't eaten at all of them but this has to be the best place in Temple. Steaks are outstanding. Service is great. A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheeves Bros Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Cheeves Bros Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing