We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BIG BEER”

OLD JODY'S RESTAURANT
Ranked #9 of 160 Restaurants in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BIG BEER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

gotta have a 5 dollar big beer and chicken fried steak!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmyTexas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The food at this funky restaurant is first rate! Loved the onion rings and my friends loved the fried pickles (I'm not a pickle eater). Their hamburgers and bbq are excellent. You can't go wrong here if you enjoy casual, laid-back eateries.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank NorthGeorgiaPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

It used to be and old dinner wasent sure when we where driving there but the food was good had chicken fried steak the people where nice . home town feel good country food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank beach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, TX
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful. No wonder there were only three occupied tables on a Saturday night.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife and I are Texas septuagenarians who have eaten thousands of Chicken Fried Steaks. Tonight (29 October 2011) we both ordered CFS at Jody's. We both agree that ours were the WORST we have EVER eaten. Dry, Leathery, 1/16" of mystery meat with an OK breading and cold gravy. Rolls but no butter, greasy, limp fries. Then, to top it off they won't take plastic or a check. I don't carry 50 bucks cash in this "plastic age". Faced with a check or nuttin' she relented.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Time Charm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This was like walking back in time from when you were kid and your parents took you out to eat. This is a small town Diner with the red and white checked half curtains. People were constantly coming through the door and waving and saying hello to neighbors and friends that were also eating there. Our waitress knew her customers by name and even brought them drinks without asking them what they wanted. My husband had a Hamburger an fries. It was the good greesy kind and the bun had been toasted too. His fries were made from fresh potatoes and not from the frozen state. I had Chicken Fried Steak made from cutlets. I needed a little more gravy but you better ask for it before the waitress leaves the table because it is so hard to get her attention otherwise because she is waiting on so many tables at once. We also had a sample basket of appetizers. The fried pickles and onion rings are awesome! We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OLD JODY'S RESTAURANT also viewed

 

Been to OLD JODY'S RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing