We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toomuchtalking”
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #120 of 164 Restaurants in Temple
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Toomuchtalking”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

When I arrived at the restaurant I was directed to the bar to place an order to go. The bar tender was sitting on the counter engaged in a very long conversation with customers for at least 8 minutes before noticing that I was there. He finally noticed that I was sitting there at the bar. He asked me what I wanted to order. I then asked for a menu. He gave me a menu and sat back on the edge of the inside bar table and continued to talk to this friend/customer. He passed by my 5 minutes later and went straight to the kitchen. He took an Applebee's bag out the side door. He came back two minutes later and talked some more to another customer. He finally takes my order. I had traveled all day and was too tired to look for another restaurant so I waited for my order. He made a trip back to the kitchen then came back complaining about the manager to one of the customers. Really! the manager probably saw what I saw. To top it all off the bar tender took dirty glasses and dipped them into a sink of dirty water rinsed them off and placed them straight on the shelf wet and dirty with other clean glasses. This really needs to be addressed. I finally got my order and as I exited the building this same bar tender went back out of the side door and I saw him get into his truck and sit there. He made more trips to his vehicle than to the kitchen checking on my meal. I could see the kitchen from where I was sitting. I did not fear eating the food. The food was very good. But if you can get pass the bar tender, you will be ok. I am confident that the manager was on him. I feel that it was an isolated incident. Everyone else was working.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sra2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    9
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Twenty years ago”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Twenty years ago, when I lived in Dallas, I swore I would never spend another dime in Applebee's. Twenty years ago, obviously the food was bad there. Well it was my birthday, my wife wanted to go out to a birthday dinner. We were going down 190, she wanted to know if Applebee's was any good. I said no, but that was twenty years ago.
Maybe we should give them another try. Well, somethings don't change. The dinning area was very dirty, which tells me the kitchen is far dirtier. There food needs to be rated between bad and gross, calling it bad is very kind. My steak was microwaved. The steak was covered by shrimp that were about to spoil. The table was covered with caked food, the floor was covered with garbage. The only thing I enjoyed is telling you all not to ruin your birthday or any other special day with this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Tx
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“very good experience ........”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed the food and attentive server. Variety of food, cleanliness of the restaurant, and using a gift card made us "splurge" on dessert. Burger, wonton tacos, and the brownie with ice cream were all delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jrdtsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great for lunch groups”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I eat here once a month with a group. The wait staff is always friendly and happy to put tables together for us. The lunch specials are great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank glo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a great server who took good care of us and kept our glasses full. Applebee's is consistent with their menu and food from one location to another so you know it will be good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alrsparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing