We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed the gravy”
Review of Cafe 35 - CLOSED

Cafe 35
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Local road side food destination. Best Chicken Fried Steak on I-35!!!! Great salad bar, grilled burgers, daily specials, and home made pie. Stop on by and give it a try.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Changed the gravy”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've been bragging about the gravy. Had breakfast and the gravy was blah and my biscuit was hard. I will come back but please go back to the original. As usual service was great. Lunch menu is very good. Chicken fried steak good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must try!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After much curiosity, my husband and I came to dine here, and it was a great choice.
We were the only ones there which didn't bother us much as it felt like the place was all ours :)

I had the strip steak which had the right amount of seasoning and was very juicy. I had asked for my steak to be cooked medium, but was delivered medium well, but that would be the only complaint I would have. My husband enjoyed the chicken fried steak plate. Everything tasted homemade and fresh.

I definitely would suggest this diner to anyone coming or going to Temple. I am a local so I am happy to know this place is here whenever I want to come :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GTO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Ate breakfast and the milk gravy tasted like homemade for sure. Biscuits were good. This place was recommended by two people so wanted to check it out. The wait staff was very friendly and service was great. Very clean and nice atmosphere. Bathroom was clean too. Looking forward to a lunch day as I heard the lunch was very good too. Actually, there are several items on the menu i want to try!!! Will definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Choice!!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had been reading the reviews online and couldn't wait to try Café 35. I am the caregiver for my 78 year old mother who has Alzheimer's disease. After her Doctor's appointment today, I decided to treat us both to lunch at Café 35. I ordered the Bacon Tots for our appetizer, they were fabulous. I had the Grilled Pork Loin, green beans, mac and cheese. I will have to say the ginger garlic chili glaze was one of the best I have had. The green beans were also very tasty and not overcooked. We had to leave before we finished our meal as my mother wasn't feeling well. They came to my table and completely packed up all the leftovers for me as I put my mother in the car (so helpful). Food was so good, I made family reservations for Mother's Day and I can hardly wait. Café 35 is definitely a Great Choice!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_Smith233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celeste, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising gem of a find in Temple”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped here because our daughter had recommended it. It was an enjoyable lunch. We both ordered Chicken Fried Steak and my husband had green beans and mac and cheese, but I had mashed potatoes and corn (yes, I know, 2 starches!). The corn was fresh corn with diced red peppers (not canned mexicorn), lightly seasoned; the potatoes were red potatoes and mashed with the skins on them. My husband really liked the way the green beans were prepared (they were also fresh and not canned or frozen) and while he liked the mac and cheese, he thought mine homemade was better. The CFSs were tender enough to cut with your fork and nicely sized. Well worth the price! The waiter even offered us a fresh to go cup for our iced teas!

The only fault I have with this restaurant is the single bathroom with a lock that doesn't work well. You think you have locked it, but there is no resounding "click" that tells you if you have or have not. (I know because someone walked in on me; thank goodness I was just buckling my belt!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_35_Tem_TX, Owner at Cafe 35, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for the kind words. Sorry about the bathroom issue you had. Based on your description you used the unisex in the event room. There are a set of Mens/Womens at the back of the main Dining Room. You go to the back wall of the main dining room and they are on the left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 35 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing