We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eggs Benny”
Review of Megg's Cafe

Megg's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 160 Restaurants in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh. Seasonal. Local.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eggs Benny”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Best in town, great place for breakfast, very clean, great service and friendly. I always get the egg benedict for breakfast with a side of home fries

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hanabro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    102
    26
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not easy to see from either the freeway or 31st St, but oh so great. You must add this neat highend cafe to your next venture about Texas. Breakfast with whole wheat pancakes and Green's Country Store sausage patties will fill any morning bill of fare my mouth is excited thinking about the meal. Did I mention that the coffee is smoth and well brewed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VentureTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“bad first visit”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

food may be good...wasn't given a chance to eat it...cashier inside made me move my car because another lady said i was too close to her car...upset me...there was plenty of room to get into her car...so, i paid for my sandwich (afterwards i thought i should have simply left), left it on the table...and left...never to return

Helpful?
Thank labgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh artisan bread”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Enjoyed a quick delicious late lunch/early dinner for 3 adults and two young children. The Italian sausage soup really hit the spot after a busy day running errands. The turkey blt sandwiches were very good and made on freshly baked house artisan bread. Even our granddaughter's pb&j was made on this wonderful bread. The menu was not extensive but included a number of choices that all sounded good. We would like to visit again for breakfast and/or dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grandmaB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worthy Road Food”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Megg's is located right off the highway for easy access. The pork bollio sandwitch was great as a to go item which I consumed a few hours later at a scenic rest stop on up the road, the chips were tasty as well. Cupcakes and other sweet buns where fresh and delicious. The place was doing a brisk business on the Saturday morning we stopped in and the scene was quite condusive to happy dining. The only complaint would be the noise created by some of the machinary in the bakery area. I don't know if it was as auidiable in the dining room as it was in the waiting area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peripatetictexan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Megg's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing