We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #9 of 160 Restaurants in Temple
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gatesville, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The rotating door is the best thing in the place. We went around in it twice upon entry. Then we waited a couple more minutes at the front desk to be seated, while the wait staff chatted with each other.

Once seated, our waitress brought us menus and took our drink orders. That went very well. When she brought our drinks, she asked for our appetizer orders. I ordered an appetizer, and my husband looked at the appetizer menu while the waitress walked away. She stopped a couple tables away from us to talk to other diners. Then she went to the POS. Even when she looked back in our direction, where even the diners at her last table could see we were watching for her, she was looking down. My husband had to get up and go to her to place his appetizer order.

I ordered the mozzarella sticks and grilled chicken with pasta in a cream sauce with broccoli in it. The mozzarella sticks were many but bland. The marinara sauce helped, but they didn't give very much of it. The chicken was dried out and flaky. The pasta sauce was tasteless. My daughter ordered the spaghetti with fries. She had one fry. They were also dry and bland. She did eat half her spaghetti and marinara though. My husband had an avocado and tuna salsa thing with chips, which he ate all of; a scallops something entree, which he can't remember much about other than eating it; and a side salad he barely touched.

The waitress asked if we wanted dessert after we had asked for to go boxes. She also asked if we wanted drink refills, which we agreed to. After she brought the wrong check, which we sent back through another waiter, then brought the correct check, she asked if I wanted the drink refill to go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    58
    17
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

BJ's is a highly visible restaurant which has an excellent menu for all tastes. The service was slow but the food was good. Our friends and coworkers and I have spent many happy meals together. The tv is always on and the room is very noisy so we often repeated ourselves but there was much merriment from other tables so the happy atmosphere was catching.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3209bbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok food, service not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Their food is typical of bar food, they do however have some more menu items that are more than bar food. We went there twice on our visit to Temple, Tx and both times the service was poor! We were ignored for quite some time before our waitress came over, despite having many other waiter/waitresses in the area who just kept walking after looking at us and the table. Both time neither checked on us. I was disappointed both times with service. Food was ok but not great enough to put up with being ignored.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mj0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast service good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been to BJ'S many times & we are always greeted quickly & are seated quickly. The restaurant is always clean & has a varied & large menu selection. There are TV'S with lots of sports on them, but the volume is not so high that it interferes with conversation. They have a rewards club you can join to get a few freebies.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food can be good. . . service, not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food can be good, especially the parmesan-crusted chicken and several of the sandwiches. Unfortunately, the service is often inconsistent and the food can be as well at times. We have also been on a couple of occasions where they were out of one or more of their signature beers, which seems a bit odd for a place billing themselves as a 'brewhouse.'

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenJRN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing