We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If looking for a non-chain place to eat---this is it!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wes' Burger Shack

Wes' Burger Shack
Ranked #3 of 160 Restaurants in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve breakfast from 7 am till 945 am. lunch is from 10am till 3pm
College Station, Texas
1 review
“If looking for a non-chain place to eat---this is it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Went to Temple for Dr appt; wanted to eat at a place that we don't have. I googled restaurants and Wes' came up with great reviews, so we decided to give it a try! We were not disappointed at all! As soon as we walked in we were greeted by the friendly staff. Our waitress was very friendly & fast. Husband had the hamburger steak & I had chicken fried steak...both were so yummy!! Wes, the owner, walked around and talked to the customers---I really liked that!! You know it's a great local place to eat when there are police officers and sheriffs eating there!! We will be back & will tell anyone traveling through Temple to stop! Thanks Wes for taking time to talk to us & for making great food & hiring friendly staff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    38
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Burgers and more here at this place downtown. Great for kids or large groups. Had a burger and it was very tasty. Onion rings were very good also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We actually found this place by reading the reviews on trip advisor. If you want good food at a reasonable price then this is the place to go. It is a typical home town cafe just off of the square in Temple. We could tell when we when in that it was a predominantly local crowd. Everyone seemed to know each other. It is not a fancy place but it has a great small town cafe atmosphere. The service was very prompt and friendly. The special that day was catfish or shrimp but we opted to get the hamburger. It was an old fashioned hamburger that was great! We also ordered onion rings, fried jalepeno slices, and fried mushrooms to go along with the burgers and they were great also. I will definitely go back if I am in the neighborhood around lunch time but don't expect to get dinner there. They are only open from 6:00 am to 3:00 pm on Monday through Friday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlb_teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good burgers, but a chef salad it is not....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is home to the locals, and I am a local, I would definitely come here for a home style burger, but as far as the "chef salad" , no I don't think I'll be paying $5 for a soup bowl of lettuce. A chef's salad to me is having ham, turkey, egg, and cheese. I would also suggest buying serving trays for the waitresses so they won't have to hold my beverage against their clothes.

It's a great place with a lot of business, don't get me wrong, but if your looking to get a good salad here... You will be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GTO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesshack, Owner at Wes' Burger Shack, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
thank you for your review. after I read this review I had a meeting with all my staff and made all the girls make me a chef salad. our chef salads should come with lettuce tomato, pickle, cheese and choice of meat ( ham, chicken or bacon)and a half of a boiled egg. all six salads came out this way when I had them make them. I cant explain what happened that day but I will gladly get you another salad and I truly thank you for letting me know this happened. hope to see you again in the future and I'm sorry it took so long to respond to this I just now learned how to respond. thanks again Wes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little hole in the wall of the Town Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place. You will be hard pressed to find a seat because the locals are loyal to Wes.
Burgers are top notch, hamburger steak is awesome and the chicken fried steak is huge. The have deep fried jalapeno slices pickles, mushrooms, etc... You will not have a bad meal here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wes' Burger Shack also viewed

 

Been to Wes' Burger Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing