We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Eggs Ranchero Sauce Ever on their Free Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Sweetwater
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sweetwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose the hotel because they are pet friendly (no deposit required!). We were also surpised and teh negative reviews. The rooms have been recently renovated- marble in bathrooms and you could tell recently painted. The beds were great. The front desk staff were very helpful - they put us about as far aawy from traffic as possible- without our even asking! BUT the highlight of the event was Cruz's homemade ranchero sauce at thier free hot breakfast. It was fabulous just by itslef- even better on scrambled eggs! [We knew for sure we were back in Texas!! :) ] The price ($114) seemed a little high but with a newly renovated room, free hot breakfast and no extra charge for our dog, we felt it was well worthwhile. Would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back which will be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlutsonCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Sweetwater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 164 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

stayed here Feb. 19th & 20th, 2013. This place awful, the room smelled terrible, no vent fans in bathroom just a hole cut in wall which has mold growing around it, they allow dogs which I don't mind but a large one barked all night, complained to the front desk and was told they could not inforce their own rules, no phone books in rooms, was told they took them out because no one uses them anymore, one small bar of soap in the room and towels and washcloths stained and yellow looking, bed was clean but linens and comforters need replaced they are old and shabby. Their rate is entirely to high!!! This is a one star motel at best, Stay someplace else!!! The interior walls are starting to crumble and there are cracks in the tile floors they do not look clean! Was here to attend a funeral for a family member in Sweetwater.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have to admit, I am extremely surprised to see all of the negative reviews on here. I stay in Sweetwater every time I go to visit family in Oklahoma (it's basically the halfway point for us) and I always stay at this LaQuinta. I have NEVER had any problems with the staff, they have always been very kind and helpful.

They ARE in the midst of some pretty heavy renovations. We're not just talking painting, etc. When I was just through at the middle and end of November, they were working on their breakfast room, and they had the jackhammers going the morning we checked out. They appear to be doing a COMPLETE overhaul, which (I assume) will eventually include the rooms. Admittedly, I don't know for certain, but I will be staying there again in a couple of weeks and will try to remember to ask.

I have never tried the pool, so I can't make any assertions on that.

I have never had a dirty room, and nothing has ever happened to my car. The rooms certainly aren't anything particularly special, but I don't think they're bad, either. They match up pretty well with most other motels I have stayed at.

I have stayed at this LQ eight times in the past two years, and will be tacking on numbers 9 and 10 this month.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Waco, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed October 29, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here in early August and when I walked into the room I was stunned. The carpet was torn, the place smelled, there was something sticky all over the desk (so I could not use my laptop there), a light was not working, the refrigerator was not working, and the walls were marked up everywhere.

On the outside they claim they were "renovating" (read - painting) and had taped plastic over the windows - however the plastic on many windows was ripped and just blew around all night with the noise making it difficult to sleep. With the refrigerator not working I went to reception to ask if they could put some perishable medicine in their refrigerator for me and to my surprise I was told, "No we don't do that." They repeatedly refused to do so.

The "hotel" is in a very ugly part of (an unattractive) town and I did not feel safe about having my car parked in back. (You will note that others report having been broken into.) At any given time there were 2-6 stray cats on the property and various people sitting outside getting drunk. The pool is dirty and I would not even let my dogs swim in it.

It was too late that night to go to another hotel but I want to make sure no one else has to experience this place. It may likely be the worst place I have stayed in the developed world in 30 years of travelling.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

WHAT A DUMP! Room was dirty, musty, mildew on the walls, carpet was filthy & sticky, a/c was noisy and did not cool, shower didn't work. Know why it is call La Quinta because they "take the 5th". Will NEVER stay @ LQ again and will be telling everyone I know who is traveling to STAY CLEAR!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank chulea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel is undergoing renovations, however the pool is experiencing "sickness" as diagnosed by my 5 year old. The recirculating pump is either not working or working badly and the stagnant water is creating a bacterial wonderland. We unfortunately tried it before noticing the water. We reported the problem, but the issues remain. The rate is very comparable to other hotels in the area, and the staff is friendly. There is ample parking as has been described earlier. The rooms are relatively clean, but our carpet was apalling and a black substance accumulated on our socks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorf3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sweetwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sweetwater Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn And Suites By Wyndham Sweetwater
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Sweetwater
Hampton Inn Sweetwater
#3 of 11 in Sweetwater
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Studio 6 Sweetwater
Studio 6 Sweetwater
#7 of 11 in Sweetwater
7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sweetwater
0.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn
Country Hearth Inn
#8 of 11 in Sweetwater
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Sweetwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sweetwater

Address: 500 NW Georgia Ave, Sweetwater, TX 79556-7849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sweetwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sweetwater
Price Range: $75 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Sweetwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta - Sweetwater is located just off the freeway. With newly renovated rooms that offer flat panel TV's, Pillow top beds, Micro-Fridge in every room and Free Wi-Fi. We offer the best hot buffet breakfast that is freshly cooked on premises. Come stay with us and Wake up on the Bright Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sweetwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Sweetwater
Sweetwater La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing