We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Many years ago we had a beach house at Port Aransas. We loved that place but had to sell it when we relocated. A couple of years ago we went back to Port A and I was bitterly dissapointed by the "development" of the place, like trinket stores with the shape of a sharks head for the entry way. Ocean view and Surfside was like going back in a time machine to the Port Aransas I treasured. While it is tourist orientated, it's more like visiting a friend, not just another business. Then only complaint I have is that the ice machine broke while we were there, but warm scotch by the ocean in October is not too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Surfside is tourist orientated but at the same time a very quiet low key vacation spot. I am glad to see that you enjoyed yourself so much. When you visit us again if you have any issues with the ice machine the front desk or Cafe can get ice for you. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 338 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was looking for a nice place that was pet friendly and that part was great. My only problem was for the first two days I was on the top floor and when you are in your 60's with two dogs, the stair climb is very difficult. I was finally moved to the 1st floor and it was great. The only downside was the restaurant food. First, on the internet it says you have room service. When I called the restaurant they told me they did not have room service. Food was overpriced and below par but the wait staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: They have a very limited amount of pet friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dusty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We just started having pet friendly rooms this year and are looking to have some more by next summer because of the high demand. Our website is currently in the process of getting updated so the room service listed is something we did in the past. That is a service that we have considered bringing back though. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Always LOVE visiting the Ocean Village Hotel. The staff is fabulous. So friendly and very accommodating when it comes to whatever your needs are to make your stay the most enjoyable. Ocean Village is the only place we stay whenever we visit Surfside.

Would love it if they would add a pool. Also wish they would go back to having room service for the rooms. We would use that occasionally in the past.

Room Tip: Book early and if you have a room preference staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Glad you had such an awesome stay with us! Making sure our guest are taken care of is very important to us! As far as the pool goes that is a possibility in the near future. We keep our facebook updated with new things that are going on so make sure you like our page. We had room service for a while but as we have grown that was one thing that we were unable to keep. Hopefully we can bring it back! Come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were looking for a place that didn't have alot of traffic and business's all around. Also someplace very close to the beach. Very well maintained and comfortable rooms. Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our peaceful little town, and we look forward to having you back to visit us soon.

Adam DeVaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Ocean Village Hotel is a great spot to get away from the big City. In a 2 month period I stayed 4 times. The new property is very nice and the staff are very friendly. It is, however, the older 900 Building where I have the most peace. Every unit has an Ocean view. You are away from most everyone and I just prefer it. It is an older property but for reasons I escape, it is perfectly fine. I would suggest the Queen suite over the King. The shower is very small. ENJOY!

Bit ~ Houston

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

I would like to thank you for your loyalty and your repeat business. The 900 building in a nice getaway spot, a little more secluded and quite than our main site. I am glad to hear you can relax and enjoy yourself there, and we look forward to your next visit.

Adam DeVaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite. Such a wonderful view from the balcony and from being lazy and laying in the bed! The rolling waves lulled us to sleep each night. We have found a new place on the beach for sure. We even want to secure rooms for our entire family next summer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback! When you go to book again and you have the entire family coming you can call ahead and have rooms blocked to make sure everyone ends up in the same area. Can't wait for y'all to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Right on the Gulf with a wonderful view and private decks! The beds were so comfortable and the restaurant was right next door!! Great price for two nights, as well! We will most certainly be back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nellie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and giving us your positive feedback! We hope that you come back soon to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
44 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
14.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 7 in Lake Jackson
97 reviews
8.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range: $107 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing