We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October 2013 Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Hallettsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“October 2013 Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Always LOVE visiting the Ocean Village Hotel. The staff is fabulous. So friendly and very accommodating when it comes to whatever your needs are to make your stay the most enjoyable. Ocean Village is the only place we stay whenever we visit Surfside.

Would love it if they would add a pool. Also wish they would go back to having room service for the rooms. We would use that occasionally in the past.

Room Tip: Book early and if you have a room preference staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Glad you had such an awesome stay with us! Making sure our guest are taken care of is very important to us! As far as the pool goes that is a possibility in the near future. We keep our facebook updated with new things that are going on so make sure you like our page. We had room service for a while but as we have grown that was one thing that we were unable to keep. Hopefully we can bring it back! Come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    96
    40
    13
    30
See reviews for
120
100
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were looking for a place that didn't have alot of traffic and business's all around. Also someplace very close to the beach. Very well maintained and comfortable rooms. Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our peaceful little town, and we look forward to having you back to visit us soon.

Adam DeVaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Ocean Village Hotel is a great spot to get away from the big City. In a 2 month period I stayed 4 times. The new property is very nice and the staff are very friendly. It is, however, the older 900 Building where I have the most peace. Every unit has an Ocean view. You are away from most everyone and I just prefer it. It is an older property but for reasons I escape, it is perfectly fine. I would suggest the Queen suite over the King. The shower is very small. ENJOY!

Bit ~ Houston

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for your loyalty and your repeat business. The 900 building in a nice getaway spot, a little more secluded and quite than our main site. I am glad to hear you can relax and enjoy yourself there, and we look forward to your next visit.

Adam DeVaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite. Such a wonderful view from the balcony and from being lazy and laying in the bed! The rolling waves lulled us to sleep each night. We have found a new place on the beach for sure. We even want to secure rooms for our entire family next summer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! When you go to book again and you have the entire family coming you can call ahead and have rooms blocked to make sure everyone ends up in the same area. Can't wait for y'all to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Right on the Gulf with a wonderful view and private decks! The beds were so comfortable and the restaurant was right next door!! Great price for two nights, as well! We will most certainly be back again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nellie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your positive feedback! We hope that you come back soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A group of us goes to Surfside a couple times a year and decided instead of renting a house that we would do individual accommodations. When I started to search, up popped Ocean Village! It is in a prime location, has a great maintained beach with activities directly in front of the hotel. The attached restaurant was a tad lacking on dinner but had a great happy hour special. Breakfast buffet redeemed the dinner experience. We got to stay in the newer building and it was so nice! Great view, very nice beds, furniture and wood floors (something like wood). There was a great gathering spot under our building for evening cocktails and visiting. You get a free bag of ice with your stay and the staff was extremely nice! We look forward to staying here next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank isla-newbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Glad that you stumbled upon us! We are currently updating our other buildings to have the same furniture as our new building and making many improvements over our low season. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was really nice. The mini fridge was broken but the replaced it within the hour. The bed was very comfortable and we had a nice view from our room. The only disappointing thing was the breakfast buffet. The eggs were dry, but they made fresh eggs for us. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for visiting Ocean Village Hotel. I am sorry to hear the mini fridge was down, but I am glad they were able to take care of that right away.

We just started doing the breakfast buffet and we are still working out some of the kinks. I am glad to hear the made new eggs for you. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
8.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 6 in Lake Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
10.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lake Jackson
Candlewood Suites Lake Jackson
#3 of 6 in Lake Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Property: Ocean Village Hotel
Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing