We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
North lincolnshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“JUST OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our Texas tour. We arrived early but was pleased to hear the room was ready. Be aware there are quite a lot of steps to this property so not good for infirm or elderly. The room was ok but very small and cramped. The bathroom is tiny and the washbasin is in the main room. Also there is nowhere to hang any clothes so I wouldn't want to stay for long. The balcony was very nice although the seating was a small wooden bench but a nice view of the ocean. We didn't go far as we were in need to a bit of relaxation so sat near the restaurant/bar and had a few drinks. The service was fine. I enjoyed the peace and quiet and watching the pelicans fishing in the gulf. We ate there a little later, the food was ok but nothing to write home about, very limited menu, we had the burgers. We then had the invasion of mosquitos so had to retire to our room. We slept well as it is very quiet. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and again it was just ok, maybe should have waited til we got the Galveston. For someone from the UK this was an experience but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joylwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to see that you had a good experience overall. We do have some rooms that are larger suites if you are looking for more space for a future visit. I hope that you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    96
    40
    13
    30
See reviews for
120
100
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed in the 400 building with an amazing ocean view room. What really made my stay amazing was the staff. I had to make several changes to my reservation due to personal problems. I dealt with a women named Anna through out my stay there. She was always smiling and really outgoing and willing to do ANYTHING to make our stay wonderful. Or trip there was magical because of her. We will be back but only if she is still there. The other lady we met was rude and unwilling to help us out. Not sure what her name is but she had pinkish hair. We would wait for Anna to come in to go to the office if we needed anything. Thank you Anna for being so friendly. The cafe has great burgers and some friendly waiters. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotgramme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your great positive feedback! We strive to make an awesome experience for our guest. Can't wait for you to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
276 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Realize that this facility has 5 separate buildings. They started with a bar/café directly on the beach. Then added some rooms in a building behind the café. Then took a big house next door & cut it up into several more rooms. Then built a new 2 story raised building 100 feet away with several more rooms. They also have 6 King Suites w/kitchens, about a 1/2 miles away, also right on the beach. So all the buildings have great locations on the beach, which is what keeps guests arriving. We had rooms in more than 1 location & the double rooms w/balcony in the other locations were OK with good enough housekeeping & furnishings. However, the King Suites w/kitchens are nothing as advertised online. There is no pull out sofa in the living room. Ours had an old run-down futon with cigarette burns in it. Certainly not something you would want to sleep on. No lounge chair w/ottoman in the bedroom. Could not have even gotten a chair/ottoman in a room this small with the king bed. No closet. Just a bar on the wall with no hangars. Smallest shower we have had in a motel room. A big person could not get it in. Kitchen was dingy & depressing. Stove had burns & dirty tin foil underneath the burners & in the bottom of the oven. Neither had been cleaned in some time. They advertise a fully equipped kitchen, but don't believe that & take everything -- absolutely everything you might need or want to cook with --there were enough plates, cups, saucers & bowls for 4 persons. 1 big plastic bowl, 1 skillet & 2 small pots, that were in such terrible shape that we didn't even consider using them. Throw this junk out & get something clean & useable management. Coffee pot was OK "after" we washed it. A few eating & cooking utensils, but glad we brought lots of plastic ware. Worst part is that this unit has not had a factual, heavy-duty scrub-down & cleaning in a long time. Window sills had dead bugs, flies etc. Stove was disgusting. All floors needed mopping --- with soap/cleanser & not just water housekeeping, Kitchen table/4 chairs & 2 bar stools were OK. Otherwise, there was no other seating. At $160 a night it was grossly overpriced. Let me finish on a positive note however --- the location is beach front & wonderful, with a big deck to enjoy. So we will return, but not to the King Suites --- we'll stick to the regular rooms in the "newest" building. The place just seems to be screaming for better professional management. Great concept & there is obviously a demand for the location, so I wish them well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are currently doing many improvements to our facilities. Some of these include new furniture, updating the cookware, and some touch ups from the wear and tear over the high season. We hope that you come back and visit us again to enjoy the new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The water at Surfside is cleaner than Galveston's but they don't clean up the algae on the sand, all over the place. There is a tiny path on the beach, between the hotel and beach where cars with permits can pass by, which I didn't know...photos don't show that so be careful with the kids! Our room wasn't ready at 3 but around 3:30. Once we went to the room, it was clean, but a bit tight. The bed was comfortable for me but too soft for my husband. They had everything stated but even though not stated, there were no hangers and no hooks...? We're at the beach, many wet items, we need more hooks! The restaurant and waiters were just ok...I overheard one waiter mistreating a waitress. They took a long time to get the orders, to bring the food, the eggs were greasy and coffee too strong..bitter. Overall though, the weather was great for beach, the beach was awesome, quiet (even though there were many people) and at least their smoothies tasted pretty decent. I would go again but for a lower price. We paid $179 a night for the newer building (#400s)...last minute booking (of course!) for Labor Day weekend!!

Room Tip: Ask which rooms/buildings are pet-friendly in case you have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antgaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I'm glad to hear that your stay overall was good. We are adding some new things to the rooms to make our guest stay more enjoyable and relaxing. Although the beach in front of the Hotel is drivable there is no parking allowed. This gives our guest a beach all to themselves to enjoy. I hope that you can come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at the Ocean Village. The room was large and the bed was super comfy!!! We had spectacular views of the gulf from our front two windows and a great view of the jetty and beach from our private balcony. The public balconies were a relaxing place to enjoy a cup of coffee or take a stroll to the beach with just a few steps from the hotel. We always felt safe and spent each evening at the beach looking at stars or looking for crab in the surf.
The room was clean and very spacious. We did go in the off season but I didn't notice any beach rowdies or hear any noise. The staff was super friendly. The parking lot and beach were also nicely tended. Afrer reading some other reviews prior to out trip we did not eat at the restaurant. I did also bring our own water and was glad because it did taste funny in the room.
The ONLY thing that was unpleasant was completely out of the control of the hotel and that was the mosquitos. They came out for about and hour at dusk each night and they weren't kidding around. They were awful but after an hour or so and a lot of OFF they were gone. DO NOT LET THE MOSQUITOS KEEP YOU FROM ENJOYING THIS WONDERFUL HOTEL!!! If you want a relaxing, quiet and worry free trip then this is the place for you!!!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have a view of the gulf and or jetty. It is a lot of fun to watch the big ships t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moro, Illinois
Level Contributor
375 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had the Mother-of-the-Bride double Queen room. We liked to joke that the groom named the room and he didn't like his new mother-in-law very much. The room looks better online than it does in person.

My sister, a friend and I shared the room. The room wasn't much, the sink is tiny with brown water most of the time. Be prepared to use bottled water even to brush your teeth. I don't like gagging first thing in the morning, but found myself doing just that before I started using bottled water. The bathroom was pretty small. The private porch was small and only had two chairs. We used our own lawn chair when we all 3 wanted to sit on the porch together.

All that being said, it was reasonably clean and comfortable. Since there were three of us splitting the price, it wasn't too bad. We came for relaxation and the ocean and we got those so we were good.

There's a decent restaurant onsite and a Buc-ee's nearby for lunch foods and beach supplies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFreeWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was at this hotel August 27-September 1.This is the second time I have stayed here. We stayed in the 400 bldg both times.The room was clean.The beds were comfortable. We were given plenty of towels The maid service was good. I especially liked the very large common deck across the front facing the Gulf. We were able to enjoy our cofee in the morning watching dolphins and pelicans from the deck It was nice to have shade as well in heat of day, Only thing I might change is the coffee pot It was single serve. We drink a lot of coffee and would have preferred to make full pots :) I will stay here again. I live in The Woodlands and it is an easy escape to a relaxing beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400 building are newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMommaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
8.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 6 in Lake Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
10.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lake Jackson
Candlewood Suites Lake Jackson
#3 of 6 in Lake Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Property: Ocean Village Hotel
Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing