We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better coastal choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better coastal choice”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is our second time here and we were again quite pleased. The new building is nice and always clean- hard to do with tons of sand trekked in. It's a basic motel but the views are incredible. Unlike most Galveston motels, you are right on the beach. There's ramps to walk directly on the beach. You can drive on the beach too which is good and bad in my opinion. There's a ton of daytrippers and then it's really really nice when they all leave. The restaurant has great burgers but a little pricey. There's beer specials but imports are normally $3. each. Didn't make it this time but the Red Snapper restaurant is awesome-within walking distances.
The buildings are designed with a few common areas - decks etc where I enjoyed meeting fellow travelers. Rooms are very basic but the mattresses and cozy bedding were above average. There is a "lift" if you will but hardly an elevator for general use. The maids were using it to send launder/trash etc. There are ramps and stairs but if you have a mobility issue I would let the front desk know before booking. There are other buildings that might be better -keep in mind- they are all built of the ground because of coastal flooding.

Room Tip: chose odd numbers in the 400 building for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboybooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    98
    40
    14
    31
See reviews for
122
102
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the check in to the checkout we were disappointed with this hotel! The young blond woman with ponytail and long bang was totally rude and unfriendly upon checking in. We arrived at 2pm but were told 103 was already cleaned and we could move in. After unloading our dog and my elderly mother the room was not cleaned. i went back to the lobby and was told i would be called when we could get in.
An hour past and no call so we went back to check. 3 people now in office and no one knew if 103 had been cleaned, no one volunteered to get up off there chairs and go check for me. No apology's or explanation from staff. I went to check then got all my family out of car again! . It was cleaned so we moved in. The room was so small you could not walk around beds. 3 ft of wall paint was scratched off wall behind chairs. No dresser just small night stand between beds. Ancient bathroom with only pipe for a shower head! I went back to office and was told this was only pet friendly room available. . Upon checkout my husband again asked why so few pet friendly rooms and the on site manager seemed surprised that we were not originally put in their 6 plex when we booked 60 days ago. We realize we near the gulf but room had roaches and mosquitoes. No closet, only one mirror and we had 1 light bulb over the sink. The rate for this room should have been $59 a night not $159.00. Loved Surfside, but hated hotel. Young blond who cleaned room very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013trip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Its hard to think of a better spot to be when looking for a Gulf vacation. The hotel is well run and recently expanded. It is right on the beach and has its own on site restaurant, plus two other good restaurants within easy walking distance. Rooms are large with private decks, most with unobstructed views of the ocean - be aware that some look out over the parking area and restaurant deck, with the ocean view beyond. On line booking and making changes are hassle free, and the hotel was very quiet at night (mid-week stay).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aranawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Negative turned into a Positive: I called to confirm that I really did have a room (after making a reservation online) with a view of the beach and was assured all rooms have a view. Well, we checked in and our room had a view of the office in between I could see water! I went to the office to ask about changing and the staff went out of their way to find us a room with a view!! Showing us 2 others until they found us one! The only true negative was the water. I am not sure what the problem is but I don't think it is because of the hotel's pipes. Something with the city?? The room we stayed in was clean and still looked brand new. Nice decor and color scheme. The only other problem was at noon on the first day our room keys stopped working. So, had to go to the office to get it re-keyed.

Restaurant still needs some work.. Prices are to high for the quality of food for lunch or dinner, breakfast prices not so bad. Of course you are paying for convenience when you are on vacation.

Will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for odd number room they should be the ones facing the gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
368 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are so glad to see this hotel on one of our favorite beaches! All the rooms are well appointed and comfortable and they have a view of the Gulf from the windows and balcony. The end of each floor has a large porch area facing the Gulf and people can gather to talk, share a brew, or just gaze at the horizon. The on-site restaurant is adequate but needs some care to clean the table covers, wipe down condiment bottles, and sweep the floor. The biggest problem is that coffee is not available anywhere on-site until 8:30 am. A convenience store is just down the road.

Room Tip: Third floor, even numbered rooms for a really great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and go back every year on our Anniversary. Best place to get away from the kids and rekindle the fire with your spouse ;0 Quiet, fun and right on the beach!!! Walk out your room and there's the beach!!! Buy some steaks and cook them on the charcoal grill!!!! The breakfast at the restaurant (pirates Ally) is Awesome.. Best pancakes are EVER!!!! Love the staff... They are awesome everytime!!! Bar area is layed back and cool. We are loyal Ocean Villagers!!!!!

Room Tip: the 400 building is the new, more luxurious rooms. The other building are clean and nice but more la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandyst406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although the hotel was good, there were a few things that stood out on our visit. The first thing was that the website needs to be updated. It states that there are no coffee pots, hair dryers, or microwaves in the room. Ours had all three. It also stated that the cafe had free coffee. It was 1.89 per cup. (More on the cafe in a bit.) The other was the Wifi, it was non existent.

The hotel itself was very nice. Rooms were clean and nice. I would like to suggest they install hooks on the walls for you to hang your towels on as the shower rod was rusted as were the balcony railings (I'm sure from the salt air.) but I didn't want to hang our beach towels over them.
Being on the beach was great

The Pirate's Cafe, although close and convenient, was expensive for the type and quantity of food offered. They had help wanted signs up for the cafe and for the front office so the service was sparse. Definite need of an overhaul on the Cafe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
8.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 6 in Lake Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Property: Ocean Village Hotel
Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing