We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the beach!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Negative turned into a Positive: I called to confirm that I really did have a room (after making a reservation online) with a view of the beach and was assured all rooms have a view. Well, we checked in and our room had a view of the office in between I could see water! I went to the office to ask about changing and the staff went out of their way to find us a room with a view!! Showing us 2 others until they found us one! The only true negative was the water. I am not sure what the problem is but I don't think it is because of the hotel's pipes. Something with the city?? The room we stayed in was clean and still looked brand new. Nice decor and color scheme. The only other problem was at noon on the first day our room keys stopped working. So, had to go to the office to get it re-keyed.

Restaurant still needs some work.. Prices are to high for the quality of food for lunch or dinner, breakfast prices not so bad. Of course you are paying for convenience when you are on vacation.

Will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for odd number room they should be the ones facing the gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    100
    40
    14
    31
See reviews for
122
104
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
368 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are so glad to see this hotel on one of our favorite beaches! All the rooms are well appointed and comfortable and they have a view of the Gulf from the windows and balcony. The end of each floor has a large porch area facing the Gulf and people can gather to talk, share a brew, or just gaze at the horizon. The on-site restaurant is adequate but needs some care to clean the table covers, wipe down condiment bottles, and sweep the floor. The biggest problem is that coffee is not available anywhere on-site until 8:30 am. A convenience store is just down the road.

Room Tip: Third floor, even numbered rooms for a really great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and go back every year on our Anniversary. Best place to get away from the kids and rekindle the fire with your spouse ;0 Quiet, fun and right on the beach!!! Walk out your room and there's the beach!!! Buy some steaks and cook them on the charcoal grill!!!! The breakfast at the restaurant (pirates Ally) is Awesome.. Best pancakes are EVER!!!! Love the staff... They are awesome everytime!!! Bar area is layed back and cool. We are loyal Ocean Villagers!!!!!

Room Tip: the 400 building is the new, more luxurious rooms. The other building are clean and nice but more la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandyst406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although the hotel was good, there were a few things that stood out on our visit. The first thing was that the website needs to be updated. It states that there are no coffee pots, hair dryers, or microwaves in the room. Ours had all three. It also stated that the cafe had free coffee. It was 1.89 per cup. (More on the cafe in a bit.) The other was the Wifi, it was non existent.

The hotel itself was very nice. Rooms were clean and nice. I would like to suggest they install hooks on the walls for you to hang your towels on as the shower rod was rusted as were the balcony railings (I'm sure from the salt air.) but I didn't want to hang our beach towels over them.
Being on the beach was great

The Pirate's Cafe, although close and convenient, was expensive for the type and quantity of food offered. They had help wanted signs up for the cafe and for the front office so the service was sparse. Definite need of an overhaul on the Cafe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've been visiting Surfside for years. We usually get a beach house, but this much better if you hate to clean when you leave. I loved how the rooms are so secure. The beach is so easy to walk to, great balcony off rooms. Nice, cold AC in room which is much needed. We stayed Sunday night so it wasn't real crowded. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This place was just what we needed! Off the beaten path, no crowds and right on the beach. We did go during the week so don't know about the weekends. It took us minutes to walk out to the beach, which was VERY clean. One night we cooked on the charcoal grills and there was an outdoor shower to rinse off with. No swimming pool but who needs one with a close beach, we stayed out there way after dark. Our room was spotless and very modern with a private balcony. Never heard a sound from other guests. Very affordable even during the peak season. Ate once at the restaurant onsite, the food was OK but again right on the beach. This was our first visit to Surfside, usually go to Port A or Galv. Probably won't ever go to either one of those places again, this is going to be our "go to" place from now on!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our family's first time to Surfside Beach, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel staff was very nice and friendly, and the buildings were very clean. We had a room with two queen beds in the larger building that they have. The room was very clean and nice and cold. We had a balcony that overlooked the south side, so we had a great view of the beach and the lagoon and dunes next door to the hotel. It was a great way to wake up in the morning and eat breakfast.

Being just steps away from the beach was awesome. We were able to go up to our room from the beach to eat lunch, take a nap, wash off, and then stroll back to our spot on the beach. This made it very easy for our youngest daughter to not get too bored at the beach. She was able to take a break from the beach and then come back out later. The last night we spent there we stayed on the beach until close to 8 pm, and it was great to not have to lug all our gear miles away or to get into a car to go to our hotel.

The only negative, which really wasn't a negative, was the wi-fi. The few times I did try to get on the web, the wi-fi was literally slammed and the internet connection was slower than my old dial-up modem. But, since I wanted to go off the grid as much as I could, this was actually a welcome thing.

We will be going back to Surfisde Beach again, and we will probably stay at Ocean Village Hotel if we do not rent a house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveW_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
8.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 6 in Lake Jackson
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Property: Ocean Village Hotel
Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing