We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to disconnect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location is great, just a few steps away from the beach. We stayed in the new building (4). When booking a room choose a room with an odd number, those are the rooms that face the beach, even numbers face the parking lot. The hotel advertises free Wi-Fi, but there was no signal whatsoever inside the room. To get a signal we would have to go outside and walk around until we could hit a hot spot. Unfortunately that hot spot was right in front of a trash and the smell was unbearable. The staff is friendly, and I could see they put a whole lot of effort into their new building, the room was really nice. A couple of reasons why it doesn't get 5 stars from me is obviously not being able to connect through their wi-fi, and the other reason is housekeeping. The process of having the room cleaned would take forever, and overheard the cleaning ladies arguing a few times they don't seem to get along well.There was no plastic bag left behind for the ice bucket, and trash got left behind. I read reviews about mosquitoes, but I had no problem the whole time I was there. Lastly, the Pirates Cafe needs a whole lot of improvement. Food is pricey and it's not high quality. Definitely not worth $11 for 4 frozen fish sticks, and service was awful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaNFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 342 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel with reasonable rates. (Wish i would have talked to others first though as they got an even better deal.) Love that my family and I could check in and pretty much be left alone for our entire stay, only surfacing when we wanted to. Did not have our room cleaned the entire stay due to negative experiences with other locations in the past but able to get anything we asked for at any time. Breathtaking view, semi-private small decks, whole lot of Mosquitos at night but amazing. Met new friends and already thinking about an annual trip, with our new friends. So worth the nearly 900 mile drive to get here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

In all fairness I must say that we stay in the rooms that were designated pet friendly. Maybe the other ones were nicer.We were in 106 above the office for 2 nights. The room & blinds functioned properly. The A/C was cold. There was a frig and a microwave in an added nook beside the vanity. The bathroom was small but functional. We experienced no problems other than the rusty water. We had read the reviews and had water to drink and for the coffee pot. We had 2 queen beds that were OK. The sheets were well used but the towels were thick and fluffy. You don't go to the beach to watch TV but it was out for 2 days. 106 is actually on the third level. And there is no elevator. We used a booking agent and got the room for $97 per nite. They give you a bag of ice per day per room.There is a cafe there. The fish tacos were fried cod in a dry flour tortilla. The nachos were as poor. Their hamburger was large and tasty. It's just another beach hotel adjacent to the sand and beach. There are better but there are many worse. It's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PATSYandSTAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently spent our 25th Anniversary at this hotel. It was wonderful! The staff were helpful and polite. The room was well taken care of every day. The location by the beach and the views from the balcony was great! The beach was not overcrowded and it was convenient to other attractions and the area. The beds were very comfortable too. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zutt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spent a weekday night here with the family. Comfortable room with double bed, clean with a great balcony view of the Gulf. Had a late delicious carry out dinner from the Pirate's Alley...the gal who took our order was great and decided the Mrs. needed a daiquiri while we waited. Plenty of space to spread out and grill throughout property. A throwback with no frills...not cookie cutter by any means. Really relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed here. The first time they were just starting up and the people were so warm and friendly at both the hotel and Pirates Alley cafe. They just keep getting better. They have enlarged the place and made lots of great changes. It's right on the beach and most rooms have a good view. The rooms are nice and the beds are good. Super friendly staff try their darnedest to please their guests in every way possible! We will continue to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pros:
- Location is fabulous - right on the beach.
- Only a 30-45 minute drive to the Galveston seawall, depending on traffic.
- Pirate's Alley Cafe has good food and a great view. (Tip: try the pancakes and the Blackbeard wrap!)
- Compared to Galveston, the pricing is very reasonable.
- Housekeeping was very friendly and prompt in answering requests for towels etc.
- Very family-friendly, not overrun with tourists or party crowds.
Cons:
- Check-in time is 3:00, our room wasn't ready until 3:45.
- The bathroom wasn't really clean, I did a quick once-over with baby wipes and it was better. Figured out the tub was stained yellow from the water.
- We were in an older room and the smoke detector was broken, walls needed scrubbing, and chair had huge stain on cushion. Will ask for newer room next time.
- Restaurant was understaffed (our waitress was great, she just had no help).
- Tap water was disgusting - yellow, salty, and smelly. We used bottled water for drinking and brushing our teeth.
Also, the bar downstairs is beer and wine only. If you want anything stronger you'll have to brin your own.
Will we stay here again? Yes, we'll just come prepared with more water and some Clorox wipes. The location, price, and views were worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissy4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
8.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
44 reviews
14.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 8 in Lake Jackson
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
12.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Jackson
11.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 8 in Lake Jackson
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing