We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wanted to love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Hurst, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really wanted to love it!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the six-plex units 1/2 mile down the beach from the restaurant/main hotel. The location was great. We were right on the beach with fabulous front semi-shaded porch. It was a quiet family atmosphere which is what we were looking to find. Being able to bring the dog was wonderful.

The staff people we talked with were kind and helpful. It just seemed difficult to get in touch, and get a response in a timely manner. Never during the three days were we able to get help by phone for any of our concerns. We would call, get put on hold, get disconnected, so off we went to drive back to the office for help.

Disappointing...

After paying our balance at check-in we learned we were NOT to drink the water or brush teeth with the tap water. We didn't count on having to supply drinking water for our selves and the dog! Because the tap water wasn't drinkable, and there was no dishwasher or dish soap, we ended up eating picnic style with disposable everything.

Our room key didn't work and the room we were assigned had a broken window, so back 1/2 mile to the office to work that out.

There was a clump of hair on the toilet when we first arrived, adding a little "ick" factor.

The front TV of two never worked even after repeated attempts to get it fixed.

One of our group cut his foot on exposed carpet tacks between the bedroom and main hall so we left a towel over that frayed carpet for our stay.

The pull out couch (promised a Queen) was a futon and extremely lumpy and bumpy, while the bed was a solid material with no give whatsoever.

The toilet clogged the first morning. We called and waited on a plunger, but by the afternoon ended up driving up to the office to get it ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LoBo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I do apologize about the issues you had during your stay. We did discover this weekend that there is a problem with our phone system and we are working to resolve this. Unfortunately The Village of Surfside does not recommend drinking the water. We are also replacing the futon with a pull-out couch with a Serta mattress for more comfort. I hope since your stay began well you will consider giving us another try. Thank you for your helpful feedback. Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    100
    42
    14
    32
See reviews for
124
104
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great couples get-away, a hidden Gem!
We loved our stay here !
Beautiful and basic .Comfortable and not too uptown.
We went off season and it was AWESOME peaceful, clean, well managed.
Great food at local restaurants.
We are looking forward to our semi-annual return!

Room Tip: Go for the Honeymoon suite Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXnana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenberg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just got back from this hotel and for the place and location it was fantastic! We stayed in room 407- so relaxing! We had un obstructed views of the gulf. I almost hate to write this review because I want to keep it our little secret :)

The cafe on property was also very good.

Room Tip: Call and ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz_tridelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you had such a great stay! This is definitely a hidden little secret which makes it such a relaxing vacation for everyone! Hope you come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited for the first time June 6th thru June 8th. The hotel is clean, everyone is very nice! Huge thanks to Delores and the maintenance guy (can not remember his name), they were very helpful our first night visiting. The deck is awesome! Great place to just sit and relax....... that is until the mosquitos start biting. We had 4 room and they were all close to each other. 2 of them had great views while the other 2 didn't but we didn't care since we hung out on the beach a lot.
Only bad things 1.) The mosquitos are so bad all over except by the water. 2.) Color of water in hotel is yellowish.
We would stay here again though!!

Room Tip: Bring off mosquito spray and mosquito candles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tokyo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It's good to hear that you had a great time! We do spray for mosquitoes but unfortunately if it's rained recently we recommend to just bring mosquito spray just in case. The water in Surfside has a tint of yellow but we have new lines installed to minimize this. The 400 building that you stayed in along with our 300 building does have a better view from the "odd" numbered rooms but all rooms have a view and the buildings have a shared deck with a direct view that is beautiful. Hope you can come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here at the extended stay suites down the beach from the hotel last summer, and just booked a trip to come back this July. I was impressed with how nice EVERYONE who worked there was - the hospitality was that of what you'd expect from a 5-star all-inclusive resort. The room we had wasn't quite ready for us when we got there, but we did come a few hours early prior to check-in time - and we didn't mind one bit as we were quite busy taking in the scenery and checking out the rest of the area. We had thought about renting one of the several homes in the area, but after checking out the homes we "almost" rented, we were glad we stayed here instead! You can't beat the price for the beachfront properties they offer. One disappointing note, the beaches were quite dirty (mostly kelp, very little litter) - but that was NOT Ocean Village's fault. It stormed at least once everyday we were there last year, and washed in quite a bit of dead crab with the kelp (kinda stunk!) Hoping this year's weather will be more cooperative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Glad to see that you are coming back to visit us again! Hopefully the weather cooperates and you have clear skies this time. Very good news about the seaweed on the beach...Surfside invested in a scrapper so now the beach is scrapped and hardly any seaweed is left behind! Have a safe trip here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful location right on the beach !! Great decks for relaxing! Nice rooms! Nice restauraunt also available . Would definately stay again! One hour from Galveston and Houston. Lake Jackson about 30 minutes away with grocery stores and shopping .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmfdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your positive feedback. We are striving to make this a great quite getaway for everyone to come and relax. Hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Ocean Village Resort. Who could ask for a better surprise? This amazing locally-owned resort had big open decks where you could sit under a slow moving fan listening to the waves while watching the dolphins play in the surf. As the sun started to set we walk barefoot from our room across the dune walk over right down onto the beach. Where we walked along the water's edge and then took another walkover to the resort restaurant where fun wait staff served us great food on a big open deck. Our room was absolutely incredible with a view of the Gulf, great bed and an incredible bathtub. The room was so clean and the people who worked there were so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
So glad to hear that your stay was so great! Thank you for celebrating your anniversary here with us! We strive to make everyone's stay one that you will never forget! I hope you come back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Clute
42 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
8.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 6 in Lake Jackson
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Property: Ocean Village Hotel
Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing