We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good overnight stop.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Trail Dust Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sulphur Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, TX
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A very good overnight stop.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Reserved the Trail Dust Inn room online as a stopover with my wife on a road trip through northeast TX, eastern OK and western AR. Selected it based on TripAdvisor reviews. Was a little apprehensive due to it's age, but it turned out to be an excellent choice. It's very well maintained and very clean. Has good on/off access on I-30 on the east side of town. Desk staff on check-in (Lennie? Lenny?) and check-out (Kimberley – sp?) were very friendly, helpful, and professional. And there was a nice little treat on check-in... since we're Best Western Rewards members we were given a little gift bag of various goodies. It's rare that Best Westerns hotels actually do this little gesture that they're supposed to do.

We were in room 101 and it was, well, roomy. Bed was quite comfortable. Pool is very nice too.There's an on-premise lounge in one of it's buildings but we didn't check it out. Restaurant also, next door. We did use their fitness room. Very well equipped with cardio and resistance machines.

Lodging is in 6 different buildings. The only caution worth mentioning is, don't take a room on the front side of the main (front) building. It's adjacent to the interstate, and all vehicles entering and exiting will pass close by your room. Can be a bit noisy there in the evening when vehicles are coming in and again in the early morning when the early risers hit the road.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in front side of front building can be subject to vehicle noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xplorers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
50
33
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I liked every bit of this hotel, except the shower water pressure. The bed was comfortable, the towels were soft, the location is great, and they even have truck parking in two areas (front and rear of property). Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by to ask for a room and got a hearty welcome from a younger receptionist. She did everything she could to make us feel welcome and even called shortly after check in to ask if we were ok. Nice room with king bed, fridge and micro. Took a dip in the pool, nice because it was 100F outdoors. Breakfast ok. Value for money. Pleased.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningAround42195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We are moving to Sulphur Springs, so finding a hotel we can recommend to our friends who choose to stay at a hotel is important to us. This was our second stay at this hotel. The first trip a month before like many readers we had hot water issues but we did not ask any of the hotel staff. The shower controls are different then any I had ever used. However we felt that we would hold off judgment as this hotel, while older is fully remolded, the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast good and hot. I did fill out a review for the hotel with Best Western, and they replied that if anyone had hot water issues to see them right away. I did figure out the controls the second trip, so no hot water issues. On both trips the hotel staff held a room downstairs for us as my husband can not walk a lot, and we did not get in until 9pm. This is something we Really appreciate! We did not notice any amount of noise in our room, and while the fwy is very close it did not seem bad even outside. The beds are comfortable. The restaurant next door is a country, family restaurant that is open all night. Very handy if you get in late. The food is ok. Sulphur Springs for a smaller city has a lot of good restaurants in town, so if you get in early you will have a good selection.

Room Tip: Check out the hot water controls when you get in, and if you have problems ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here two nights last week. The previous reviewers are correct in that the place is an older motel, but it's very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. We had a few issues though. We never had hot water. On our first morning it was lukewarm at best, with spurts of cold water mixed in. The second morning it was almost warm, but not quite. Another issue was with the TV. The reception was terrible and unwatchable. I called the front desk and was told I could pull the TV out of the cabinet myself and tighten the wires or they would come do it for me when they got a chance. Really, Best Western? You want your guests pulling your old, giant, heavy TV's out of the cabinet and adjusting the cable themselves??
For a one night stay I would do it again, but never for two nights, especially if traveling with a companion. The bath area is extremely tight difficult for two people try to get ready at the same time.
Staff was friendly but I'd recommend only a one night stay at this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AutieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Trail Dust Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments and concerned comments. I apologize that you experienced issues with your stay with us. It is our policy to resolve any issue to our guests complete satisfaction within 30 minutes of it being reported to our front desk. It was beyond our control, but we did experience an interruption to our televison reception and gas utility due to a recent storm in East Texas, so I would like to invite you to please visit us again. We do have rooms available with larger bathrooms, just ask for a leisure suite or a 2 room suite when you check in. You will find those rooms to be more spacious overall. We appreciate your staying with us, and for taking the time to complete a survey and share your experience. We hope that you will try our hotel again soon and have a perfect stay. Also you can enjoy our new flat screen televisions that are scheduled to be installed shortly. We really do care and always strive for you to love your stay at our hotel.

Jennifer Allison
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

It was quiet; and I was facing the freeway. That's important to me.

Although it looks like an older place
I was generally pleased by how clean and nice the rooms are.

Good Value!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todolist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We originally had reservations at the Days Inn directly across the highway. It is a nasty dirty hotel and after trying 3 different rooms we left. Thank goodness this Best Western was nearby. It is extremely clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and breakfast was a delightful surprise. Great value and will stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nascargirl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulphur Springs
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur Springs
Hampton Inn Sulphur Springs
#1 of 9 in Sulphur Springs
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sulphur Springs
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sulphur Springs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#3 of 9 in Sulphur Springs
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 9 in Sulphur Springs
7 reviews
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Emory at Lake Fork Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sulphur Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Trail Dust Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Trail Dust Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Trail Dust Inn & Suites
Address: 1521 Shannon Rd E, I-30 East, Exit # 127, Sulphur Springs, TX 75482-3025 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Trail Dust Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Trail Dust Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy small town Texas charm and excellent customer care at this Western themed Sulphur Springs hotel. The BEST WESTERN Trail Dust Inn & Suites in Sulphur Springs, Texas offers comfort, convenience and exceptional value for business and leisure travelers. Visitors flock to the area for exceptional fishing at nearby East Texas lakes including Lake Fork Reservoir, known as the Bass Capital of Texas. Canton Outdoor Marketplace is another area attraction only about a half hour's drive from our hotel and is one of the largest flea markets in the country! Hotel guests will also enjoy shopping in the local factory outlet stores and antique stores nearby. Stay in a well-appointed guest room or unique suite equipped with wireless high-speed Internet and cable satellite television. Enjoy a free breakfast buffet including a variety of hot items and especially our fresh hot Texas shaped waffles, before heading out to enjoy the area. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility, conference rooms and business services. Hotel guests may take advantage of the barbeque grills and picnic table for a relaxed outdoor meal or unwind in the Sundance Bar located on the premises. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Trail Dust Inn & Suites may also enjoy visiting local museums and parks such as the Hopkins County Dairy Museum and Heritage Park or Cooper Lake State Park. The hotel is conveniently located near several corporate locations including Morningstar Foods, Bob Evans Farms and the Grocery Supply Company.Make an online reservation today and save at this Best Western hotel in Sulphur Springs, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Trail Dust Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sulphur Springs
Sulphur Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing