We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still (Spring 2012) outdated rooms & bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sugar Land
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nothing has changed about the rooms in this hotel in 8 years....I have checked out this hotel at least once a year or every two years since my first stay in 2004. Because my company has an office literally within walking distance of this hotel....
Its now Spring 2012 8 years later and its still awfully outdated, and more like a low budget hotel. The outside building appears updated, but IT IS NOT.

Go just 2miles away to the Beautiful Staybridge Suites BRAND NEW and still apart of the ICHOtels group.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownEyes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsugarland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Our rooms were last renovated in 2010 and our bathrooms were last renovated in 2008. We have made many great upgrades to our property, which include granite counter tops and floors in our bathrooms and 40 in LCD tvs, new carpet, triple sheet bedding, and many other great additions in our rooms. We do appreciate your sharing your thoughts with us and hope to see you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Thank you Holiday Inn Express, Sugar Land for your warm welcome and exceptional service. The pancakes were great too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsugarland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got to utilize the pancake machine. It is a great addition to our complimentary hot deluxe breakfast bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This location was awesome for our event. We have a softball team, so had some special needs, and Cheryl Williams did an awesome job accomodating us. In fact, we have decided as a team to stay at Holiday Inn Express for the rest of the summer at various locations around Texas!!! We especially like the free breakfast in the mornings!

Thanks again!
Mike Blackwell

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsugarland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

We can’t thank you enough for your kind words and support especially about one of our team member, Cheryl. We are delighted that your experience here was so impressive, and that is what we strive for every day. We love to accommodate teams, and our complimentary, hot breakfast is always a convenience and a highlight for them. We’ll be looking forward to seeing you again when you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My guests, colleagues & I stayed recently two nights (02/29-03/02). We all agreed that we found the staff quite helpful, kind and competent. However, for as wonderful as each one of the staff is, the rooms themselves are equally old, dank, smelly (mine was apparently a smoking room for a number of years before its conversion to a non-smoking room). This is an OLD, OLD building w/ very loud air conditioners, older linens and old finishes.

The location is very helpful, though. Quite close to many eateries and to an Enterprise-Rent-a-Car location.

While the price is lower, I've come to expect A LOT more from Holiday Inn Express. If you choose to stay here, bring a dehumidifier and an ozone machine w/ you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsugarland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We do work our hardest to make sure our guests have the best possible experience and rooms, and we need feedback like yours in order to help provide such an experience. There is always room for improvement and we invariably find it. We are also very proud of the hotel’s location in proximity to sites in Sugar Land that our guests need, and we are delighted that you benefited from that. We hope to see you give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I travel fairly often and have stayed in many family friendly affordable hotels. This was one of the worst stays ever. The ONLY redeming factor were the nice staff who tried to be accomodating in a losing situation. You can not run a hotel with no cold water ( meaning burning showers and a steaming sink) on and off for three days, broken ice machines on 2 of the 3 floors we tried, and no water in the vending machines we tried (on 2 floors). The beds are concave, the rooms can use more outlets to accomodate the year 2012. And at breakfsat the half and half had curdled, and the only fruit (bananas) were too brown to eat. One of the 2 treadmills were broken in the fitness center as well. Sorry to tell it like it is but these are the facts. Not at all what we expected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsugarland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please know that your comments are taken seriously and are in the process of being corrected. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Issues do arise and we always try our best to resolve them in a timely manner. We hope that you will consider giving us a try when you are back in the area and allow us the chance to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel, checked in at 9pm and checked out and 9am the following day. We didn't stay long but the hotel was perfectly fine. I had a King Suite and there was lots of room and the bed was comfortable. The First Colony Mall in Sugar Land was a 10 minute drive, and many restaurants were within a quick drive. If you don't have a car you might find it difficult to get around.
I had a quick breakfast in the morning before checking out for my afternoon flight. The price was right, the location was fine, and the hotel was nice. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsugarland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you so much for your insightful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We take pride in our service and the value we offer. It means a lot to us to be recognized for it. Thanks for "sweetening" up our day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is convenient to everything on the HWY 59 corridor as well as the First Colony area. It is clean, quiet and comfortable. Enterprise Rent a car is near if you need a car.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equal, but I have only stayed there 3 or 4 times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForestGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsugarland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank for for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our remote location was very convenient for you. We look forward to your next stay with us. Your nice, clean, and comfortable room will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sugar Land hotels
1.9 mi away
Sugar Land Marriott Town Square
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston / Sugar Land
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Sugarland Inn
Best Western Sugarland Inn
#3 of 9 in Sugar Land
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Sugar Land
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Houston Sugar Land/Lake Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land

Address: 14444 Southwest Freeway, Sugar Land, TX 77478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Sugar Land
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sugar Land
Price Range: $110 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sugar Land offers convenience to Hwy. 59 (Southwest Freeway). We are just 30 minutes from downtown Houston. Each morning guests can enjoy our complimentary Express Start breakfast, now serving hot breakfast every day. Don t forget our delicious fresh warm cinnamon rolls, our special Smart Roast coffee and many more choices that will satisfy any guest's hunger. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sugar Land is centrally located to Schlumberger, Fluor Daniel, Texas Instruments, Imperial Sugar, Nalco, Polly Ryon Memorial Hospital, and Sugar Land Medical Center. We offer free Wi-Fi, business center and local phone calls to all of our guests. We are an alternative to Houston hotels. We are 30 minutes from the NRG Stadium, Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, the Museum District, the Galleria and George R. Brown Convention Center, and the world's largest church Lakewood. There's golfing at Greatwood Country Club. Just two miles from First Colony Mall and Sugar Land Town Square Center. Whether you re in Sugar Land or Houston for business or pleasure The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sugar Land is your home away from home. We're looking forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land Hotel Sugar Land
Holiday Inn Sugar Land
Sugar Land Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing