We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a new surprise!”
Review of Rose Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonewall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Stonewall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After numerous visits over the years, I finally stayed in Patty and Bob's old digs...the Downstairs Carriage House. This room may now be my first choice after years of the Sunrise Suite, Sunset Suite, and Oak Grove <3 The quiet, the spaciousness, candle-light fireplace, and the best bathroom on the grounds! If I desired a view, I just walked across to the front porch (which is the best) or went to enjoy the herb garden. New items on the dinner menu were wonderful and had a new bottle of fabulous chardonnay (Patty's recommendation). Beautiful moon this trip, too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissionTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Rose Hill Manor again and again -- That is the best compliment of all! We love to hear of our guests finding a "new favorite" as you commented so delightfully.
Patti and Bob, and the staff appreciate your wonderful words, and we will look forward to your
next visit! Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 228 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Owning a B&B which offers cooking classes, I always look for good food when choosing other establishments. I was not disappointed at Rose Hill Manor! I would highly recommend this for those of you who really enjoy delicious and interesting food.....top notch wine menu and bar, relaxing dining atmosphere and attentive staff. We were going to have the prix fixe dinner but my sister was not feeling well. The staff was very accommodating and allowed us to opt instead for a casual meal in our room and a good movie in bed. The Artisan pizza, BBQ sandwhich and Creme Brulee were knock outs! As for the room, it couldn't have been more comfortable and inviting. The fact that I (while my sister rested) could walk to Perdenales Winery next door and have a yummy tasting just added to the entire experience. I came home with several of their bottles!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We're so glad you chose to stay with us and hope you will have the opportunity to come visit
again! As a B & B owner yourself, it's so great to have your comments from that perspective.
Thank you so much for all your kind words and taking the time to write. Please know that Patti
and Bob, and all the staff of Rose Hill Manor appreciate it so much. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit!

Very best wishes,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The service was great, the breakfast was phenomenal and plentiful. It's a nice quiet back in the country hills B&B. Very Quiet, and now a winery has moved next door you can walk to for a wine tasting. My wife was planning on taking her mother until something came up and I decided to take her place. I'm glad I did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments! We're very glad you came as well and enjoyed the
peace and quiet we value too. Patti and Bob, and all the Rose Hill Manor staff appreciate
hearing from our guests, and we hope you will return again soon -- and your Mother-In-Law
will get another chance also! Thanks again.

Best wishes,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We did not have good weather, so we did not get to sit on the deck, sip wine and watch the sunset as we hoped. Nevertheless, the cottage in which we stay was warm, cozy and inviting. The decor was very nice. The bed and pillow very top of the line. The guest robes the finest quality. The view was sweeping, and even though rainy and old we watch five deer running across the front forty through the bountiful front windows. The breakfast was upscale, freshly prepared upon your arrival at the breakfast room, and excellent. You are given several choices for each of the three courses. We would stay there again. There is a vineyard right next door. You get a complimentary tasting.

Room Tip: We stayed in Magnolia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gma51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

We're so glad you stayed with us and thank you so much for your kind words! January weather in Texas can be very hard to plan for, but it's great to hear that you still had such a good visit. We feel so fortunate to be able to share the views and wildlife at Rose Hill Manor with our guests! Patti and Bob, and all the staff, appreciate hearing from you. We hope you will have the opportunity to come stay with us again -- in all seasons!

Thanks again,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Rose Hill Manor (Hilltop Cottage) for our 11th wedding anniversary and it was a wonderful experience. The room was spotlessly clean, very well furnished and comfortable. The dining experience was out of this world and we looked forward to every meal. We would absolutely stay here again. The staff was very warm and courteous and bent over backwards to ensure were happy and comfortable. A first class establishment!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Happy New Year! -- And thank you so much taking the time to write! We appreciate that you chose Rose Hill Manor for your anniversary and it is always great to hear that your stay with us was special. Please know that Patti and Bob, and all the staff,are so grateful for your wonderful
compliments. We hope you will return soon, and often!

Very best wishes,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Rose Hill Manor and we love the place. The Sunrise and/or Sunset Suites in the Main House share the huge front balcony porch upstairs and have an unbelievable view of the Pedernales Valley and surrounding property. The Library Loft (upstairs of the Carriage House) is a very spacious suite which also has a Jacuzzi Tub and is a great suite to have. Great place to stay in the Fredericksburg/Johnson City area of the Hill Country for celebrating any occasion or no occasion.

Room Tip: Suites in the Main House & the Library Loft are only ones we have experienced & they are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

The most wonderful compliment of all is to have our guests return again and again as you have,
and we thank you so much! We too appreciate the beauty of the Texas Hill Country, and enjoy sharing the views from Rose Hill Manor. Patti and Bob, and all the staff look forward to your
next visit with us. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely, comfortable rooms. The huge porch is the greatest place to sit and read or sip a glass of wine. A well appointed bar and great kitchen. We had dinner on Sunday night, which was truly a gourmet experience and the breakfast was so pleasant as there are choices, if you don't care for an egg dish. Within walking distance of Perdenales Cellars, which is a fun winery to visit. This was our first stay but the second time we had dinner there. The staff is very personable and go out of their way to be of assistance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meeoow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We appreciate your comments and thank you very much! It is always so nice to hear the things that were special to our guests during their stay. We certainly agree that the Pedernales Cellars
Winery is a fun place to visit and they are great next-door neighbors! Please come see us again
when the opportunity arises. Very best wishes to you from Patti and Bob, and all the Rose Hill
Manor staff!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonewall
13.5 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
464 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vineyard Trail Cottages
Vineyard Trail Cottages
#5 of 29 in Fredericksburg
25 reviews
5.6 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#13 of 82 in Fredericksburg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Manor

Address: 2614 Upper Albert Rd, Stonewall, TX 78671-3720
Location: United States > Texas > Stonewall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stonewall
Price Range: $155 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Manor - The only AAA Four Diamond and Select Registry property in the Fredericksburg, Texas area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Manor Hotel Stonewall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing