We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Porch”
Review of Rose Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonewall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Stonewall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely, comfortable rooms. The huge porch is the greatest place to sit and read or sip a glass of wine. A well appointed bar and great kitchen. We had dinner on Sunday night, which was truly a gourmet experience and the breakfast was so pleasant as there are choices, if you don't care for an egg dish. Within walking distance of Perdenales Cellars, which is a fun winery to visit. This was our first stay but the second time we had dinner there. The staff is very personable and go out of their way to be of assistance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meeoow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We appreciate your comments and thank you very much! It is always so nice to hear the things that were special to our guests during their stay. We certainly agree that the Pedernales Cellars
Winery is a fun place to visit and they are great next-door neighbors! Please come see us again
when the opportunity arises. Very best wishes to you from Patti and Bob, and all the Rose Hill
Manor staff!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 228 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Upon our most recent trip to Fredericksburg, TX, my husband and I decided to stay at this Select Registry bed and breakfast just outside of Fredericksburg. We had previously stayed at Select Registry bed and breakfasts and thought this would be some assurance of an excellent stay. We were right! We loved this inn. It is situated at the end of a long driveway where it sits on top of a hill with picturesque views from the rooms and the porches. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. I am very picky, so, when I say it was clean, it should hold up to anyone's standards. The sheets on the bed were so comfortable that I plan to buy a set for our bed at home. I believe the inn is about fifteen years old. With that being said, it is obvious that the decor was done at that time and is a little dated. This would normally distract me from enjoying my stay, but not in this case. I must say it just seemed to go with the atmosphere.
The three course breakfast is quite tasty and you are given a choice of three entrees. We tried two of the three and both were very good. We also had an excellent gourmet four course dinner with wine pairings. This was the perfect end to a wonderful day. We had a very relaxing time and came home already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trustyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We are so pleased that you found us through Select Registry! Our goal is always to see that our guests are well fed and rest well, and we're so glad that this was your experience. Thank you
so much for writing. Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated by Patti and Bob, and all
the Rose Hill Manor staff. It's great to know that you are planning a return trip to stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Dianne Smith, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our second trip to Rose Hill Manor, to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. Rose Hill is spotless, cozy, comfortable, and first class without being full-of-itself. This is the place to be to get away from noise, traffic, crowds, and just . . . breathe. The accomodations are comfy, not ornate; the food has plenty of gourmet taste without any pretension; everything is designed to relax you into a state of "Aahhhhhhh". We didn't want to leave. Ever.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotless, comfortable, and have their own personality. We have had a room in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hsm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing Rose Hill Manor for your very special 5th anniversary! We know how hard it can be to get away and sometimes when you do, it's being able to relax that can be the hardest. We are truly pleased to have been a part of your occasion and appreciate your
kind words. Patti and Bob, and all the staff of Rose Hill Manor wish you many, many years of
happiness and hope you will have the opportunity to come see us again!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

GREAT place for romantic get away. Porch at main house is great place to relax and play the multitude of games they have available. Staff was outstanding and honored a special request for an anniversary dinner. We stayed two nights in a cottage and one night in the main house where we had access to upper balcony which we enjoyed. Breakfast was outstanding (Eggs Benedict) and dinner on Sunday night was superb. They have lots of movies and books you can watch or read. Overall grounds were immaculate. Located within an easy drive of Austin and Fredricksburg.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the main house with access to the porch, you will thoroughly enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry and Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful detailed comments! We are delighted to hear how
much you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. Your kind words mean a lot to Patti and Bob, and all the staff of Rose Hill Manor, and we hope you will come see us again!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want a quiet get-a-way that's close to Austin and San Antonio, then I recommend the Rose Hill Manor B&B in the beautiful Texas Hill Country. The hosts are so pleasant and helpful in choosing the perfect room or cottage. It's quiet. It's tranquil. It's the perfect setting! It's also fine dining with excellent quality food for breakfast and dinner. My husband and I selected a three night package with a four course dinner. We were not disappointed! We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: A cottage room in quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveler259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you very much! It is certainly one of our greatest pleasures to hear our guests
had such a nice getaway with us. So glad you were able to take advantage of our
special three night package too. We certainly hope you will have the opportunity to
come and see us again! Very best wishes to you from Patti and Bob, and all the staff of
Rose Hill Manor.

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from our time at Rose Hill Manor and just can't stop talking about it (and Fredericksburg). Breathtaking, novel, relaxing, cozy, immaculate and delicious are the words that come to mind when thinking of Rose Hill. Part of me would like to be selfish & not even write this review (I don't want it to become even more popular so that we aren't able to get a room next time, lol) but it really deserves one, ha. From the amazing breakfast to the views, to the neighboring lamas (yes, lamas!) to the resident family beagle - loved her! Not to mention the awesome library in our room, the huge jacuzzi tub... and of course the wine selection and hospitality. This place was just what we had hoped for - and we'll be back! A few things I would mention to make it even better: I would love to have met the owner at least once during my stay, it would have been even better to not have to select the breakfast option the night before, sometimes during breakfast I had a view of the parking lot - would suggest moving that further around back of the building. But truly, in comparison to everything else, that's just being totally picky and in no way would keep us from returning. Thank you again for the memories :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessicah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We thank you so much for your wonderful photographs and glowing comments! Your thoughtful notes are very much appreciated (Knowing that you wrestled with the idea of keeping us a secret, your writing is an especially terrific compliment!). I am sorry that you didn't cross paths with Patti and Bob, but sure sounds like Samantha Beagle gave you her take on Rose Hill Manor?!?!?! Please know we are very grateful for your letter. On behalf of Patti and Bob, and all the Rose Hill Manor staff we wish you the very best, and hope you will come back and stay with us again before too long.

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having been to Sonoma, The Texas Hill Country is getting close. Rose Hill is a class act and next to a winery.How convenient. Their wine pairing is spot on and the food plentiful and delicious. Thanks to all who made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karentcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatewoman, General Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for the lovely compliments! We are grateful every day to be in the beautiful
Texas Hill Country, which does have similarities to Sonoma California as you say. It was our
pleasure to have you as our guests and hope you will come see us again! Best wishes to you from Patti and Bob, and all the staff of Rose Hill Manor.


Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonewall
13.5 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
457 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vineyard Trail Cottages
Vineyard Trail Cottages
#7 of 29 in Fredericksburg
24 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 82 in Fredericksburg
105 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Manor

Address: 2614 Upper Albert Rd, Stonewall, TX 78671-3720
Location: United States > Texas > Stonewall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stonewall
Price Range: $155 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Manor - The only AAA Four Diamond and Select Registry property in the Fredericksburg, Texas area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Manor Hotel Stonewall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing