We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite "go to" eateries!”
Review of Stonewall Diner

Stonewall Diner
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Stonewall
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fredericksburg, Texas
1 review
“One of my favorite "go to" eateries!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Fredericksburg, this little diner has surprisingly good food. My grandsons loved the breakfast tacos, and I think the hamburgers are some of the best I've ever had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank canbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Hidden but Good Food”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Don’t be fooled by the outward appearance of this restaurant at the rear of the Chevron Gas station. This is by far the best restaurant in Stonewall. Friday evenings is the catfish buffet and is very popular with the locals. Sometimes hard to get a seat. And the breakfast is traditional or Tex-Mex. Never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXRVer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stonewall Diner”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Super little diner, just what you want out of a diner, good home-cooked food that tastes fresh! Lots of variety on the menu, good prices. Will definitely go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mico, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go eat across the road!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The place has pretty decent reviews and when you get there you find it is the back of a dirty service station. The cat fish all you can eat special had nasty looking sides so my wife and I split a couple of "Angus all beef 1/4 pound hot dogs and fries". The dogs were cold and the chili topping right out of a can and the fries were also cold. No condiments or silverware... we finally were able to get a couple packs of mustard and a knife to cut the dogs. Eat across the road at Lindigs Cafe which is far more sanitary and the food one heck of a lot better!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

In the back of the convenience store is a great little "locals" diner... good burgers and Friday catfish dinner. Also, a great chicken salad sandwich. It's a favorite friendly locals spot. Good service and prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Diner also viewed

 

Been to Stonewall Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing