We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience”
Review of Pedernales Cellars

Pedernales Cellars
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Stonewall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pedernales Cellars - the quintessential Texas boutique winery. Featuring award-winning wines, tours of the largest underground barrel cellar in Texas, and breathtaking views of the Hill Country from the patio.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped by on our way to a stay in Fredericksburg and what a nice diversion it was. The young woman conducting the tasting was such a joy. You could tell that she really loves her work and was very knowledgeable about wine in general and their wines in particular. After a delightful experience with her we went on a tour of the in ground wine brewery. I learned so much from this, terms I've heard, like "oaked wines" now make sense to me. It was a wonderful experience!

Thank Ggauntann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you very much for going out of your way to visit us. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Fredericksburg, and please do visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"glass of wine"
in 24 reviews
"beautiful view"
in 13 reviews
"rose hill manor"
in 11 reviews
"tasting room"
in 29 reviews
"hill country"
in 26 reviews
"the reserve"
in 10 reviews
"large deck"
in 4 reviews
"wine club"
in 14 reviews
"lovely patio"
in 3 reviews
"award winning wines"
in 3 reviews
"texas wines"
in 11 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 6 reviews
"private tasting"
in 6 reviews
"live music"
in 11 reviews
"b b"
in 7 reviews
"off the beaten path"
in 5 reviews
"great winery"
in 7 reviews
Filter

220 - 224 of 251 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

A host at another winery suggested we visit Pedernales Cellars for an award-winning wine. Their advertisements highlight the scenery, which is indeed beautiful. They were the only winery to include nine tastes, but they were VERY small tastes--hardly enough to get a good idea of the wine. I was disappointed that our host seemed to know absolutely nothing about the wines she was sharing with us. I am certainly not someone intelligent enough to ask difficult questions, but she knew nothing (example: she couldn't explain why their tempranillo wines all tasted so different). For most people (like the ones in the limo tours, on stop #14), this probably wouldn't matter. But for us it was a disappointment.

Thank rvphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for visiting Pedernales Cellars. I wanted to respond to the question that you mentioned in your review. Our tempranillos taste differently because they are sourced from different vineyards and/or handled differently in the cellar. For example, the Texas Hill Country Tempranillo is sourced entirely from the Texas Hill Country, where we get stronger spice flavors than we do from fruit from the high plains. Another example is the Texas Tempranillo Reserve, which has richer, heavier flavors in part because it is aged longer, and in part because it is blended with a small amount of Touriga Nacional, a grape varietal traditionally used in Port. I do hope you will consider returning to enjoy the view and wines again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The winery is very beautiful on a hill in Fredricksburg Tx. The people working there are very friendly and helpful. The wine is outstanding! Outdoor seating for those who want to linger with live music!

Thank ChrisAustin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your visit. We are glad you had an enjoyable time, and look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place is set on top of a hill overlooking the hill country. The patio is big with lots of tables, chairs, and a lounging area perfect for relaxing with friends over some good wine. The staff was very nice and welcoming and were good company. There was live music playing outside while we grazed through delicious dark chocolate from the gift area and drank our wine. Of the 5 places we stopped at on our wine trail, this place had the best scenery. I highly recommend it, especially if the weather is great!

Thank TracyD571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. The pictures you took are lovely. Please do come back and enjoy the view and wine again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the third stop on our Saturday wine tour and it was definitely the best. Since we had a large group (15 people) we had our tasting in a private room. There was a great selection, and our host was very knowledgeable. She was very down to earth and could explain things to the wine experts in our group as well as the novices. The wine was excellent by my favorite part was relaxing on the patio. The huge shade tree, the breeze, the beautiful views, the delicious wine - it was really an enjoyable afternoon. I can't wait to return!

Thank MLE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We try to give people a slice of the good life while they are here, so your review really warmed my heart. Please do come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedernales Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Pedernales Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing