We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stop in the wine country with a scenic view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedernales Cellars

Pedernales Cellars
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Stonewall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pedernales Cellars - the quintessential Texas boutique winery. Featuring award-winning wines, tours of the largest underground barrel cellar in Texas, and breathtaking views of the Hill Country from the patio.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stop in the wine country with a scenic view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed a very nice glass of wine here while we sat on the swinging bench overlooking a panoramic vista of the area. We did not do a tasting here as we had already tasted several wines in Driftwood. I enjoyed my glass of dry rose very much.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhLolaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    57
    19
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rose Hill Manor provided us with a voucher for a free wine tasting which we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff was very accommodating of our requests.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barry and Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed stay in the Texas Hill Country. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to spend rainy afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Having never visited a winery before, Dora was so helpful, kind, informative, and went above and beyond to make sure our 82 yr old Mom enjoyed herself and was comfortable. Wine and tour were great, will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love, love, love this place! The wine is delicious and very moderately priced, the staff is warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable, and the view! The view from the deck is breathtaking hill country. My favorite part of the Fredericksburg winery tours is stopping at Pedernales Cellars and drinking a bottle of wine on their deck. If you're in the area, you MUST go.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank prettynpink0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expanded but still quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We hadn't been to Pedernales Cellars in a couple years, but we enjoyed it quite a bit the last time. Wow! They have grown! The tasting room and entrance have been stepped up and they really are going for the larger scale winery image in Fredericksburg area. We went on a Saturday but fairly early so it wasn't packed yet. We got right to the tasting bar and didn't have to wait at all before a pourer greeted us. She was very courteous, knowledgeable, and smiling like she liked her job! We didn't stay there for a glass, but the patio area outside was very nice and would be a fine place to kick your boots up for a while. We did buy wine though, lots. We were so relieved that this once relatively small winery has continued to produce some excellent wine. They specialize in tempranillo, but I'm not a huge drinker of that...very good though. The GSM red blend was great. Both the white blend and the viognier hit the mark, and on a hot August day, their dry Rose' is a must. Done somewhat in the Provencal style (dry and low alcohol), it has a bit more fruit that lingers. Delicious when it was 97 degrees out there! Their bottle prices are a touch higher than some other wineries in the area, but overall they have done a better job in crafting some nice Texas wines. A must-go winery in hill country!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GPappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Owner at Pedernales Cellars, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for coming back to visit us again. You came just in time to enjoy the tasting room expansion finished this spring. We are growing, and at the same time we want to keep close to our roots as a family owned and operated winery. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedernales Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Pedernales Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing