We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Elevator”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

stayed here during the week. elevator was down due to lighting strike previous week. the staff accommodated by manually operating it when you requested. room was clean and comfortable. breakfast was good and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gptex2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
14
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Upon check-in, I was handed keys to our 4TH FLOOR room, and THEN escorted to the STILL BROKEN ELEVATOR (see previous review from nohatein08) by an employee. For the record, whoever told the previous reviewer it takes 5 hours to get a repair person from Abilene does not own a map. Employee said elevator had been broken for a week and a half and they were still waiting for someone to repair it. Our room was decently clean, but had poor patchwork from previous leaks in the ceiling. My daughter immediately wanted to check out the pool. That venture lasted about 45 seconds after we saw the amount of bugs sharing the pool. It appeared that it had not been cleaned in several days. Since the elevator was broken, we are able bodied, and didn't want to track someone down every time we wanted to go to and from our room, we got quite acquainted with the stairwell. The stairwell was dirty and there were so many paint patches in a different color than the original paint it looked like a crime scene. 4th floor hallway smelled like BO and the 3rd floor smelled like smoke. When we went to grab a small breakfast the next morning, I watched another lady poor milk into her cereal and she said "Ugh - this milk is chunky!" Yes, it resembled cottage cheese. The ONLY reason this review gets two stars is the staff was very friendly and courteous and the issues this hotel has no reflection on them. Management and ownership need to get it together and get this place updated as it is the newest hotel in Stephenville.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millerlite932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General H, AGM at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to the high standards we hold ourselves to. We are trying very hard to get the elevators repaired, we were not aware of the extent of the damage that we received from the lightning that hit the hotel. We would like for you to give us a another chance to show that we are always trying to improve. Thank you for letting us know about your stay, and again we are sorry that your stay was not to your liking.

Sincerely,

Tanner Jenkins
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

When we checked in, we were told that the hotel had been struck by lightning the night before and the elevators were out... and here are your keys for rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors. "Don't worry," they said, "it will be fixed in the morning and we can manually operate the elevator for you" As our stay went on, the elevator did not get fixed, not the next morning as promised, not the next afternoon, as promised, not even after "the elevator repair guys are driving in from Abilene and it takes them 5 hours but when they get here it will be fixed." True, if you happened to catch the right employee with the elevator key, you could get a lift. But who has time to chase that guy down? And while I'm physically able to walk the stairs, it's obviously a pain for those with luggage, older guests, and those staying by the stair doors which bang loudly every time someone wants to go for a smoke. A simple note from hotel management, with a number to call for elevator assistance would have been great, but probably too logical.

Beyond the elevator debacle (which I don't really blame the hotel for, just the way it was handled and how information was shared), there was a fire alarm dangling by wires in one room, a wobbly door lock that could have been busted open by a determined toddler, and check out complications.

Would I stay here again? I'll be honest. There are not a lot of options in Stephenville. This could be the best choice, but that doesn't mean there isn't room for improvement.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nohatein08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear nohatein08,

Thank you for staying and taking time to post your honest review. I regret to hear that we have fallen short on setting proper expectations about the estimated time of repair for our elevators. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I have shared your comments with our hotel management for the purpose of bringing improvement on our service to avoid the same situation from happening in the future.

I hope you give us a chance to host you again in the future and give you the best hotel experience that you can have.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice people, quiet and clean! Had a little problem finding it because I was not familiar with area. Called hotel and gentleman at the desk gave me turn by turn directions to get there.. Only disappointment was not given the usual bottle of water and snack at check in.

Room Tip: Back side is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Check-in was friendly and efficient, although one of the room key cards didn't work. The room was clean and in good condition, except for some persistent mold in the silicone seal on the bathtub rim. The standard HI Express breakfast was well-delivered.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear David G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding our rooms clean and good condition and breakfast well delivered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustine, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself had a weekend full of refreshing events planned this past weekend which turned out great. Our original place turned us away at the last minute so we needed to find a place to stay that night. I pulled out my phone and found this hotel. My first initial thought was the prices was a tad rich for my blood. However here is our likes and dislikes of our stay.

Liked:
The room was extremely clean and the A/C was set to a very comfortable temperature (only changed it once).
The Fridge was already ice cold which was an excellent chance from normal hotel rooms (usually aren't even on).
The restroom was also well lit and extremely clean. We also really enjoyed the shower and the shower head was very relaxing.

Dislikes:
The bed didn't seem to have an actual comforter which was a bit odd. The bed however does have a few sheets which one was a lot heavier than the rest. Although my girlfriend is a bit cold in natured so she didn't like that. She also suffers from Migraine headaches which leads to our next issue.
The heavy curtains don't close over the window. They seem just for show and the lighter see thru curtains are the only ones that actually shut over the window allowing a LOT of light into the room. I asked for a second "Blanket" which again was extremely light. I threw it over the curtain rail to cover the light (which worked well enough). However even with the blanket over the window I found it extremely hard to stay asleep with the amount of light shining through.
For the price of admission I would have thought there would be "actual" hand soap and body wash. However it was just the cheap run of the mill soaps which made our skin extremely dry and icky.
The Internet wasn't working at all during our stay which was a huge let down. I never really care much for hotel television and usually refer to my iPad for visual entertainment. We weren't the only person to complain about it but the front desk employee was very courteous and apologized.

We didn't really use the microwave or television. Nor did we attend breakfast or the pool since the weather was so bad. Ultimately I give this a 3/5 because of all of this. If I had received some sort of discount I would have easily knocked it up to a 4 but like I said I already prepaid online.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you liked the level of cleanliness in our rooms. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we failed to meet your expectations with regard to the quality of bedding, bathroom amenities and internet connection. I am sorry about the problem you encountered with window curtains. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. The breakfast was good as well and I will be staying there again. The location is good as well. They even gave me free bottle water which I thought was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjkaye55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephenville
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stephenville
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stephenville
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Stephenville
Super 8 Stephenville
#5 of 10 in Stephenville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Stephenville
31 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hico Hills Inn
Hico Hills Inn
#2 of 2 in Hico
5 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Stephenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville
Address: 121 S Lockhart Rd, Stephenville, TX 76401-3761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Stephenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stephenville, TX is located in the 'Cowboy Capital of the World'. Ideally located off Hwy 377 South, our hotel is just 2 miles from Tarleton State University & minutes from Cross Timbers Country Opry & City Limits, the largest private Country & Western club in the state.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, our hotel will make you feel right at home with our Texas Hospitality. Our Stephenville hotel's convenient location provides easy access to a number of recreational activities. Stroll downtown to Cowboy Capital Walk of Fame & Heritage Square or shoot over to Lone Star Arena, home of the US Calf Roping National Finals, rodeo events & barrel racing. A short drive away is Dinosaur Valley State Park, & Dr. Pepper Bottling Co & Museum. Business travelers will appreciate that we keep you connected with our free wired & wireless high-speed Internet access as well as copy & fax services in the 24-hr business center.Nearby corporate offices include St. Gobain Abrasives, FMC Technologies, Outlaw Conversions, Caporal Industries & Rayloc.During your stay here, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities including relaxing in outdoor pool, working out in our well-equipped fitness center, keeping caught up on laundry in our on-site guest laundry facilities & enjoying a complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar featuring our delicious cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Stephenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing