We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice sports bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barrel and Brew - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barrel and Brew
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice sports bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you want to hang out a cool place and chill with some pretty decent food and good beer this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Its a fun place where to go spend time with friends and watch some sport. Its real nice outside also, with a nice view of Houston

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LaDaniFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Terible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been going to Sam's Boat pretty much once a week and sometimes more to watch sporting events and have a beer and burger but after this last visit, I will be going elsewhere . Our watress on Saturday night, July 7th was Raquel, a petite black girl. Although friendly, her service was the worse ever. My friend and I ordered a pitcher of beer, burger, and chicken fingers. We got the food before the beer. It was busy but no excuse, we were ten feet from the bar. When she finally brought the beer she forgot the glasses. After asking her twice, we finally went to the bar and got our own glasses. My friend had ordered his burger with onion rings which she stated was an extra .95 cents. She forgot the onion rings and brought fries, after 15 min. and telling her about it twice she finally brought the onion rings. When we asked for a box for the food to go - we had to ask 3 times before she finally brought it. When it came time for the bill, she over charged us $8.00 on our $30 bill, adding an extra beer we didn't order and a $4.95 charge for the onion rings. We told her about it and waited another 10-15 minutes to finally get the bill taken care of. But she also decided she might not get a good tip, so she added a 15% tip for herself. Never heard of a wattress adding tips on service for 2 people and it has never happened there before even when 4 of us were there. This will be the last time I go there. I did see two other very unhappy customers of hers waiting for their bills - hope they checked it closely.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwhizz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for families.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Excellent atmosphere,good food and diversity.Nice view of the Houston business area.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“10/10 service from Megan!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice atmosphere and live bands. Seems like a party place especially with $3 drinks. Get eat service from server Megan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martinrobb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing