We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel good, breakfast lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Sugar Land
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Stafford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel good, breakfast lacking”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Pleased with a suitable clean room that was easy to get to. Staff was friendly & remembered our names upon returning later in the day. Breakfast was the only problem we had. Ham, cheese and egg croissant was served without ham. Wife didn't get her bacon either. They brought the bacon, and offered ham, but I had already finished half. They said they were sorry, but offered no partial refund of our $27 breakfast for two.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TN3SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and found our staff friendly, that is very important to us. However, I would like to apologize for the oversight on your breakfast, I will definitely let the Manager know and further train our Bistro staff to be more careful that they are serving the items being ordered. We should have bought you breakfast that day, but we would love to buy you breakfast next time you’re visiting Sugar Land, please let the Guest Services Representative know of your experience. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
7
8
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a nice updated Courtyard, modern lobby and rooms. We booked a slightly larger 2 bed, which included a lounge chair in the extra space.

Location: Property is neighboring some other Marriott hotel brands and fairly secluded, although the freeway noise is not avoidable, even on the opposite side. The Fountains shopping center across the freeway is nice for entertainment and food. On the downside, having lived in this area, I advise caution when out at night, especially on foot. While this immediate area has been commercialized, there are some not-so-good areas close by.

Room: Pretty standard room, but nicely updated. Bathroom size is large and separated from vanity by a door. However, this door and the entrance door have shifted, causing door latches and deadbolt to misalign. I had to really pull up on the door hard to latch the deadbolt, and the bathroom would never lock.

Pros:
Clean, updated, friendly staff, good amenities.

Cons:
Freeway noise, neighboring areas (safety), door latches not aligned well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your time in giving us your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly. I hope that you had the opportunity to let our guest services representative know about the door so that we had an opportunity to fix it, we apologize for the inconvenience. As well as having the Fountains across the street we are also less than 3 miles from Sugar Land Town Square offering even more choices for fun, as you said, this area has been commercialized quite a bit, it will probably be even more so next time your back. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived after flying in late for business, but the check-in staff were still energetic and friendly. They even pulled me into a football conversation they'd been having when I walked in. Polite, efficient, and friendly.
Got a single room/king bed on the ground floor this time. I'd wondered if there might be extra parking lot noise to deal with, but it was quiet. The rook was a bit warm when I got there, but a quick reset of the wall controller cooled it down fast enough.
They have a small cafe in the lobby, and I was pleased to see they have added some healthy choices to the menu. The turkey-egg white sandwich was a good start to the day, and they served Starbucks coffee to wash it down.
They provide wired internet in the rooms, and the first 24 hours was free. Perfect for a one-day trip like I was making.
I was off to work again the next morning, so it was a short stay, but comfortable as always.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallenmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so happy that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The Bistro is a great addition to the Courtyard and features many new and delicious items and Starbucks is always awesome! As I’m sure you noticed, not only do we have wired internet in the rooms, but we have wireless throughout the entire building complimentary throughout your entire stay. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is located in Stafford, just east of the Sugar Land border. The lobby is somewhat cramped and there can be short lines to check-in or check-out. The staff is exceptionally nice and were friendly with everyone. The food at the little eating area (it's not a restaurant) is basic but service was quick and served with a Texan-sized smile. I couldn't get a king room so I had two beds in my highway facing room. Please note you can hear the traffic all night and it picks up heavily in the morning. If this bothers you, request a room on the 'quiet side'. The rooms are the usual Courtyard decor but somehow seemed a bit tired. My only request for over the top service is that upon check-out, if the staff hears you are traveling to the airport, they ask you if you have $6.50 in quarters because that is how much it is going to cost for the 4 toll booths you'll encounter on the 'freeway'. Otherwise, you'll be waiting in the cashier lanes which adds significant time to the trip during rush hour. Oh, its always rush hour in Houston. I saw nobody in the small pool. The exercise room is very small with limited equipment.

Room Tip: Non-highway facing room if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
YAY, we are so happy that you enjoyed our staff as much as we do! Thank you so much for your comments, we always like to learn from what our guests have to say, after all, we are here for you. We will definitely take into consideration mentioning the $6.50 in quarters; you have a very valid point. We have a very beautiful, cozy, comfortable and happy hotel here; we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

With the Courtyard Marriott chains, you get consistency. This location did not seem to have room service. The Bistro was good for breakfast and the staff is very nice. The workout room is small but has two treadmills, an elliptical, and some weights. There is an outdoor pool and lounge area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Lainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your Courtyard Sugar Land experience. We do try to keep consistent with the Marriott standards, but it is our staff that makes all the difference, we pride ourselves on having a team full of “A” players. We hope you come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stay in hotels 3 out of 4 weeks a month and have been staying with a competitor for the last 12 years. I was shocked when I brought back the luggage carrier and was greated by the front desk staff with a warm smile and called by my name. I left and when I returned I was greated again by front desk staff, Kaylyn, by my name. That is excellent customer service!!! Thank you Courtyard Marriott!

Room Tip: The rooms have balconies and are very sweet suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your time in letting us know how much you appreciated Kaylyn! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you found a new home away from home. I know that there isn’t another Kaylyn anywhere and are very fortunate to have an entire team dedicated to our guests and committed to make them feel welcomed. Please hurry back, our Team awaits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

While I expected the standard hotel treatment in US, i.e room facility with no personal attention, I was pleasantly surprised with the service here. Front desk personnel remembering your name when you walk in the 2nd/3rd time, engaging and helpful, the bistro personnel always with a smile...
The facility by itself is fine...near other restaurants ...overall a good stay...

Room Tip: Take the rooms at far end if 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopalvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay here with us! It is so nice to know that we went above and beyond your expectations and were able to make your stay to the US a memorable one. Please come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Stafford Sugar Land
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sugar Land
Comfort Suites Sugar Land
#2 of 17 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston Stafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Sugar Land
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Houston Sugar Land
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Stafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Sugar Land

Property: Courtyard Houston Sugar Land
Address: 12655 Southwest Fwy, Stafford, TX 77477-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stafford
#7 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Sugar Land 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Houston Sugar Land was recently renovated to provide greater flexibility and choices for guests staying in this Sugar Land, Texas hotel. Ideally located just off the Southwest Freeway, just 20 minutes from downtown Houston, this hotel provides easy access to Houston's top destinations including Minute Maid Park and NRG Stadium. The welcoming lobby offers flexible spaces for work and socializing, free WiFi, and easy access to the latest news/weather via the touch-screen GoBoard™. Guests love to dine in at The Bistro, where they can enjoy a delicious breakfast or a dinner menu paired with craft beer and wine. The guest rooms feature new HD TVs with premium cable, large work desks with ergonomic chairs, and the luxurious Marriott Bedding that is sure to offer the perfect night's sleep. Your stay at the best of Sugar Land, Texas hotels is sure to be more comfortable, productive, and enjoyable than ever before at the Courtyard Houston Sugar Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Houston Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Sugar Land Hotel Stafford
Courtyard Stafford
Courtyard Hotel Stafford
Stafford Marriott
Stafford Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing