We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heck of a deal”

Richter's Antler Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We have passed by Richter's many times and finally stopped in. You can not find a better lunch than what they have with their daily specials. A lunch special is flat $7.00 plus a tip. No tax, no nothing except your $7.00 ticket. The food is excellent and they are crowded.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank revleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019

This place was OK, I love the Spring Branch area but there isn't much of a restaurant community there. The food was acceptable and the service was weak, not terrible just under staffed. This place has no competition so they do not have to try to hard and it was more like a local watering hole.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Large servings of home style food large menu to choose from. Be sure and get there early because the wait can be very long. The wait staff can become really hurried if they are very crowded if the restaurant is busy. They have been known to make mistakes

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Portions are huge!!!! Everything here is yummy. Even the enchiladas. Chicken fried anything here is good and very filling. Even their fried shrimp is fresh and lightly breaded. Their desserts are amazing! Especially their banana pudding!!! Lines can get long. Their is a book inside to write your name and size of party. They have beer and wine too.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank melaniecA8907OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

A friend told be about Antler Cafe and I was a bit in disbelief. He told be the food was great, the serving size was huge and the price was low. That is just not possible in a restaurant! But it is.

We stopped in for dinner on a Thursday night. Got seated immediately at 5:30. The waitress was outstanding. Se was so friendly and respectful. True southern charm at its best.

My wife is always a bit concerned to order pork, fearing it will be too dry. Throwing caution to the wind, she ordered the pork loin charbroiled with jalapeno mac n cheese and the green beans. The pork was perfectly done with great grill marks and very juicy. The beans were served in the normal small bowl you would see at many restaurants. However, instead of the bowl maybe being filled to the top, this one was overflowing with fresh cooked beans. The mac n cheese was very smooth and creamy with just a touch of the jalapeno. Very good on all fronts.

I had the regular chicken fried steak with mash potatoes and gravy along with the mac n cheese. Very happy I ordered the regular and not the large as the regular was plenty and I saw a large order go by. It was so big is was stacked two high so it wouldn't fall off the plate. Gravy was excellent as well.

So there is at least one place to get a great meal, with good sized portions and a low price. How low? Well, our two meals (no drinks) came to $20! When is the last time two of you had a great meal come away fully satisfied (my wife took home half of her meal) for $20?

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruski21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richter's Antler Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Richter's Antler Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing