We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed there for New Years Eve.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Spring
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We stayed there for New Years Eve.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed there for New Year's Eve. The toilet was FILTHY. There was a dark ring under the rim. There were DARK.stripes at the back of the bowl. I looked on the housekeeper's cart. There was NO disinfectant or bowl cleaner.
I did not shower. We did not have our included breakfast. If the toilet was filthy should I expect the kitchen to be better?

Now the bad part. It was New Year's Morning. At about 8:30 AM, we were awakened by loud pounding in the room above us. It sounded like sledge hammers.

When i took our luggage to our car, I saw a palate of mortar. i spoke to one of the workers to find out that they were renovating the third floor and the first floor. We were in room 251, right in the middle!

When we checked out I informed the desk clerk about our experience. She said she was sorry. I asked to see the manager but he took the day off. I did get his card.

We returned on 1/6/14. I spoke with the manager about our experience. I showed him a photo of the toilet. I told him about our rude awakening on 1/1/14. I told him about the EARLY wake up by his workers. He said that the workers were supposed to begin work around 10 am. i asked about check out time and I was told it was noon. Shouldn't we have peace and quiet before noon?
I told him that he needed to terminate his executive housekeeper because of the filthy toilet. As far as our stay, he told me that he cold do NOTHING for us. I called corporate and they are sending a check to us.

Room Tip: Stay away from this dump until their renovation is completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mendjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable that you were so disappointed with the service you received. I sincerely apologize and hope that perhaps you will return when our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    23
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
15
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Five nights stay for business. Check in was quick, and as a (formerly known as) Priority Club member, received a gift bag of a bottle of water, Chex mix, and chocolate chip cookies. Nice touch, and the water was needed in the hot weather. Nice staff. Lots of conference rooms, but finding the elevator and room was easy. Breakfast was the generic Holiday Inn, and good. Rooms are perpendicular to I-45, but noise wasn't bad. It's on a one way frontage road from I-45, and easy to get to it. would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, Floor number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for you positive feed back. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Be sure to come stay with us again when you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Two night stay for business. Check in was quick, and as a (formerly known as) Priority Club member, received a gift bag of a bottle of water, Chex mix, and chocolate chip cookies. Nice touch, and the water was needed in the hot weather. Nice staff. Lots of conference rooms, but finding the elevator and room was easy. Breakfast was the generic Holiday Inn, and good. Rooms are perpendicular to I-45, but noise wasn't bad. It's on a one way frontage road from I-45, and easy to get to, but have to jump thru hoops to get out, as it is a very busy frontage road.
If in the area again, would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobsBeenThereToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We appreciate your response. Come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Me & a friend stayed here because it because it was very close The Woodlands area in which we were attending a concert. Also I have to thank the staff for being very nice. My friend had even accidentally lost her computer battery as we were leaving and the staff already had it when we called to check to see if it had been left there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank amytx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGraysonHIEW, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind remarks about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston North-Spring Area. I'm so glad your friend's computer battery was found and our staff was able to help.
We're looking forward to your return to The Woodlands area and coming back to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and in good condition. Staff was polite and prompt. It was what should be exspected from Holiday Inn. I am a frequent business traveler. I tend to be conservative in my ratings. I would recommend this hotel to other business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGraysonHIEW, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about our property. We pride ourselves on customer service and cleanliness. We're looking forward to you coming again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed two nights. The initial reservation was for one night at the "advance booking" rate, then I had to add a second night just a few days before I came. For some reason, even though I kept the same room, I was told I had to check out and re-register on the second day. That's a weird extra step - you'd think this would happen enough that the computer would be able to figure it out. I wasn't recognized as a Priority Club member verbally but I did receive a bag with bottled water and snacks.

The first thing that greeted me in my room was a large roach, still alive and squirming on its back. I snapped a photo (q.v.) before disposing of it, then got some unpacking done before going out for a while. I showed the photo to the desk staff - quietly and unobtrusively because I didn't want to be "that" guest. They offered to spray the room. It ended up not happening, which is probably just as well because the smell of Raid isn't exactly conducive to a good night's sleep.

Later in the evening, I set up my laptop at the desk and started to work. I opened the drawer to store my flash drive - and it landed on my foot. There was a substantial hole in the drawer. (q.v.) Since my complaint about a roach was "resolved" by offering to spray poisonous chemicals in my room, I decided not to mention the desk.

The lobby was scrupulously clean. I never entered or left without encountering someone cleaning. The hallway to the elevators takes guests past the meeting rooms, and for whatever reason the group using the rooms left unattended backpacks up and down the hallway. I saw several people have trouble navigating their rolling suitcases past all the backpacks.

The breakfast area was clean and well-stocked. I did not use the pool or fitness rooms. I did print some things at the business center, which was clean and readily available.

This is the really weird part - when I submitted this review to the IHG website, I got an e-mail message saying that they weren't going to post it because "the hotel management will be reaching out to you via e-mail within 24 hours." That never happened, so I wrote back and asked for the review to be posted. It's been two weeks and I've received no reply, nor has the review been posted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear jcello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry about the issues you encountered with your reservation as well as the conditions of your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The bathroom floor is so filthy, you can slide across it. The carpet is stained and dirty. The beds are clean and comfortable, but the room and bathroom smell like a$$ and filth. It's a subtle, rank smell that gradually sets in after you've settled in. I'll be moving to another room today because in afraid to shower in this room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StylishCheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. We had no reported issues. If we had the opportunity to address the issues during your stay perhaps we would have been able to save a valuable guest.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the problems you had that lead to your dissatisfaction with our property. We want all of our guests to have a most positive experience with every stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Houston Spring
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston North-Spring
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn North Houston Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton North Houston/Spring
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston North/Spring
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 16 in Spring
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring
Address: 24888 I-45 North, Spring, TX 77386
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring. Our hotel boasts 120 newly refurbished rooms, including 22 suites! The Woodlands area features several corporate campuses, most notably Exxon-Mobil, Chevron-Phillips, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, Baker Hughes, Intertek, Tetra Technologies, and Woodforest National Bank. We are conveniently located just twenty minutes away from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) and forty five minutes away from Hobby Airport (HOU). The Woodlands area is about more than just business however. Come and enjoy an entertaining evening at the Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion, one of the most beautiful outdoor venues in the U.S.! Love to shop? Come spend the afternoon wandering the Woodlands Mall featuring over 200 of the worlds finest stores and restaurants. Fan of antiquing? Don't miss this opportunity to head out to Old Town Spring just a few miles south off I-45. Head out to the shops and pick up some priceless antiques while the kids enjoy the day just around the corner at Splashtown USA! With so many opportunities and things to do in the area, it's no wonder the Woodlands is Houston's fastest growing community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston North-Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites The Woodlands
Holiday Inn Spring
Holiday Inn Express Woodlands
Spring Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing