We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home style authentic Mexican food”

La Cocina De Roberto
Ranked #12 of 639 Restaurants in Spring
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Very simplistic decoration and very clean. The place looks like new. The menu is easy to read and understand. Service is excellent with waitress taking the time to explain the different choices of meats.
The Tacos are above average size with plenty of meat. Their Pozole has the perfect blend of spices and the broth is refined and flavorful. This is our favorite Mexican restaurant outside of Mexico City.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Otoperezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018

Busy on a Sunday afternoon with families enjoying a meal together. Friendly wait staff and lovely decor. Felt like walking into a family owned business but slow down or you might pass it, thinking it's just a gas station. We passed it right up and had to turn around. It's right past the Baptist church before the gas station. They stopped serving breakfast tacos at 10:30 which was disappointing since we wanted to try to migas and tacos but we were very pleased with our meal. The chips and queso were delicious, not your usual chips. Three different sauces: mild red, jalapeño green and habanero hot. Both kids ate their big burritos and were satisfied. The only complaint from one husband is that the food wasn't hot enough. He prefers his food piping hot so it would have to be delivered straight from the stove/oven to the table without stopping anywhere in between. And they were pretty busy so the service was slower than I prefer but that's understandable. Water refill is the only thing I noticed because my mouth was on fire from the sauce. The chairs are really unique and comfortable. We sat at a big table for 6 that is something you'd have at home in your dining room. Definitely give this place a try and don't judge it from the outside location. We will go back for sure.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Well, folks, this is as good as it gets!! You are getting a high-end 5-star restaurant at an affordable price and you don't have to drive to downtown Houston!! Yes, you could go with the traditional Mexican fare that is expected at a Mexican restaurant, but if you try the other plates, you will understand what I'm talking about. Sure, you could drive 30 miles to Hugo's and spend $35 a plate or come here and get the Tilapia de Carmen. The dish contains the following: fresh grilled tilapia marinated in a special sauce, and topped with sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, poblano peppers, tomato and onion, served over a bed of rice with charro beans. I'm going back to experiment on the other dishes!!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beckr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Great authentic Mexican food at a very attractive price. They allow you to bring your own tequila and for around $3 they supply freshly prepared margarita mix and set up. They also have a good Michelada mix if you bring your own beer. The staff is friendly and the place is spotless. They offer different hot sauces, ranging from mild to VERY hot. It is a great alternative to the big tex mex chains in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N1913PBkeiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Don’t be scared, this is in a gas station parking lot, but the inside is very inviting. Starting with a negative, there is very limited parking as we had to park in a church lot. A little inconvenient, but worth it. The service, price and food were excellent. I had the Texas Burrito, which was exceptional and I would recommend, but it was huge. I saw a few other dishes come out and they looked fabulous. If you are used to getting free chips and salsa you don’t get it here, it costs $3. But with the amount of food we got, the chips would have put us over the edge.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank MarkE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina De Roberto also viewed

Spring, Texas Gulf Coast
Spring, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Spring, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Cocina De Roberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing