We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Stay Ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America Houston - The Woodlands
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Spring
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We made group reservations a year in advance at this location for the Texas IronMan. The week of the race, this hotel called us and told us that they bumped us and will not be honoring our reservation. This caused complete chaos because we were traveling in from out of state. Finally, we got everything resolved after a lot of back and forth. When we checked in they put 3 of the 4 non-smoking reservations in smoking rooms. The rooms were very run down looking. The comforter and sheets must be the originals from when the hotel first opened. Our towles were not changed out after the first night. We requested more when management informed us they were out of fresh towels and their washer was broken. They told us we would have towels before the end of the day. We did not receive fresh towels until the next morning. On top of all of this, the staff was very rude and needs some serious customer service training. We never received one apologie. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody!! We travel a lot and have stayed at some pretty bad hotels but this one tops the list, mainly because of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MNMomMN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Economy Houston - The Woodlands. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

I do appreciate the opportunity to respond to your issue in a way that might be able to help future customers. It's very important to us that our guests know exactly what to expect when staying with us - a great room at an exceptional rate. In order for us to continue offering such value, we maintain fully staffed front desk hours between 7am and 11pm seven days a week. During other times, our overnight staff is always available to check in guests and assist with other issues.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was the perfect spot for tween stay (between moves). Ashley was a great help at the front desk. She was always very cordial and willing to assist with whatever we needed. A nice variety of restaurants, a grocery store, and a convenience store are walking distance from the hotel; which was a plus. For those travelling, it is very close to the mall and the waterway...lots of entertainment. I'll admit, the beds weren't as comfortable as I'd like; but for the value they're okay. With excellent customer service like I received, I can deal with that for a couple of days. I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No wifi on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alondra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America Houston - The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Houston - The Woodlands. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Do not stay here unless things have hit rock bottom. Bring mattress covers and your own sheets and pillows.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nolacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Our group reserved several rooms and upon check in was told that not all the reserved rooms were available. We took what was available after determining how we would manage staying with fewer beds, then discovered the rooms were shabby and unappealing. The sheets were torn and stained, with cigarette burns. The entire set -up was not based at all on guest comfort. After check-out we discovered some valuable items including a retainer and expensive medications and had been left in one of the rooms. We immediately called and were told there was nothing left or if there had been, it would have been thrown away. We expressed our frustration with the hotel throwing away valuable items without at least holding onto them for a few hours just in case someone called.
The rooms are grungy, shabby, and unpleasant. It is not the kind of place that makes for an enjoyable stay and certainly is not a good value when the staff does not care about guests or about guest's belongings. I would not stay there again. There are much better options nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyTraveler78746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The room was OK and a good value, particularly if you want to fix your own food. However, the one bed in the room was tiny, the towels and linens shabby and there was no hot water in the shower. The shower issue was a real mystery, as there was hot water in the kitchen sink and bathroom sink. But after letting the shower run forever, it was still tepid at best. There appears to be some long term transients staying here and the signs in the parking lot to remove all your valuables is not a good sign.

Bottom line, I would pay a little more for some hot water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Gross! The absolute worst I've motel I've ever been in. I guess this will teach me to pick the cheapest hotel on hotels.com! First, we arrived around 1 am and there was no one at the desk. We had to call on a call box and WAIT for someone to check us in. We were exhausted after Texas Ren Fest wanted to just flop into bed. Bathroom was gross! Hair on the shower walls. I was a little afraid to go to sleep in such a place. I crawled into bed and the sheets were still wet! At least I knew they were clean, but still...

When we woke up the next morning, I was horrified at the stained box spring with nothing covering it. It was literally falling apart. Never again. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hebert4806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Really bad. I stayed only because I booked the room online and had prepaid. The shower stall was so dirty that I had to purchase shower shoes, which I also wore in the room. The carpets were stained and dirty, the kitchen floor was dirty, there were bugs on the countertop in the morning. Bad all around. And the "queen" bed was a double at best.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank SCTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring
4.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Spring / N. Houston
6.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Spring
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Spring/The Woodlands Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston North-Spring
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston North/Spring
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Shenandoah TX
Days Inn Shenandoah TX
#3 of 7 in Shenandoah
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America Houston - The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America Houston - The Woodlands

Address: 150 Valley Wood Dr, Just West of N. Fwy Service Road and North of Sawdust, Spring, TX 77380-3542 (Formerly Crossland Economy Studios)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Spring
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Spring
Price Range: $55 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America Houston - The Woodlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America Houston - The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Houston - The Woodlands Hotel Spring
Spring Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing