We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Texas BBQ.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opie's Barbecue

Opie's Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Spicewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Texas BBQ.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I has the brisket and pork ribs. The brisket was fork tender, minimal bark, but excellent smoke ring. Good peppery, smokey flavor with no need for a sauce. The pork ribs were fall off the bone tender. Had similar peppery smoke flavor as brisket. Both meats retained there juiciness.

For sides I had the cranberry-almond coleslaw. A nice sweet twist to the traditional slaw. Tater tot casserole which is nothing what you would imagine. Very good, needs to be tasted. Also had pinto beans which were good but nothing spectacular.

This was a take out order so I can't really comment on atmosphere or service.

Well worth eating again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    68
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed Mother's Day lunch at Opie's, about a 20 mile drive from our home.
Though it is a bit pricier than most of the Austin-area barbecues, the spices, sauce, sides and brisket make up for the extra cost (and drive.)
We sampled the brisket (moist and tender), ribs (tasty spice rub), chicken (juicy), pork chip (also moist and flavorful) and the jalapeño sausage, which I found to be a bit rubbery. (Rudy's is better, in my opinion.)
Spring for the tater tot casserole--cheesy goodness. The cole slaw is crisp and fresh.
Save room for the cobbler--the peach and berry cobblers were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FritzieontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great BBQ with character!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The meats are all displayed in a storage bin and you get to choose the actual piece of meat you want. Sides were delicious and don't miss the big pot of butter beans that come free with your meal. Blackberry cobbler was delicious! Not cheap but worth the price. Tables and chairs were made of logs. A fun atmosphere!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than average but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We like to try BBQ places we have never been to on the some weekends. Being a native Texan I have eaten at hundreds of BBQ places in my life so I can be rather picky when it comes to BBQ.
Same good Central Texas concept of choosing your cuts of meat from the pit. I love that way of ordering. We got pork ribs, baby back ribs and brisket. The pork ribs were rather dry which means they had been in the pit to long. The baby backs were very good and the brisket was a little too lean for my taste. I did not like their sauce, way to runny and very vinegar based. The beans were boiling hot and pretty good, just not seasoned well enough. The Cole slaw with almonds and Crasins was great. Good strong iced tea. The peach cobbler was good as well. The only thing keeping it from being a 4 star instead of a 3 is the meat. People there were very nice and if I was out by the lake i would try it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skisumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Opie's serves very good Bar-B-Q at a rather high price. It's worth the trip if you are in the area and can afford it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bennett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opie's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing